We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but looking a little shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Reviewed 8 March 2007

This is a pretty standard hotel in the Premier Travel Inn chain and the rooms reflect that. However the standard is good and the rooms were clean with a good shower in the bathroom.

It's located on what used to be the A69 dual carraigeway through Gateshead, it's really only accessible by car, so it's a good location for getting to the Metro Centre, but not if you are intending to go on foot! Nearby there is a Frankie & Bennies and TGI Fridays, but even though they were a short distance away we had trouble getting there without a car, having to climb over fences etc!

The rooms themselves were the usual Travel Inn fayre, which I rate as very good, however when we stayed there they looked like they needed a refurbishment as damage on the walls had just been patched over rather than redone properly. I'd stayed in other Premier Travel Inn's a few weeks before that which had been redecorated, so perhaps by the time you read this Gateshead will have been done too.

Next door to the hotel is a Brewers Fayre pub, which serves nice, if a little overpriced, meals and drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 651 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2006

we stayed here friday 17th november for one night before going shopping to the metro centre. we have stayed in a few of these inns before and found this one to be superior. the welcome on reception was very warm (livingston premier inn take note) and the room was everything we needed for our purpose. its proximity to the metro centre is second to none, and overall we would stay there again, even before the gateshead marriott as it cannot be beaten for value.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddyandmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Benson0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daniela cristin... c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
1.1 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £44 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing