We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our first stay in Newcastle. This hotel is situated in an ideal location. We had a super room with a large floor to ceiling window overlooking Tyne bridge. Very clean and modern throughout. We didn't dine in the restaurant but the two mornings we had breakfast we were impressed by the staff. Food and drinks are constantly checked and re-stocked and the waiting staff are very quick to bring tea/coffee and clear away dishes etc. very well run. Only one slight down side was a whopping £9 for a glass of wine.

We would return to this hotel in future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fabdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear fabdiners

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and were looked after by the team on duty.

We hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends for one weekend. Perfect location in Gateshead just a short walk to the city centre. We stayed in two twin rooms which where immaculately clean, well furnished and had a great view over the river Tyne. We also had access to executive lounge which was nice for a drink and some appetisers before heading out into Newcastle. We ordered room service one of the nights, the meal was delicious and quite reasonably priced. The staff where very friendly and helpful, especially the lady in the executive lounge who made us feel very welcome and tended to our every need. Will definitely be staying here again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanMNEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear DanMNEO

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times and I have just returned from a one night stay having chosen to return based upon my previous good experiences. My son and I had an executive twin room which gave us access to the executive lounge on the top floor. Previously I have stayed in an executive room on the same level as the lounge. This time our room was on the floor below. Although we had access to the lounge I am not sure the room was any different from other rooms in the hotel and I felt it was not up to the standard of the previous executive room accommodation. The room was ok, clean and quiet but the bathroom was a problem. A shower over the bath tub with a plastic shower curtain. I loathe shower curtains, they invariably have an unpleasant smell, as this one did and are not, in my view, very hygienic. The wash hand basin had a very large crack running the length of the bowl. Our river view was partially obstructed by two large concrete pillars which rather dominated both the room and the view.
In fairness to the hotel management as we arrived quite late and were leaving the next morning I did not complain and give them the opportunity to address my issues.
My other complaint relates to wifi, an essential when travelling with a 19 year old. When I booked the room I believed wifi was included in the room rate of £164. Upon check out I was charged £14.99 for wifi. I queried this and was assured the extra charge was correct. I have since checked and the extra charge is correct; however when you book the inference is that wifi is included and unless you actually check the rate conditions very carefully you will miss this. Additionally why do hotels insist on charging extra for a service that most people consider an essential?
Rant over. This hotel has a great location with stunning views of Newcastle, the river and bridges,certainly from the public rooms, some bedrooms and the executive lounge. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the Windows on the Tyne restaurant. Good food, good service and reasonable prices.
As I visit Newcastle fairly regularly, often as a sole traveller, I will stay here again. The executive lounge is a really good feature for a single person. Much more comfortable to sit and have a drink on your own than in a bar. However I will take more care when booking in relation to room location and facilities and I hope other reviewers will take issue with this ridiculous policy regarding wifi in the hope that the management will have a rethink.

Room Tip: Executive river view rooms are worth the extra, but ensure your room is really 'executive"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank patriciabarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear patriciabarton

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your most recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations, especially as you have visited us before.

We note your comments regarding the bathroom and in particular the shower curtain and have shared these with our Head Housekeeper in order for her to take the appropriate remedial action, please accept our apologies for this.

We were sorry to learn that you did not realise that wifi is chargeable in the hotel however we can clarify that complementary wifi is available in our public areas, as in most other Hilton Hotels.

We were pleased to see that you were looked after by the team on duty in the hotel and that you will be visiting us again.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

the location of this hotel is fantastic for a night out in Newcastle, prime location and only a short taxi ride into town. First impressions of this hotel were fantastic rooms were nicely decorated but would have loved to see the difference between standard and executive, i expect not to much difference but for the price we were stopping in an executive suit with balcony over looking the swing bridge and it was ideal because i smoke. Also with that room comes full use of the executive lounge were drinks and snacks are free of charge we only found out about this 4hrs. into our stay by chance the guy on reception spoke very softly and quietly, I should have been more attentive when he was speaking to us but haho.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dazza9674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Darren W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I stay in a number of hotels and this is one of the best. We were well looked after by staff who value excellent customer service. The views over the river and the Newcastle skyline were breathtaking and the executive lounge pleasant and peaceful. I can definitely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank McNals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear McNals

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially our amazing views and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We do hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Poor stay due to our room not being sound proof have been awake since 3am due to doors slamming people talking/fornicating etc was expecting a lot more from a Hilton will be getting a refund and will not return

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Broadsword20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Broadsword20

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations and can only sincerely apologise that you were disturbed by other hotel guests.
If we are aware of noisy residents our night team do speak to them but unfortunately not everyone is considerate to their neighbours.

We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us or another Hilton Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived around an hour prior to check in, enquired about whether the room was available (it wasn't, but we expected that) all staff we spoke to were very polite and friendly. Our room was very clean with an amazing view of the Tyne Bridge. We went to the executive room which had a great view and again lovely staff. Very close to all the pubs and clubs (just over the bridge)
Great location
Great staff
Great price
Great room

All in all this was a lovely hotel and I'd recommend it to family/friends

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NStanger91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Lounge at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear NStanger91

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £81 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing