We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowes Incline Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel 3 days before our birthday trip. We share the same birthday so my husband and I celebrated it by a trip up north (with a trip to Beamish Museum on the Saturday).

We were greeted by a warm welcome and familiarised with the hotel before going off to our room. It was very clean and modern and comfortable. The location of the hotel is very handy as it is just off the A1. You could see the A1 from our window. The window could have done with a clean outside but this is only a very minor niggle. There was a lovely big shower in the bathroom!

Breakfast was lovely and hot and a nice selection of cereals etc were available. The waiting on staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and had a lovely meal. The downside was having to read the menu from the blackboard. Menus on tables would be better...... but lots of choice and nice food. Quite pricey but it was convenient and we were able to stay in the comfort of the hotel.

All in all, we were very pleased and would come back if we were in the vicinity. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having just read the previous contribution about The Bowes Incline, I suppose the old adage of not being able to please all of the people all of the time, comes to mind, but then we didn't expect (or need) a trouser press ??
This hotel/pub is a real gem, and that goes for the food too. We had no problem raising someone to come to reception - you just have to press the bell, and someone comes. It really isn't the type of place where a full time receptionist is required. For many other country pubs, the disadvantage of being down a long cul de sac, and with no obvious route from the A1, would have meant a really tough time to snap up passing trade, but The Bowes Incline clearly fields that curve ball with ease, with what it has to offer. Clearly word of mouth and reputation pay dividends, and it is testament to the staff that run it, not to mention the chef ! The menu is truly extensive, but very appetising and creative.
We'll certainly be back.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Another trip to the North East and an enjoyable stay as always. Excellent menu and despite it being extensive the quality does not suffer. The maid is first class and she maintains the rooms to a high standard. Excellent location with quiet walks - ease of motorway access and minimal road noise despite proximity. Now I think perhaps we are seeing cost cutting with some staff serving breakfast from 7.00 am and dinners at 9.00pm. There appears to be no receptionist now and you have to go into the bar to find someone. We know the way around the hotel but for first time callers - they appear to be pointed in the room direction and left to it. Some paint would benefit some of the rooms and a lot of the furniture is too dark, and whilst rooms have large wardrobes there is a lack of drawer accommodation. No trouser press in room is unusual now. .There is a wide range of wine bottles in restaurant as decoration - they are kept well dusted but the windows and dados they sit on need varnished. It looks as if dust has gathered when in fact it is aging of the varnish. The staff if hard pressed are courteous and pleasant and the size of the plates of food are astonishing but as I say well produced. Fans in toilets tend to run for longer than I would have thought is required and can be annoying at night. The sound of them does resonate between rooms. That is four stays and whilst some maintenance is needed - for food- cleanliness and value for money it is hard to beat. Best rooms are on the side away from the motorway. The beer garden is outside some of the rooms on the motorway side which perhaps could lead to noise if you need an early bed.

Room Tip: stay if you can on side away from motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we took four friends from Canada there and we had a great stay the staff were excellent the accommodation as good as any 5 star hotel and the views and walks around the lanes were just great will go back again once again thanks to all the staff at the Bowes inn for a great stay Allan Carol from Sechelt b.c Canada

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan221o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Bowes Incline for 4 days in April. The place is immaculate, the food and menu
superb, the rooms are away from the pub so quiet. The chef and staff were so friendly and accommodating. A nice country place with easy access to Durham, Beamish, Sunderland
and on route to Scotland. This was the best place we stayed at in England, Would stay again! thanks to all the staff for a great stay!!

Room Tip: no fitness centre, but the walking area is great :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ava001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is at the end of a single lane road and is signposted but you could easily miss this lovely hideaway, if you did you would miss out on a treat. We savoured the light lunch menu, we ordered a beef and a sausage sandwich, both came with salad and home made chips. Taste, content, service and value was exceptional in a nice pub environment no complaints here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stopped here whilst on a work trip to the north east and have to say what a great little Gem of a hotel.

The rooms are really nice and what must be the best showers ever!!

The food is excellent and a great friendly bar as well. Oh and must not forget that the breakfast choice is very good indeed.

If your heading up north and need a nights stop this is worth a visit and its just off the A1.

Steve

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the car park will be a little quieter as its not facing the A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.7 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
1.8 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowes Incline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowes Incline Hotel

Address: Northside, Gateshead DH3 1RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowes Incline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bowes Incline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing