We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bowes Incline Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing staff...”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at The Bowes Incline Hotel last night after attending a family 'do', in the area. So we literally required 'a bed for the night'. What a gem! 7 family members stayed in 4 rooms, they were all comfortable and spotless with fabulous showers. Before heading out to our party we met in the bar and all the meals being served looked scrummy. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Fabulous value for money. What really makes this hotel is the staff. Everyone was attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Customer service at it's best!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    66
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
66
101
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, room was a good size, tv a good size and shower fantastic.
Ate in the bar one night and food was really good and great value.
Only thing letting the hotel down was the WiFi but I had good phone signal so not the end of the world.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mclosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a wonderful little spot just off the A1. Check in seemless, rooms are numbered a little oddly but only took a minute to find our room. Nice space decent wardrobe, dressing table, comfy bed, tv on the wall, superb rainfall shower. We had decided to stay here as we didn't want the bonkers evening in Newcastle and what a good choice. I had read about the quality of the restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The food was simply fantastic , big portions and cooked to perfection. Washed down with a merlot it was excellent. Good nights sleep although you look out over the A1 there was no traffic noise. Breakfast again was spot on , when a place gets the little details right it makes all the difference. Cant praise this place highly enough. I will be returning next year,well as long as either Newcastle or Sunderland can stay in the premier league !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawsofdeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked this at the very last minute and had some issues with my new sat nav, (not hotels fault). But once we found it there was plenty of parking available, check in was swift, friendly and hassle free. Room was cleaned to a high standard, nice and very warm with usual facilities, bed was a bit soft for me, but my missus thought it was really comfy. we ate in the restaurant which is good, really good, but you have to order at the bar, which means its a pub serving good food, not a restaurant as there is no table service. My starter of black pudding was a bit cold, but my wife's garlic mushrooms were really nice. Our mains of chilli and nacho's plus fish and chips were also very good, the fish and chips were a much larger meal and better for people with large appetites.
We found breakfast was excellent with really attentive service and there were no surprises at checkout. All in all we would recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but you can see hotel from the A1 on the left when travelling south, so if your sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Curiously secluded despite being close to the main road. Easily seen and found down the end of a narrow lane (Northside - warning for satnav users - there are two "Northside"s. The hotel is on the north side of the main road, not the other side of the road, just aim to get around the back).

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room I was in was on the front of the hotel and was clean with a splendid bathroom (marble tiled and modern shower). Blackout blind on the side window was a thoughtful touch as there are bright bluish flood lights illuminating the outside. I overlooked the A1 and could clearly see the Angel of the North just down the road.

The windows kept most of the road noise out. Light sleepers might like to consider asking for a room facing the back. I felt the mattress was a little in the hard side. A bedside lamp would have been nice as an alternative to the main room lights.

Breakfast was cooked to order (allow a few minutes) and was well presented with nicely browned mushrooms, bacon, tomato and sausage.

I had red snapper with jambalaya for dinner which was tasty with a generous portion of fish. All the portions are generous!

Pudding was a wonderfully tasty sticky toffee pudding with custard - very hot.

The beer (Blast) was excellent.

Very good value and I will stay again when in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HuffinandPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We called in for a meal on a Saturday afternoon and were very impressed . The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful . The meal was excellent and the portions were generous . Will be back at the first opportunity !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borderer2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned home from The Bowes Incline Hotel. We go there when visiting my son who is at Newcastle University. Once again a brilliant experience! We just love this hotel for so many reasons. It is perfect in every way with its lovely accommodation and gorgeous food!
The staff remember us every time we go there and even give us the same room each time we stay which is so nice!
My son is now in his final year at the university but luckily he has decided that when he finishes he is going to remain in Newcastle which means that we can continue to have many more stays at our favourite hotel!
A genuine thank you to Colin, Linda and the rest of the staff! See you soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.6 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
459 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowes Incline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes Incline Hotel

Property: Bowes Incline Hotel
Address: Northside, Gateshead DH3 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowes Incline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Bowes Incline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing