We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
185
77
14
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
77
14
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge portionsbit off the beaten tracklamb shanksunday lunchsat navpub foodmain mealchef's specialsbit out of the wayexcellent showerlovely hotelplenty of parkingvisiting familypiping hotfew drinksfull englishlots of choice
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for one night in the Family room. Booked after reading the reviews and I can only say that this is a great choice plus very good value for money. Our room was modern and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The food was really good and we are particularly fussy!
First time I have posted and it's nice to have such a great experience, we will definitely return here and even if you don't book the hotel. try the food if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsaccounts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at The Bowes Incline Hotel last night after attending a family 'do', in the area. So we literally required 'a bed for the night'. What a gem! 7 family members stayed in 4 rooms, they were all comfortable and spotless with fabulous showers. Before heading out to our party we met in the bar and all the meals being served looked scrummy. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Fabulous value for money. What really makes this hotel is the staff. Everyone was attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Customer service at it's best!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, room was a good size, tv a good size and shower fantastic.
Ate in the bar one night and food was really good and great value.
Only thing letting the hotel down was the WiFi but I had good phone signal so not the end of the world.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank mclosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a wonderful little spot just off the A1. Check in seemless, rooms are numbered a little oddly but only took a minute to find our room. Nice space decent wardrobe, dressing table, comfy bed, tv on the wall, superb rainfall shower. We had decided to stay here as we didn't want the bonkers evening in Newcastle and what a good choice. I had read about the quality of the restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The food was simply fantastic , big portions and cooked to perfection. Washed down with a merlot it was excellent. Good nights sleep although you look out over the A1 there was no traffic noise. Breakfast again was spot on , when a place gets the little details right it makes all the difference. Cant praise this place highly enough. I will be returning next year,well as long as either Newcastle or Sunderland can stay in the premier league !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jawsofdeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked this at the very last minute and had some issues with my new sat nav, (not hotels fault). But once we found it there was plenty of parking available, check in was swift, friendly and hassle free. Room was cleaned to a high standard, nice and very warm with usual facilities, bed was a bit soft for me, but my missus thought it was really comfy. we ate in the restaurant which is good, really good, but you have to order at the bar, which means its a pub serving good food, not a restaurant as there is no table service. My starter of black pudding was a bit cold, but my wife's garlic mushrooms were really nice. Our mains of chilli and nacho's plus fish and chips were also very good, the fish and chips were a much larger meal and better for people with large appetites.
We found breakfast was excellent with really attentive service and there were no surprises at checkout. All in all we would recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but you can see hotel from the A1 on the left when travelling south, so if your sat Nav takes you right off the A1, ignore it and then follow the signs for the Hotel. Good luck
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews