We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light lunch”
Review of Sidegate Gallery

Sidegate Gallery
Ranked #52 of 267 Restaurants in Gateshead
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Came with husband and our daughter great friendly service sat in the courtyard as it was a beautiful sunny day had lovely quiche and salad and was offered free glass of wine too ! Perfect for lunch or coffee and cake run craft classes too ! Highly recommend x

Helpful?
Thank Whickham Cottag... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food,especially the cakes! plus a lovely gift shop.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Really friendly, happy place to eat and indulge in great food. The staff are always friendly and pleased to see you. The service is always good and the food delicious. A great place to pop into with friends for a meal and chat, or just to wander and browse in the gift shop, I rarely leave without buying something, the gifts are very original and there's something for every taste.They also do a super selection of ladies clothing too, I recently bought a gorgeous silk top for a wedding, made in Italy, and felt really special wearing it. Sidegate Gallery is one of my favourite places to visit and never fails to cheer me up!.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank U8865HQjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect pit-stop ”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped at the Sidegate on a road trip to 'refuel' & discovered a gem.

Brilliant selection of made to order sandwiches & lunch specials. We went off piste on the panini selection, but the bubbly girls in the kitchen were more than happy to help. Delicious! The staff overheard me mention my dog was in the car & insisted I go fetch him so they could make a fuss of him. Genuine great friendly service - a bowl of water was even provided for the dog , nice touch. Cakes, cakes, cakes.... Awesome cakes! A slice at source & a take away box full of delights.

We even managed to pick up a few gifts in the funky gift shop on the way out. I'd definitely make a point of stopping by this great little place on my travels. Keep up the good work!

PS. Did I mention the cake?.....

Helpful?
1 Thank ssgav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place to eat, chat and find interesting items”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

One of the best places for coffee, sandwiches (the chutney and jams are delicious) and that's before you get to the cake. Somewhere you can visit again and again and still not see all the knick knacks that are lurking around the corner. Staff are friendly and if your looking for something special are only to pleased to help.......a MUST try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“granary sandwiches to die for”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The cheese savoury sandwiches (huge) and cheese and broccoli scones were awesome. Bought 4 items of clothing which were lovely quality linen and good prices too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidegate Gallery also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Whickham, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sidegate Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing