We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

excellent place to stay, friendly staff, clean rooms, good restaurant next door- taybarns- lots of choice, set price, eat as much as you want- not gourmet food but you are bound to find something you like!, car park right outside and free! brilliant location 5-10 mins walk (road busy to cross but you can get taxi only £2 if do't want to walkt) to metro centre (the most mega shopping centre in the world!!!) which has got train and bus connections into city. great place to stay for shopping or going into city. we visited friends and was great meeting point, easy to find
for the price £29 double room - good value for money

Room Tip: room at the end of building , very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    199
    83
    28
    34
See reviews for
209
185
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Staff lovely very chatty and willing to help. A Great Welcome.
Our first room had a nasty smell in the bathroom, as we had no telephones in the room we had to go back to reception to report this matter. We were then given another room which was ok but could have done with been decorated quite old fashioned. We then had to go to the bar while the room was made up for our two children. On return the children wanted to go to bed. But the beds were so hard they could not sleep in them, My husband and myself had to swap beds and the children ended up in our double bed.
The staff did refund our £64.00 that we had paid room only. Paid for the breakfast ourself in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLOSSY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times before when visiting relatives in Newcastle. It's true that the hotel is looking a bit jaded now and could do with a facelift, but the rooms are fine, spacious and comfortable and we paid just £25 on booking.com, so can't complain! The so-called restaurant next door is really grim and we only ate there because it was late and we were too tired after a long drive to go further.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel...there is some traffic noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningdiner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed recently during the bad weather.
Receptionist on arrival was very welcoming and friendly.
Room very large room, a double bed with two single beds for the kids. All beds very comfortable.
We only paid £19 for the room and we will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank millie0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The hotel is old and jaded, the staff do try but the heating didn't work right , bathroom noisy and toilet didn't flush without a fight the shower was great till the water went cold . The next door restaurant is equal to butlins food quality on a bank holiday weekend .

The stay was uncomfortable. Food awfull, and breakfast a comedy ..

I stay in lots of these hotels due to work but never again ....will use the other ones

Room Tip: Use another hotel or sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take all feedback seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate these issues further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com & we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kelly Latham
Social Media Executive
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 13th January 2013 very quiet clean and comfy beds! Payed £29 a night for two and was best value for money I any hotel in Newcastle a second walk to metro centre and tgi Fridays KFC frankie and bennies all withing walking distance just perfect

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela12390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

2 night stay in January. Met by very friendly receptionist who booked me in efficiently and without fuss. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Slight smear on bathroom mirror but otherwise perfectly acceptable. Very comfortable bed.
Restaurant was great value with a good variety of food. No Michelin stars but no need for imodium either! A good choice if you do not want to hang around or are looking for a bargain, but I would go elsewhere if I wanted a nice relaxed meal with friends or family.
Would definitely go back to this "lodge" but I wonder if preminn were slow to read the signals about pricing. Would not consider paying the full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
716 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
339 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.2 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing