We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bowes Incline Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Visited here for the 1st time today for lunch. No food menu on any table, you had to go beside the bar and look on the wall!. There wasn't anything on the menu that appealed to me and too be honest the prices are ridiculous, so I opted for a Thai steak wrap and salad. The salad was out of a packet with a tomato cut in half. I opened up the wrap and there was a few strips of steak inside with cut up vegetables and it was covered in sauce and was really soggy. I ate a strip of steak which never tasted of Thai, overal £6.95 for a soggy wrap and packet salad, shocking, 1st and last visit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livelifetothemax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    64
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
61
100
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After a terrible night in another hotel nearby I found the Bowes Incline and booked in for three nights. I could not have asked for more, the staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel/restaurant were really well presented. Recently refurbished the whole experience was great. I would definitely stay here again when I return to the area - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJD0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have just spent bank holiday weekend at the Bowes Incline. Our welcome was very friendly and although we missed reception and entered by the pub we were impressed by our welcome and quickly shown to our room. The room was clean and comfortable with what appeared to be a newly refurbished bathroom, no bath but excellent shower. Lovely soft towels. The food is excellent and we were tempted to eat in the hotel on both nights. There is a wide choice of menu with some unusual dishes, not your common type of pub food. Worthy of mention are the succulent mussels. Full English breakfast is served at the table and sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the motorway, but noise is bearable if window is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and comfortable, the shower good and the service excellent. When we ran out of the little pots of UHT milk in our room, we were immediately offered a large jug of fresh milk - so much nicer for a good cuppa! The restaurant is great - lots of choice of interesting dishes, and cask beers at the bar. The portion size will challenge the heartiest appetites - I could never manage a starter or dessert. Although the back of the hotel overlooks the nearby main road, this is not prominent and we enjoyed the views of the distant hills from our bedroom. We did not notice the traffic noise at night - but in hot weather, with the windows open, this could be a drawback. The hotel is just a few miles from the Beamish Museum.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while travelling with work and it was great. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so you need a car to get anywhere but that wasn't a problem for me. I arrived and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. The room was newly refurbished and had a double and a single bed. My stay was comfortable and I got a great night's sleep. I can't comment on the pub or food as I only ate some toast on my way out in the morning.

Overall a hassle free, relaxing stay. I will definitely return and would thoroughly recommend the Bowes Incline.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeakDistrict123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Lovely pub with hotel attached. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Please be aware the rooms do not have an air condition and therefore if it is summer you must open the windows to cool the room but the hotel is very close to the motorway and the noise is annoying.
Also the noise by the bathrooms from the neighbors is recognizable.
The food is brilliant and absolutely to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torstensuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaydon on Tyne
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have been to the Bowes Incline a number of times and we have never been disappointed. There is always a great selection of choices from the large blackboard as well as the traditional Sundays lunches.

The food is always of a high quality and there is a large selection of beers and wines as well as a couple of guest beers.

In in all, somewhere that I've always recommended and will continue to do so. Enjoy your visit and don't let its out of the way existence put you off.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaydonBlunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
258 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
1.7 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
329 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
4.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowes Incline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes Incline Hotel

Property: Bowes Incline Hotel
Address: Northside, Gateshead DH3 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowes Incline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bowes Incline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing