We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Ravensworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravensworth Arms
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Heard many good things about meals at the Ravensworth Arms so decided to give it a go, wish we hadn't bothered. Our waitress was extremely polite and helpful and recommended spicy parsnip soup as a starter. It was superb so naturally presumed the main course would be of the same standard. It wasn't. We waited approx 25 minutes between courses, but it was not worth the wait. Over cooked carrots, raw sprouts, broccoli you could not get your knife through and the soggiest Yorkshire pudding ever. My plate was swimming in gravy but my wife's plate was virtually dry, not give an option of a gravy boat. Would we return ? Absolutely not !!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank bill2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Ravensworth Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is tastefully furnished, staff friendly, food great. Room quiet, with excellent view across fields and to the angel of the north. En suite bathroom bright and tasteful, and whole room and hotel very clean. BUT heard footsteps walking round the room all night!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Janutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

First class food and service. four of us called in. for starters we had two soups and two of the bubble and squeak both were very good. For our main course the two girls both had chicken breast wrapped in bacon served with salad and chips. I went for the honey covered belly pork served with roasted peppers and potatoes, I can say that this was extremely good and my friend had the gourmet burger served with salad chip's and best battered onion rings ever. To finish off the girls had ice cream, tea and a coffee. Also a good selection of real ales on offer. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank buddins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and l called here last night without prior booking as we had made a last minute decision to go there. Easy parking and a good welcome got the evening off to a good start and this continued, The fish pie was the best of the year for my wife and my belly pork was top class. Both were well presented and the staff were all excellent The house wine was fine and the rivetcatcher
real ale from the Jarrow brewery was well kept and illustrated why it is so well rated both in the NE and wherever it is sold. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here overnight and could not have been happier, got the best room in the house, but better than that the staff were great, everyone greeted you with a cheery hello, nice to see that from all team members Anna the waitress was brilliant served us an amazing breakfast, (don't know where the other guest who commented that the breakfast was not big enough was eating but not in this restaurant) everything you could ask for for breakfast was there, and all served with a smile, a big well done from two fussy travellers. Sharon the manager was friendly and had time from her busy day to chat to us. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midnight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked a night's stay on 23rd November, we were given room number 20 in the chalet style block at the back. Didn't realize when we booked that they had these rooms and was a little worried when we saw them that they would be cold/noisy/out dated. I was wrong the room was very clean, nicely decorated and quite. Although it wasn't very big (same size as an average bedroom) it was fine for us. Being smokers it also suited us better to only have to step outside the front door. We also had our evening meal in the restaurant which i can't fault, it was busy but we didn't feel we had to wait to long for service/meals. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly and the meals lovely. We opted for the full English breakfast in the morning which again was great. I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and we will be booking again for our next stay in the area. Big thanks to all the staff for making it a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We visited this place for the first time. After hearing good things from friends.
We sat in a small cosy room and the choice of menus was huge but this didn't effect the food which was lovely .
But the main reason for commenting was the great service we got from our waitress Betina she made the atmosphere lovely and you could tell she loved her job and was very hard working.
This is a lovely hidden place to visit and make sure your. Really hungry as the meals are generous.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bainbridge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
3.8 mi away
Bowes Incline Hotel
Bowes Incline Hotel
#11 of 20 in Gateshead
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
413 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth Arms

Address: Gateshead | Tyne & Wear, Gateshead NE11 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensworth Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ravensworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth Arms Gateshead
Ravensworth Arms Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing