We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mike&Kathontheroad again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King of Prussia
Ranked #4 of 26 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mike&Kathontheroad again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

First visit to Fowey in many years, We thought the King of Prussia was an excellent choice, with fantastic views across the river from all the room. Our room was large and well furnished, with a superking size bed which was very comfortable It was equipped with everything you could possibly need including a sewing kit !! The bathroom was roomy and very clean with plenty of hot water. . The breakfast was good and plentiful and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the room are overlooking the river, so all have lovely views. Ours (no 3) was above bar so we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunky1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    72
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
94
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for two nights, lovely and comfortable and having been recently refurbed has all helped.
Great tea making facilities, and everything had been thought including everything you would need in the toiletries, plus a hairdryer, I was most impressed. Lovely and friendly staff.

Car parking is all Council, although there are some spaces outside the King of Prussia, there is a 24 hour parking up the other end of Fowey approximately walk 10mins, but at least you get to see all the great shops in Fowey.

A very enjoyable stay in Fowey, Cornwall .

Room Tip: Room number 2 twin room, nice and comfortable and great tea making facilities along with an excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alderney
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had our first visit to Fowey, a stunning Spot. We initially parked ipat the top, and staggered down to the harbour. The room was exceptional for a small place, with a settee in the room and large bathroom. The view from the window was magnificent' over the estuary.
Really comfortable beds and next morning good choice available for breakfast. One criticism Is that breakfast wasn't served until 9.00 meaning a late start for touring.

A tip for others: drive all the way down through the narrow winding streets and park on the harbour. The climb back to the main park is painful.

Room Tip: See above, drive down and park outside, not cheap but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a great old West Country hotel right on the river at Fowey. You just look across a small town square and then there is the water. All the rooms have a view of the river and are nice and large and clean. There is a great buffet breakfast and the service and staff are excellent. Be aware that the only drawback is that there is no lift and only narrow stairs which go around corners so be aware of this if you have heavy suitcases - especially if you are on the second floor. It might be OK if you are on your own and the staff can help, but four of us arrived at the same time so had to fend for ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely old pub for a weekend while attending a family wedding and we could not have been looked after better.The room was brilliant looking out over Town Quay and across the river.It was comfortable and very well equipped.The breakfast was top notch being cooked fresh to order with a wide choice.Lastly we must mention the polite and friendly staff for making our stay so enjoyable.The only negative is you need to be able to negotiate steep steps.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

IMPORTANT NOTE: This Pub has about a dozen steep steps to get to the bar to order food and drinks, which would cause problems if you have mobility limits and no one to get your order in. When we visited, there was no table ordering, though food was brought down by waitress.

My rating is for the food and beer only as we eat outside and only went to the bar to order. The bar, on quick scan looked comfy and traditional and I was served quickly for food and drink ordering. There are now light-weight tables and chairs outside the front of the pub which have a post & membrane enclosure to keep kids and dogs from wandering off.
We ordered 1& ½ pints of Tribute (tasted fine), Cornish ham ploughman’s and a Crab and Mayo sandwich. Both were about £8 each. Total was £21 inc. beers.
I was warned that a wait of 25 minutes would be needed as they were very busy. I confirmed the order and asked if our dog could go in the eating area. We were told in a most welcoming way, that yes the dog could come into the enclosure and would also be very welcome to come up (the steep steps) into the bar. 

The food duly arrived and I was more than surprised at the presentation of the ploughman’s. Served on a board, a bit fiddly for the salad but SO nicely done and super ham and cheese with a whole basket of the most fresh French style course – cut bread. A pot of Chutney and a pot of fresh chopped spring onion were included.
My partners Crab sandwich was just bulging with crab and she described it as a “crab sarnie to die for”. Must mention the chips! There was a little “bucket” of chips that were not ordered (£2:25 on menu, complimentary for waiting??), these were hand cut chunky ones and honestly, the best I have ever eaten. Golden, crisp and non greasy.
I can only hope this standard is maintained, as I would love for other folk to have as good experience as we did.
Well done the staff at K.O.P.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-bolt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Came here on the off chance we might be able to get a table on 19.8.13, really busy period, party/festival outside. Enjoyed great food with an array of different options, Cornish beer and a good old time at the party. However, my camera and sunglasses were stolen outside, so maybe keep a good eye on your belongings!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
21.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King of Prussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King of Prussia

Property: The King of Prussia
Address: 3 Town Quay, Fowey PL23 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King of Prussia 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The King of Prussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King Of Prussia Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing