We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good service ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Ranked #29 of 264 Restaurants in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have been past this place loads of times an for some reason it never registered to go there. We went last Sunday and had a good meal. The food was good and came with plenty meat in the dish. The price was good and the service was good as well.

Helpful?
Thank Deavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food just round the corner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I went here the first night I moved into my house just round the corner 4 years ago and have been going back regularly since.
The food is great, full of flavour rich sauces and good heat from the spices. I'll definitely be coming back for the next 4 years!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We eat here regularly, either sit in or take away and it never disappoints. Great fresh ingredients and depth if flavour. The only downside is that whenever I go for a curry anywhere else in the country, it is always a massive let down!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rivelino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in the north east!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Tried and tested for the last 6 years. We order takeaway from here most Sunday nights and it never disappoints. Banquet night sit in and take out Thursday and Sundays which is great value. Dined in many times too, including a couple of New Years Eve's. It's a small place and can get very busy peak times but the service is always impeccable. If I leave Gateshead I'd still drive over for this place!

Only suggestion, they should do some early bird or weekday offers.

Helpful?
1 Thank agirlinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

despite living 5 minutes walk away, i had never been here in ten years...and i have been missing out!

as other reviewers have said, the customer service is perfect. not intrusive but friendly and welcoming. small place but that works well, understated decor with music at just the right volume. staff really hit the perfect note of being friendly without falseness.

the food was great (with staff very accommodating to changes on their specified dishes). decent portion sizes and well flavoured.

will definitely return and look forward to bringing friends to our new local hidden hotspot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hula-hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing