We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Well House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Well House
Ranked #1 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Like the last reviewer we were in fowey for the tail end of regatta week and we didn't think we would get anywhere to stay in town, let alone take our two dogs. Not only did they take the dogs (with no extra charge) but we were made to feel very welcome! The best part was Frank, a gorgeous black lab who is very much a part of the whole place. I am surprised to read a review that moans about Frank. There are enough places in fowey that are NOT dog friendly so why they felt the need to choose somewhere that prides themselves on being so (and makes this very clear) is beyond me. Not only that, but he's a lovely dog and very well behaved. If you didn't want his attention he would very obediently leave you alone. The property is lovely and has some pretty old features. the room we had was very nicely decorated, clean, with an en-suite and good sized wardrobe. If I had to find something negative to say, the room we had seemed to be next to a resturant and their air conditioning or some other plant was rather noisy, but ear plugs dealt with that (we didn't even need to mention it to the owners)! Overall a lovely building, clean rooms and very nice, welcoming owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Please accept my apologies for the long delay in responding to your comments. Thank you very much indeed for your kind words. Your advice on the noise from next door is welcomed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We were in Fowey during Regatta week. The town was heaving and being a family of 6 with 2 dogs we didn't hold out much hope of finding somewhere for lunch. And then we found The Well House. What a find!! We were made to feel so welcome - all of us even the dogs! It was like having lunch with friends. Despite being extremely busy tables were moved so we could sit together. Our food was excellent - salads, sandwiches, pasties - the service warm and friendly, the atmosphere great. Lovely to find such a dog friendly place willing to accommodate large parties.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emmajay12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Please accept my apologies for the long delay in responding to your kind comments. Thank you very much indeed and we are glad you enjoyed your experience of our Tea Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

So lovely to be able to step in and out of the action due to the fantastic location of The Well House in the main street of Fowey. A sanctuary in the madness of Regatta Week. Such a quaint building, excellent location, fantastic hosts and brilliant food. Also the celebrity of Frank-the-dog! It was great to be "Home". Only feedback would be to level up the main bed in the family suite. We will definitely recommend, great value for money.

Room Tip: Family suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearTreeHouse77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Please accept my apologies for the long delay in responding to your kind comments. Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And we have taken onboard your comment about the bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stopped here for a pasty because I'd read that it was one of the oldest buildings in Fowey. It is rather quirky inside with uneven floors and low beams and prettily decorated. We had a pasty here which I have to say wasn't anything special. However, the whole place seems to revolve around a black Labrador called Frank. This is all very well if you like dogs around you when you're eating but maybe they should think about those who don't.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We are glad you like the Well House building.
It is a pity you don't appear to have found the pasties particularly enjoyable as they are produced by the 'Proper Cornish' company who are considered to be one of the best pasty makers in Cornwall.
It's a shame that before coming in you didn't read one of our prominent signs on the outside of the building explaining that Frank lives in the Well House and that we are 'dog friendly'. A pity too that you seem to have ignored the leaflets we place on each table explaining who Frank is and that if you don't want to be disturbed to just shoo him away.
I think this shows that we do in fact consider those customers who are not the dog lovers we are.

However, our unashamed philosophy is that if you don't like dogs, don't come in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The couple running The Well House have the balance just right. The restaurant is very quirky and quaint and you can lose yourself just looking around. We were a little worse for wear from the night before and were looking for a tasty lunch - this definitely hit the spot. A lovely pot of tea, bacon sandwich for him and an egg sandwich for me; perfect portion sizes and good honest food. We were tempted by the cakes after but managed to resit.

Please visit The Well House - a great atmosphere and wonderful for lunch or breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our Tea Rooms. Paula and I, and all of our staff are very proud of what we do and are grateful to you for your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Whether its a morning coffee,breakfast,lunch or afternoon snack the Well House always delivers super food,delicious drinks and service with a friendly smile in its tea rooms.The place is quirky but immaculately clean and tidy,There is a sweet outside court yard,and an ancient back room with well - worth a look.The staff are really pleasant and service prompt the atmosphere is relaxed but efficient and not sniffy (like some tea rooms in Fowey).The owners doggie occupies a corner of the Tea Room and much like the rest of the staff is friendly and very well presented a positive bonus.I have enjoyed a variety of snacks and drinks I had a super Greek salad,excellent olive oil and very reasonable.I live here so have tried them all,but the Well House is one I go back to,try it,you will know why.It also offers B and B ,but its tea rooms are open to all.PS don't forget to pop in for an ice cream to take away the mango sorbet is to die for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H3ELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our Tea Rooms. It's nice to know we are heading in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for 3 nights B&B with my daughter. We also had a very nice lunch including delicious 'straight-out-of-the-oven' scones. We were both impressed with the friendly welcome, excellent service and tasty food, not to mention the quirkiness of the historic building. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilahurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our B&B and Tea Rooms. Paula and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#2 of 25 in Fowey
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Well House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Well House

Property: The Well House
Address: 31-33 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Well House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Well House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing