We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any night but Saturday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Any night but Saturday”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Spent 4 nights at the hotel. Very good. Very clean and efficient with an excellent breakfast buffet, But on Saturday night - not so good. Seems to be a magnet for stag do''s / hen parties/ wild weekend away Spent most of the early hours of Sunday listening to loud music or doors slamming or arguments. Otherwise would not fault it other than the bus stop from Newcastle needs crossing a 4-lane dual-carriageway with heavy traffic. If you are looking at a hotel Sunday to Friday then this place is quality. Enjoy

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor. The late night revelers were noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    199
    83
    28
    34
See reviews for
209
185
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Excellent reception staff who couldn't do enough for you. Room comfortable and plenty big enough for us. Bathroom was ideal for our needs. Evening meal and breakfast at the Taybarn attached was very good.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Friendly staff, couldn't have been more helpful. We had bikes and it was no problem.
Hotel isn't in easy walking distance of anywhere except the cycle route which is very close by.
Dining options in walking distance are limited and we didn't enjoy the Taybarn for dinner but breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a tiring day travelling up to Newcastle and then went around the metro centre, the hotel was only a mile away and was a great relaxing finish to the day also the Taybarns restaurant was brilliant with the varied menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Got there at 9pm and had a very warm welcome, being Halloween the staff were taking part and offered treats. Huge room that was up to the usual premier standard, very clean.
Room had secondary glazing which was excellent to block out the road noise, it also acted as a good wine cooler !
The shower was over the bath and was not too powerful but that was the only disappointment.
The lift is also the slowest ever to go up just 2 floors.
The Tay barn next door for food was great value at £7.99 for the meal eat as much as you like, and £6.99 for a bottle of blossom hill wine.
Really nice breakfast well cooked and the staff were even better.
This would be great to stay for a shopping trip at the Metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamCrazylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Decided to visit The metro shopping centre booked an overnight stay at the premier inn only 5 minutes drive from centre ideally situated and an nice place to stay for a short visit
As with most premier inns it does what it says on the tin decent bed and bathroom for a night or two.
Would recommend if visiting metro centre and will return

Room Tip: Room at back road can at times be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Ideal for Metro Centre, although not an easy walk from hotel, especially if wet and dark. However, it's as close as other hotels and it's also easy to get to city centre via an excellent bus service from Metro Centre. Hotel is a little tired in places compared to other Premier Inns we have stayed at, and we had a couple maintenance issues in our room. That said, the staff were outstanding and really cared about the customers. The restaurant next door was very good value for money as their all you can eat Buffett was £8.99 each (£5.99 midweek) but it was a bit like a canteen at times, but staff were excellent. TGI Fridays was just a short walk and superb. Overall this was a good stay and I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoteapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
716 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
338 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.2 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing