We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Ravensworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravensworth Arms
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is one of the Good Night Inns group, with Chalets in the grounds. We were there on a busy night but check in was fast and easy. The accommodation was well fitted out and clean. Parking was tight due to the pub being busy but we managed to find a space. We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant, when it came to breakfast we were told it was a cold buffet only, cooked was extra, disappointing as other GNI's gave a choice of continental or full English as part of the deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    145
    70
    38
    36
See reviews for
139
179
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 24/5 may lovely location, the room was clean, tea n coffee in room, food was lovely just lovely, the staff could not do enough for you, especially Beth one of the waitresses bless her, would recommend this location to anyone going up to Gateshead 5 out 5 for us Lesley n Stephen :-)))

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy B, Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Lesley and Stephen,

I'm more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It's great to know our hard work pays off and that our guests feel they are recieving the standard of service we strieve for.

Thank you very much for your delightful review and we hope to see you return through our doors in the near future.

Best

The Ravensworth Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

had a fantastic weekend stay, amazing room, food and service, big thank you to all the members of the team, made my birthday a day to rember, champagne on ice for free, and chocolates too, cant wait to return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Ravensworth Arms for one night after being at another hotel in Newcastle for 3 nights. My husband chose this hotel as a treat for our anniversary as it had a lovely big 4 poster bed. On arrival, we couldn't find the hotel reception so were directed through the busy restaurant with our cases. No-one was available to check us in but after a short wait, someone came through from another office.

Our room was large and had a nice view of the 'Angel of the North 'but the floorboards creaked every time someone walked across the room and we heard people's voices from the next room and out in the corridor.

When I tried to switch the lights on at the main light-switch beside the room entrance, nothing happened so I had a good look round all the walls and discovered that the ceiling lights were switched off from another switch which was concealed behind the bed. Just as well I had discovered this when it was still reasonably light, rather than after we returned to our room at the end of the night!

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food though we did have one drink in the bar which was quite busy. I'm afraid we probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazaspooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle u
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from Ravensworth Arms and can't recommend highly enough. Great selection on the menu, great selection of drinks, special menu great value and top quality.
Service was great, ordered drinks at bar and barman offered to bring drinks to table. Waitress couldn't have been more helpful and attentive and quickly rectified a small error in meal order. If you haven't tried it give it a whirl, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

As someone who doesn't eat meat I used to love this place, owing to really tasty vegetarian food however the menu options have reduced greatly in recent years. We visited on Valentines day, having become a tradition for us to come here, however the meal as just not worth the money. I had Seabass which was not at all how I expected. It was cheap tasteless Seabass tails with skin on and hardly any meat, on a heap of sweet potatoes, not worth the high price tag, as I expected a good size fillet, not having to pick scraps from the skin by candlelight. Also we were sat next to two buckets where the ceiling was leaking which was a bit off putting and spoiled the romantic atmosphere. My husband has steak and while it was nice for the price he would have expected better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at the Ravensworth. Friendly checkin by Sharon lovely comfortable room although not our favourite but thats just us prefering our honeymoon room.
Was so comfy we didnt even bother with breakfast which is a first for us. Another great stay will definitely be returning again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarabell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth Arms

Property: Ravensworth Arms
Address: Gateshead | Tyne & Wear, Gateshead NE11 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensworth Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ravensworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth Arms Gateshead
Ravensworth Arms Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing