We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things come in small packages”
Review of Artist's House

Artist's House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's House
Ranked #19 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Vivienne is every thing that other advisors have mentioned. Charming, helpful and hospitable. The fact is her house is rather small and breakfast, albeit very good indeed, is a communal affair but intimate with both rooms sharing a table. This is not to everyone's taste, certainly not ours.
The house is very convenient for the town centre and the parking space invaluable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sustainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Artist's House is everything you could want in a B&B - comfortable, spotless, stylish, close to the town and the beach, within a short drive of The Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan, and breakfast was to die for. However, what really made this a special place to stay was the artist herself. Vivien is warm, welcoming, highly entertaining and above all a great host. You arrive as a guest and you leave as a friend. We will definitely both be back.

Room Tip: We had the harbour room and loved it but the guests in the garden room also spoke highly of their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A fantastic and unique B & B located in beautiful Fowey. Nothing is too much trouble for Vivien and her great textiles grace every surface in the comfortable property. Chickens in the garden lay excellent eggs, the rest of the breakfast is of a superb quality and sourced from local suppliers including the Kittow Bros. Her focus on ecological matters and practises is refreshing (just don't leave the tap running!) and Vivien is a very convivial host. Go to Fowey, stay at the Artist's House and never want to go home again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I won't bother repeating what most people have already said. Vivienne collected us from Par station & had homemade soup & bread waiting for us when we got to her lovely 1960s bungalow. Next day we enjoyed meeting the other guests (maximum 4 at one table so if you don't like sharing, don't stay here). Vivienne's textile art is everywhere & there are many other paintings etc to look at during your stay. Gardens front & back are lovely. Our room was beautifully furnished with pillows and Indian (handmade) quilt in our room overlooking the street & down to town and the sea. The room is a bit cramped what with dresser, chair, tables, TV stand & wardrobe & the bed could be a bit smaller perhaps (rare to say that!) to allow room for guests with lots of bags/suitcases, but we were fine with our backpacks. Only other quibble was the shower was not very forceful & the shower head was tiny. However, she is quite right, in my opinion, to put an eggtimer on the bath wall to remind us all not to waste water. Breakfasts are terrific; especially the fresh fruit salad & greek yogurt. An enriching encounter & place to stay, aesthetically 100% satisfying, at least for me, compared to some of the cheap, ugly and/or depressing decor I've had to try to ignore at B&Bs over the years.... worth the extra few ££s. Oh yes and Vivienne gives you a whole bag of maps brochures, books etc for you to peruse.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms - either garden-facing or road/town/sea. double-glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have recently returned from a three-night stay at The Artists House in Fowey. The very nature of the B and B gives the feel that you are staying in someone's private house. Well in fact..... you are. The 'Seaside Landlady' VIvien shares her home with you. Our double en-suite room was clean and comfortable. Vivien's breakfasts were absolutely delightful. A grand array of goodies on offer each morning.....from fresh fruit salad, homemade bread.....jam....marmalade. Everything was freshly cooked and nicely presented. The house is situated in an ideal spot to walk in to the centre of Fowey. It is quite a climb down to the riverside town, and therefore quite a walk uphill on the return journey. A great place for a base in the very very pretty part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninajeavons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Thoroughly recommend Viviane's lovely B&B - you don't come across many Viviane's in your lifetime, a true character who makes her guests feel very much at home. Fabulous breakfasts that set you up for the day, her local knowledge and the very well kept lovely rooms. Fowey was also our favourite place that we visited (we went to Padstow, Rock and Looe aswell). 100% recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlylarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was our first visit to Fowey and was most enjoyable owing mainly to the very comfortable accomodation and informative hostess. We stayed in the Garden Room which has a generous sized en-suite, spotlessly clean and hot water always available
In addition to providing excellent breakfasts, Vivien also supplied us with maps, guides and advice on where to go and what to see.
This is a B&B with a difference as Vivien goes out of her way to ensure her guests get the best of their stay in Fowey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#3 of 25 in Fowey
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#2 of 25 in Fowey
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 25 in Fowey
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's House

Address: 40 Vicarage Meadow, Fowey PL23 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range: £81 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist's House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist's House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing