We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Does what it says on the tin"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a decent, standard Premier Inn, with everything as we have come to expect. We stayed here overnight whilst travelling, and it is very convenient for major roads. Staff were friendly and helpful both in the hotel itself and the restaurant next door, where we ate both dinner and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent - we were specifically asked if we wanted any of the "order if wanted" items on arrival, which rarely happens - and the scrambled eggs were particularly good! The wifi went down sometime during the evening, but I was told that we would get our £3 refunded if it didn't get restored - it was up again by morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrowmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here with myself and three children (ages 20,15,10). It is very close to metro centre but I would advise driving there as the roads are extremely busy for walking. Stayed at many premier inns before and always what you expect - comfy beds, large rooms, modern bathrooms and ample storage space. I would stay here again. The even bigger bonus is that we got this room for £29- like on the advert! :-) friendly staff who are very happy to help also!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had never stayed at a Premier Inn prior to this and were interested to see if it matched up to its TV adverts. Stayed for 1 night.
First impressions were good, its well situated for us travelling from Glasgow and we found it easily.
The reception staff were welcoming and informative. Our room at first seemed noisy as the Inn is situated near a main road. However, once we closed the window it was fine and did not disturb us during the night. Bed was really comfy and room was a good size and clean as was the bathroom.
We did feel that the price of £90.50 for the room plus a continental breakfast was not particularly good value for money. We had breakfast in the restaurant attached to the Inn it was ok. The best thing about the visit were the comfy bed, the friendly staff and the location.
Downside was the price and the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after holidaying for a week in Seahouses.

Pros: Staff were so friendly and helpful, Large clean room, Gallons of hot water. Super comfy bed and quiet. Fantastic location for us, you can walk to the Metro Centre from here, ask the staff for the safe way that doesn't involve crossing busy dual carriageway. (Basically you need to cut through the hedge directly opposite reception, track the verge to the left to a car wash, go round the back of the carwash and go under archway which will lead you onto carpark, go in front of Travel Lodge and go behind Holiday Inn onto a cycle path, over a bridge, then cut across to the road on you right and you can enter the Metro Centre) We caught the train from here into Newcastle (5.20 return for 2 adults) On the second day we drove out to Hadrian's wall (took about 45 mins - really easy access to and from hotel) We ate in the Metro Centre one night and then at TGI on the second night, which was very good.

Drawbacks: No aircon and windows have restrictors on which means no fresh air - fan was ready in room so not hotel's fault. Also would have liked more than one chair in such a big room and a few more plug sockets - but I am being picky now!!

Such good value :)

Room Tip: I would chose a high floor for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Staff very welcoming and helpful. Room fine and at the back of the hotel so quiet. The only comment I would make on cleanliness is the bath handles need a good clean as they are surrounded by back stuff - very offputting.
Taybarn next door is ok for food if you are desperate which we were on arrival due to long journey and torrential rain. All you can eat for £5.99 speaks for itself. Have stayed in Premier Inns before but this attached 'restaurant' for want of a better word is the worst ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWMBO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Selected this hotel for overnight stay on return trip from Inverness to Lincolnshire. Overall good value for £25 per room for three rooms.

Hotel is very conveniently situated very close to both the A1 and the Metro Centre (though Premier Inn's own Sat Nav data for Garmin SatNavs places the actual site on the wrong side of a dual carriageway!)

Rooms were very comfortable, opening windows and large fans supplied, which meant that two of the three rooms were reasonably cool and hence a good sleep was obtained. The occupants of the third room were not so fortunate and hence the Good Night Guarantee was invoked and £25 refund made and received.

The on-site restaurant is a Taybarns; all members of the party took full advantage of the "eat as much as you like" facility, with much pleasure!

Overall, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Was here for stag weekend and found it very convenient fot shopping and nightlife great location, service, and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay as did the other 10 people with me I would recommend to others as a good place to stay if visiting newcastle. Taxi prices were also reasonable from this location for large groups average of around 15 pounds to city centre for eleven people.



  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
3.2 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing