We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
187
77
15
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
77
15
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge portions bit off the beaten track lamb shank sunday lunch sat nav pub food main meal chef's specials bit out of the way excellent shower lovely hotel plenty of parking visiting family piping hot few drinks full english lots of choice
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Yet again had a great evening dining and drinking at the Bowes.
Ordered a mix of chicken and duck mains followed by puds for desert.
Had to wait a little for food to arrive but as every order is cooked to order it's worth the wait.
Piping hot delicious food from friendly and attentive staff.
Will be going back time and again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sohett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely little hotel spotlessly clean rooms with nice bathroom. The breakfast was great and the resteraunt food was beautiful. We enjoyed every bit of our stay and the staff where very friendly. We will return here if need to go that way again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JanetB1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had chosen this hotel which was near to our meeting the following day. Check in was fine, the room was very clean but difficult trying to get into the wardrobe as the bed was in the way of the door, the fan in the bathroom that needs urgent attention, really loud rattling noise. The evening meal was just average pub food which was dissappointing, the lady that served us in the evening was pleasant. The Breakfast was cooked to order but put on a cold plate! and the breakfast area was near to the toilets which was not good, the breakfast waitress did not smile once! the same waitress checked us out and did not ask if we enjoyed our stay, we did not see any management at all to discuss anything.

Room Tip: Room 3 needs attention to the bathroom Fan.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidson103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We have not visited this restaurant for about 3 years. The food is still up to the same excellent standard however the once relaxing atmosphere seemed to be missing.

The lighting was somewhat bright - at one time the rooms were lit by candles - although they are still on the tables they were not lit. There always seemed to be cosy dark corners so you could relax and chat.

The staff were very eager to please and offered good service and advice.

We will return again soon - but please can we have the relaxed atmosphere back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

I seem to always end up in great little places that seem to be in the middle of nowhere, and the Bowes Incline fits in this category.
It is a great place to stay. The bed was comfortable and the room clean and warm. The bathroom was modern with an excellent shower. The staff were friendly and welcoming, with the best person being Dave, who welcomes in late arrivals and serves breakfast with a smile at either end of the night shift. When I needed and ironing board and iron, these were provided immediately and with pleasure.
The pub / restaurant, which is the original hostelry that the rooms are attached to, serves good food with excellent service.
It will need GPS to get there, even though it's actually very close to the iconic Angel of the North and therefore right next to the A1. It is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenDBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews