We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch - Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowes Incline Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We love it here.The staff are welcoming, the food is good there is plenty of space and good surroundings.

The only slight complaint I would have is that I feel that they are a little overpriced. It is quite exensive and I feel they must remember that they are in Gateshead and not London.

Overall though,....great

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I did not stay at this hotel however I went there for a meal with my wife and two friends. All of our meals were excelent and the service was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GatesheadDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

What a great last minute find this was, we arrived early and they very kindly let us check in early, the triple room was absolutely beautiful and spacious, the beds were such good quality and extremely comfy, the cleanliness was brilliant.
We even had a little '4 in the bed' test for a giggle and we could find no faults! Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Less than 3 miles from the A1, and such peaceful surroundings, far superior than the usual 'budget' hotels for just that little bit extra and a great breakfast as a bonus!
We've already booked to go back next month for a weekend break as we just can't fault this hotel that has such easy access to local attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jom_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed here a few times and every time is better, The rooms are better then some 5 star hotels and the staff are very helpfull. Food is great with an excellent choice.

If your looking for home comforts with an up market feel then stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

What a hidden treasure . Stayed here for 1 night this week. What a breath of fresh air. The rooms are beautiful, clean and fresh, well furnished and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the attitude of the staff. Will certainly recommend to my colleagues. The welcome in both the hotel and restaurant was warm and friendly and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night as Newcastle central hotels were all booked. The room had recently been renovated to a high standard. Dinner at night was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was very good and the staff excellent. Only problem was our satnav took us to the wrong place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanmc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

If you like horses, industrial archaeology, old railways or just a good feed in the Gateshead/Washington area, this is hard to beat. We've stayed there and eaten there on numerous occasions.
The hotel is surrounded by fields of horses and my husband assures me that the railway stuff is really interesting! The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean, and are all on the ground floor. The food is hearty and delicious (look out for the specials board). They cope very well with large parties.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the building have a good view of The Angel of the North
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.7 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
508 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
4.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
1.8 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
0.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowes Incline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes Incline Hotel

Address: Northside, Gateshead DH3 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range: £76 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowes Incline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Bowes Incline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing