We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have found a more welcoming spot.”
Review of River View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View
Ranked #12 of 26 Fowey B&B and Inns
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Couldn't have found a more welcoming spot.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked this B&B on the views of previous TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had booked for 3 nights in the run up to Bank Holiday. Parking was easy on the road outside. The premises are accessed from the rear garden gate, and so locating the house was fairly difficult but there was adequate parking on the road. The garden is very well maintained and is a place of solitude. Gill welcomed us as we walked down the garden path, then showed us to our room. The room overlooked the Town Quay and had lovely views of the river. Facilities in the room were better than most hotels we have stayed in around the world. There was even filtered water alongside the ample stocks of tea, coffee, etc.
Breakfast was a really pleasant affair. Plenty of toast, Juices and cereals were all laid out, and I had the grapefruit segments, while my wife ordered porridge. She declared that the porridge came up to standard and was one of the best she had tasted. I had the full breakfast and really enjoyed it. Plenty of preserves on the tables, too.
Gill is a really friendly person, and is very helpful in all respects to make your stay in Fowey delightful. We discovered she and I had a lot of friends in common at Fowey, and so the conversations got longer at breakfast each day! . The bedroom is very comfortable and we could sleep with the French windows open to hear the gentle sounds of the river and town below us.
The only problem with Fowey, is that it is built on the steep-sided hill of the estuary. Going into town is fine, but the walk back up is VERY steep, and it is quite easy to get lost in all the little alleys and paths.
The house is positioned so that it is easy to get back on the main road, and is within 10 minutes of the Eden project. We found River View to be a very suitable centre to explore Cornwall, making it to Land's End in about 70 minutes.
We would just like to end by thanking Gill for her tremendous hospitality, and we will certainly look to coming back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the River View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frostyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this B&B, in particular we enjoyed the warm welcome from the B&B owner and the views of The town/estuary from the bedroom window.

The breakfast was good. My only additional request would've been provision of fresh milk in the room to go with tea/coffee and bottled water. I'm sure however, a specific request for these would've been accommodated.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AHW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed with friends for two nights as part of a coastal walking trip. We had a double room upstairs with a gorgeous river view - bliss. The house is located in a quiet residential street and parking on the road is not a problem. Gill was delightful and made us all feel very welcome. Breakfast was great - all fresh and cooked to order. With notice, Gill bought us our packed lunches ready for our last day's walk, which saved us a trip to Tesco! The walk down into Fowey took us about 6 minutes but the trek back.....15 minutes depending on how creaky our knees were! But that is all part of the charm.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night and had a lovely stay. The owner is really helpful, down to earth and knew exactly what we needed and we enjoyed the lovely walk she was able to recommend. Very clean rooms and generous breakfast. Great value for a nights stay and why local b&bs should be celebrated!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great food, fantastic views and very attentive host. Met with a lovely refreshing cuppa on arrival and felt like home from home.
Everything was lovely can't wait to go back.
Keep up the great work.
Thanks again
Jean & Phil

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothersanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, Hants. England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a lovely friendly B&B. We stayed for 2 nights in spacious en-suite single rooms which over look the pretty garden. (doubles overlook the river) exceptionally clean rooms as are all areas..
The room had tea and coffee making facilities, filtered water and biscuits. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choice to suit everyone
We walked down to the Quay to the King of Prussia for dinner the fresh fish was wonderful .
The host we very friendly and helpful, we thoroughly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAnji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The River View B&B was just lovely. A warm and friendly welcome, beautiful rooms and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Couldn't ask for more :-) thank you river view. There was excellent attention to detail and a great view!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherylcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 26 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#7 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#3 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View

Property: River View
Address: 20 Park Road, Fowey PL23 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — River View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing