We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”
Review of The Dwelling House

The Dwelling House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dwelling House
Ranked #10 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
South West England
Level Contributor
279 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Divine!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Dwelling house B&B is just wonderful. Adam and Teresa are wonderful hosts who offer an excellent room with one of the best breakfasts I have had for a long time. The Dwelling house just has the one guest room, but it is tastefully decorated and has a quirky touch of a bath in the room with you. The tea and coffee facilities, together with the toiletries, are of a high standard and overall you start to feel pampered. My only minor grip are that the bed is very soft, which I personally don't like, although I know others will. Also the toilet is in a slightly small room and as I am quite a large gent my head touched the ceiling! However neither of these are enough to warrant any major concern.
The breakfast is just heavenly, cereal was available if we wanted, but we started with the large platter of mixed fresh fruit, Coffee was freshly made by Adam from the proper coffee machine in the Café with top ups readily available. Teresa cooked an excellent breakfast which she was happy to adapt to suit you appetite (mine included Hogs Pudding from the local butchers which was peppery but great) and fresh toast is also provided, with a good selection of preserves. All in all just divine and a great start to the day. I have no problem recommending this wonderful B&B and just hope that we have the chance to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose this B&B and you always get the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoliteEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

stayed recently for three nights. we used to go there years back and it was always one of our favourite places in our favourite part of the world. Our first visit back since it was turned into a [ very good] tea room reconfirmed that it is still one of the cosiest, atmospheric and quirkiest places to stay. I like my toilet to be in a cupboard under the stairs! Beats boutique hands down. Owners are kind and accomodating and make bloody good carrot cake. [ although if you overdo it you may struggle to get in the WC ! ] What more do you need ?

Room Tip: er, ask for room ! of 1 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had visited the tea rooms on several occasions and decided to try the B&B accommodation.
Much to our delight the B&B was outstanding value with an exceptionally friendly and warm atmosphere.
The breakfast can not be faulted. Teresa and Adam - the owners can not do enough to help and are genuinely lovely people who just want you to enjoy your stay.
The room was clean and well equipped with a beautiful bath and delightful antique furnishings.

Th entire visit was perfect.
Thank you so much to Teresa and Adam - we'll see you again soon xx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Dwelling House is the perfect place to stay in Fowey. We enjoyed a fantastic four course breakfast, setting us up for a walk over to St Catherine’s Castle; and upon our return we indulged in a delicious complementary cream tea, with warm scones fresh from the Rayburn. The room was lovely and cosy – complete with a huge free-standing bath! Adam and Theresa are brilliant hosts and we would highly recommend their B&B to anyone venturing to Fowey for a visit.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank creamtealover_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A super find for afternoon tea or brunch. Bacon and egg sandwiches an absolute treat ! Cornish cream tea was fantastic - superb conserves with scones just cooked to perfection. Decor is fascinatingly eclectic - definitely not a cafe - more like an experience. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We had the best toasties ever, finishing off with wonderful scones, service great.Shame we live such a long way away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepherooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed one night here in February and we slept in one of the most comfortable beds ever! The room was very cosy with a gorgeous bath in the middle of the room. Adam and Teresa were really welcoming and all the (mainly) girls in the tea-room were a credit. Breakfast was superb with crispy bacon and fluffy scrambled egg. Don't start me on the cakes - there were even gluten-free ones available. A great stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichByName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 25 in Fowey
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwelling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwelling House

Property: The Dwelling House
Address: 6 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dwelling House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Dwelling House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing