We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a fantastic hotel .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowes Incline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bowes Incline Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
1 review
“what a fantastic hotel .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

great hotel, the staff was very welcoming and helpfull.the service was excellant. the rooms have all been revamped and reasonably priced. the food was great and plenty of it. i would go back and reccomend to frieds and family.

Room Tip: they do family rooms at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clumsyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    63
    11
    5
    9
See reviews for
61
94
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We decided to try Sunday lunch here. A choice of beef, pork or lamb was on offer for £8.95. We chose a table and ordered at the bar. No sooner had I returned to the table when our meals arrived. Plenty of meat and vegetable with good Yorkshire pud. Not the cheapest around but good quality and speed of service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleMunchbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Penshaw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is one of my favourites. A bit dificult to get to as a single track dirt road but once there..Food is excellant and in abundance... Staff are very welcoming, service is excellant. Food is not badly priced either... Should try their Sunday Lunches.... Well worth every penny

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoralDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Hadn't been here for some time but decided to have a run out The hotel itself is set down a country lane in a lovely secluded spot The place itself is very cosy and the staff very welcoming and helpful
Our meals were well presented very tasty and fairly large portions
Only thing I found fault with was the bill at the end which I thought was a bit steep for two starters and main courses and a couple of drinks

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This establishment sits at the confluence of two busy motorways, yet it is serene and quiet. The owners have invested in quality double-pane windows and insulation.

My room was larger than expected, with two windows. Very clean; comfortable bed, friendly service, good breakfast. Rustic surroundings, despite the motorways. Equestrian center next door but not at all obtrusive. Bucolic and relaxing. Great place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milesarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have been to this pub on multiple occasions and have always found the food to be perfect and very generous portions. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and always willing to be of service. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who's looking for good food and friendly face.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbutton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

stayed here as we were going to see rihanna at stadium of light,the hotel is tucked away and was a little hard to find,after a friendly welcome from staff,we had a meal before heading out,the menu is vast,the food was excellent,portions were very generous! the staff sorted taxi to stadium for us. the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable!! great shower ;) we were welcomed home by the night porter,slept well and were welcomed to the lovely assortment on breakfast buffet,we all opted for full english,which to was lovely. the staff do go out of there way for you which was a lovely touch to our stay,definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowes Incline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes Incline Hotel

Property: Bowes Incline Hotel
Address: Northside, Gateshead DH3 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowes Incline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bowes Incline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing