We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Savers..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowes Incline Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After a terrible night in another hotel nearby I found the Bowes Incline and booked in for three nights. I could not have asked for more, the staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel/restaurant were really well presented. Recently refurbished the whole experience was great. I would definitely stay here again when I return to the area - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJD0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Bowes Incline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have just spent bank holiday weekend at the Bowes Incline. Our welcome was very friendly and although we missed reception and entered by the pub we were impressed by our welcome and quickly shown to our room. The room was clean and comfortable with what appeared to be a newly refurbished bathroom, no bath but excellent shower. Lovely soft towels. The food is excellent and we were tempted to eat in the hotel on both nights. There is a wide choice of menu with some unusual dishes, not your common type of pub food. Worthy of mention are the succulent mussels. Full English breakfast is served at the table and sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the motorway, but noise is bearable if window is closed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruiseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and comfortable, the shower good and the service excellent. When we ran out of the little pots of UHT milk in our room, we were immediately offered a large jug of fresh milk - so much nicer for a good cuppa! The restaurant is great - lots of choice of interesting dishes, and cask beers at the bar. The portion size will challenge the heartiest appetites - I could never manage a starter or dessert. Although the back of the hotel overlooks the nearby main road, this is not prominent and we enjoyed the views of the distant hills from our bedroom. We did not notice the traffic noise at night - but in hot weather, with the windows open, this could be a drawback. The hotel is just a few miles from the Beamish Museum.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while travelling with work and it was great. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so you need a car to get anywhere but that wasn't a problem for me. I arrived and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. The room was newly refurbished and had a double and a single bed. My stay was comfortable and I got a great night's sleep. I can't comment on the pub or food as I only ate some toast on my way out in the morning.

Overall a hassle free, relaxing stay. I will definitely return and would thoroughly recommend the Bowes Incline.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeakDistrict123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Lovely pub with hotel attached. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Please be aware the rooms do not have an air condition and therefore if it is summer you must open the windows to cool the room but the hotel is very close to the motorway and the noise is annoying.
Also the noise by the bathrooms from the neighbors is recognizable.
The food is brilliant and absolutely to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torstensuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have been to the Bowes Incline a number of times and we have never been disappointed. There is always a great selection of choices from the large blackboard as well as the traditional Sundays lunches.

The food is always of a high quality and there is a large selection of beers and wines as well as a couple of guest beers.

In in all, somewhere that I've always recommended and will continue to do so. Enjoy your visit and don't let its out of the way existence put you off.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlaydonBlunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The standard of the rooms here are first class and the staff in general were more than helpful, to include their readily changing our room from one with a shower to one with a bath. The rooms themselves are well appointed and accessed at ground floor level from the reception, which also adjoins the bar/dining area. The latter is comfortable and welcoming and there is also ample free parking. The location, whilst somewhat remote, is well placed for accessing Newcastle City Centre and the Metro Centre.
In summary, highly recommended and, if anything less than complimentary could be said here, the portions in the restaurant were, in our opinion, off puttingly large, but that could be a plus to some so there you go.

, if an observation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
3.8 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
300 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
359 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowes Incline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes Incline Hotel

Address: Northside, Gateshead DH3 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range: £67 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowes Incline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Bowes Incline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing