We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly bar & grill”

Havener’s Bar and Grill
Ranked #12 of 46 Restaurants in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This is a friendly bar & grill by the water on the Fowey estuary. Good selection of food on the menu and everything we tried during a couple of visits was well cooked and tasted great. Cheery helpful staff too.

Thank MarkC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Havener’s Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you Mark for this review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

We both had the cheeseburger with the bacon as an extra and shared a side salad and coleslaw. We were pleased that the coleslaw seemed to be homemade and was not mayonnaise heavy it just coated the vegetables. There was ample to share between us. No complaints about the food or service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Havener’s Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived late on Saturday evening about 9:15, we had just been turned away from The Galleon Inn, so we were worried we weren’t going to be able to find somewhere to eat!
We were greeted by a friendly lady at the bar who found us a nice table in the restaurant! The waiting staff were very friendly,attentive and efficient. The food was fabulous. A great dining experience we will be back!

Thank kaypaulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Havener’s Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

I and my husband had lunch at this restaurant. It is well placed overlooking the little harbour at Fowey. The food was very good And the service was to match. It is obvious that the staff have been well trained and that there is definitely someone keeping an eye on things. This is an important but often underrated part of running a good restaurant. I would certainly go back there again. It may be worth booking ahead in high season.

1  Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Havener’s Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you Tessa for this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope to see you back again soon when your in Fowey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

My sister and I sat at a table on the terrace for lunch and we both ordered Classic Cheese Burger with chips and onion rings £13.00
A premium price for a burger, but we expect to pay for the lovely surroundings, and thought we would get a quality product.
We were disappointed, the burger wasnt very hot, it was tasteless and tough, the relish was disgraceful, tiny piece of lettuce and tomato, runny bland cheese, and the mustard mayo dip was spread across the burger, but again was cheap and tasteless. The chips were few and uninspiring.
We complained to the waiter, he said that he would inform the chef, we said the manager is person to be told.
We had no further feedback from the waiter or the manager.
Ruined a day out
By the way I write many reviews on here, and this is my first bad review

1  Thank pib48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Havener’s Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your review regarding your disappointment with your lunch and particularly our burgers, our apologies that it wasn't very hot, I will take this up with the kitchen today. The burgers are specially selected from our local butcher so we are upset to receive your comments and will ensure the high standards are met from the butcher and chef in future. The main point I am very upset with is that the manager was not informed and if so we would have offered our apology and compensation immediately, I will take this matter up with waiting staff today. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you at Haveners again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Havener’s Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Havener’s Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing