We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst Sunday lunches I've ever had” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravensworth Arms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ravensworth Arms
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the worst Sunday lunches I've ever had”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner and I were looking for a venue for a good Sunday lunch last weekend and had always meant to try the Ravensworth. We ordered two roast beef lunches, which were served within about 2 minutes of ordering but were still luke warm. The beef was totally overdone, there were hardly any vegetables and we each got about 4 tiny and burnt roast potatoes. The lunch was £9.95 each , which was a total rip off. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear glc54

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Ravensworth Arms with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    140
    67
    37
    35
See reviews for
132
176
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and I chose this hotel for an overnight stay as its close to the Beamish Museum and we thought most of the reviews on Trip advisor were spot on!. its close to the A1 making it easy to find but set in an area of countryside with a view of the Angel of the North in the far distance which was nice. Its a good value 3 star hotel, some of the decor needs updating but it was nice and clean. We paid a little extra for room no. 5 with a huge four poster bed and i'm glad we did as it was very comforable.The windows are in need of being replaced but then again its only 3 stars. One thing to note it that the only toiletry that is supplied in the bathroom is handwash. Shampoo etc is on sale at the reception if needed. The shower was powerful for an electric one and theres was tons of hot water. By far the greatest asset the hotel has is the staff, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful!. The pub area of the hotel serves food all day and is vast but surprisingly it wasn't noisy on the evening plus the food available was good too. Thanks to all concerned for a nice stay!

Room Tip: Room no.5 with a huge 4 poster bed was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99ravensworth99, Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you greatly for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon.

We are very proud of our Four Poster room and I'm ever so pleased you enjoyed its beauty.

All the best

The Ravensworth Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here with my family for two nights from Monday 23rd June to Wednesday 25th June 2014. The purpose of our trip to the North East was to visit Beamish Museum, which is a very short drive from the hotel.
We had booked a four poster double and a twin. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception, who allocated us the rooms. they were exactly as requested, Both were spacious ( rooms 3 and 5 ) with good sized bathrooms and were spotlessly clean with modern facilities.
We had booked to include breakfast, which was excellent. A large selection of cereals, juices, fresh fruit yogurts, toast and a lovely cooked English breakfast.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights. The food was both well cooked,nicely presented, reasonably priced and plentiful. On the second evening, the restaurant was very busy, but we still didn't wait long to be servred, nor was there a long wait for our meals to arrive.
Every member of staff that we encountered was both friendly and helpful.
There is an extensive and attractive outdoor seating area where you can enjoy a coffee or a drink from the bar.
Given its close proximity to the A1M, and also on a main road, it was surprisingly quiet and in a semi rural setting.
I would have no hesitation in staying here again, or in recommending it. As well as Beamish Museum, Newcastle and Durham are in very easy reach, as is the Angel of the North, which can be seen from the front of the hotel.
Many thanks to all the staff at The Ravensworth Arms for a lovely few days break.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a lovely, large four poster room on the first floor front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99ravensworth99, Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Your comments mean a great deal to the team here at The Ravensworth so I thank you greatly for your kind words.

I hope very much to see you return to us in the near future, for another wonderful stay.

Kindest Regards

The Ravensworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRIMSBY UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here overnight,, rooms very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Can recommend eating in the restaurant.good choice and beautifully cooked and presented. Staff very friendly especially Julie who served our table.nothing is to much trouble for them. Will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard were very quiet with lovely views across open countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WINTRINGHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99ravensworth99, Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for comments, the Team and myself are very pleased you had a wonderful visit with us.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here 4 years ago enjoyed it and so booked again.Problem with our room on the second day,not a problem the staff could have forseen.It was dealt with quickly and with good grace,we were given another room and could not fault the way the staff handled the problem,top marks.The food in the hotel is top notch,service is A+ and no complaints there.
On the down side the cleaning leaves a bit to be desired,the first room we had was not up to standard,the brekfast room in the hotel had glass on the carpet which we reported but was still there the morning we left,tables were sticky in eating areas and could do with some soap and water to give a good clean.
That aside good value and good staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99ravensworth99, Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! In regards to the other areas you metioned they have been dealt with to ensure this does not happen again.

Hope to see you return through our doors in the near furture!

The Ravensworth Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is one of the Good Night Inns group, with Chalets in the grounds. We were there on a busy night but check in was fast and easy. The accommodation was well fitted out and clean. Parking was tight due to the pub being busy but we managed to find a space. We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant, when it came to breakfast we were told it was a cold buffet only, cooked was extra, disappointing as other GNI's gave a choice of continental or full English as part of the deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 24/5 may lovely location, the room was clean, tea n coffee in room, food was lovely just lovely, the staff could not do enough for you, especially Beth one of the waitresses bless her, would recommend this location to anyone going up to Gateshead 5 out 5 for us Lesley n Stephen :-)))

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy B, Manager at Ravensworth Arms, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Lesley and Stephen,

I'm more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It's great to know our hard work pays off and that our guests feel they are recieving the standard of service we strieve for.

Thank you very much for your delightful review and we hope to see you return through our doors in the near future.

Best

The Ravensworth Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
4.1 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth Arms

Property: Ravensworth Arms
Address: Gateshead | Tyne & Wear, Gateshead NE11 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensworth Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ravensworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth Arms Gateshead
Ravensworth Arms Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing