We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
london, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dirty room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

room 253 was terrible - it was very dirty and smelt bad - there was mold in the bathroom, cigarette burns on the carpet and the carpets were dirty, stained and worn. I am not a happy customer and will not be booking a Hilton hotel any day soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mark N

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards.

Unfortunately, we cannot find any reference to an issue being raised regarding the room whilst you were with us. We always try to resolve any guest issue whilst still at the hotel as our guests' satisfaction is of the highest importance to us. Please be assured that we view all feedback seriously, we do pride ourselves on our service offered.

We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us or another Hilton Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    884
    438
    192
    103
See reviews for
337
1,077
93
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is a little beauty!! We stayed for my husbands birthday & we thoroughly enjoyed it!! The lobby is gorgeous & loved the bar & cafe area. Very easy to get parked & reasonably priced too considering it's location!! Our room had a river view which I would definitely book again. As soon as we opened the door the view of the Newcastle quayside was fabulous!! Our room was very clean & a good size. A short walk into the city centre & a great choice of bars & restaurants. Some lovely coffee shops & very friendly people! A very pleasant stay & worth every penny! Will certainly stay at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a room with a view of the quayside, it is gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettsnwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear bettsnwellers

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members and will certainly share your feedback with all of our team.

We do hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hilton Gateshead is in a great location for the main bars and restaurants in Newcastle. It is only a 5 minute walk over the bridge to a series of pubs and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and have good views of the river. Only down side is the service in the main restaurant downstairs. I have stayed there a lot over the past couple of months and am always surprised at how bad that service is. It is the only thing that lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Dougie G

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our team in order that we can continuously learn and improve our service to our guests.

We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us or another Hilton Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geleen, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I hope next time when i stay in the hotel i will have a more pleasant stay without facing these issues again. I had problems with checking in related overbooking.The hotel is located in a very beautiful area and has splendid views.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear H H

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We were sorry to learn that you encounted certain problems whilst checking into the hotel, but do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us or another Hilton Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed in. There is nothing I can fault we were warmly welcomed and treat amazingly throughout our stay the staff are so friendly and nothing is a bother to them at all and our room was stunning and the view was out of this world. I will for sure be back to stay in the future and would never stay anywhere else when visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connell1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNeailey, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Connell1989,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay here at Hilton Newcastle.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel and we really appreciate your feedback.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Kindest regards
Claire Neailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

To be honest we stayed here on a special deal - ended up with 33% off due to a hotel promotion and the Hilton ended up cheaper than the like for like hotels. We wanted a nice hotel down by the Quayside so we could do a spot of shopping and not have to worry about the car. The car park costs £10 a night - don't really agree with the principal but at least we knew the car was safe and we could have a cocktail or two on the way back to the hotel. The hotel is very nice - staff very efficient and attentive, rooms nice and clean (I did request a nice view but ended up at the back of the hotel overlooking concrete). The pool was small but nice and quiet. The breakfast is a buffet style and pretty average. All in all a good hotel if you get it at a discount, however I wouldn't pay full price as I just don't see what makes this hotel any better than the others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMcCrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MrsMcCrossan

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in the area - especially the retail therapy!

We will certainly share your comments with our team members and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location, fabulous view of the Tyne Bridge. Five minutes walk from the centre, under hotel parking. Tasty breakfast and comfortable room. Used the Pool and Jacuzzi, really relaxing. Needs free Wifi to earn and excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a river and Tyne Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jackie P

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing