We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the family hotel and restaurant that dreams are made of.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“This is the family hotel and restaurant that dreams are made of.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had a wonderful short stay at this amazing hotel in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable and spoke at ease to both my young children and my partner and I. The room was fantastic - in fact it was more of a suit. Our girls squeaked with delight at having a separate room leading off some stairs ajoining our room which a staff member secured with some stair gates. We had delicious food (alfresco lunch) and intimate dinner in the elegant restaurant. We took advantage of the child monitoring service in the evening but our kids never stirred after their fun filled day exploring the vast grounds, feeding the chickens and playing with the hotel puppy. There is no bar to speak of but drinks are ordered by catching the attention of staff who seem always available to help but not intrusive and they bring the drinks to you which adds a classy touch to proceedings. The following morning after a deep sleep in the enormous bed we took to the pool and spa area in order to work off a few calories acquired over breakfast and sat in the outside hot tub which has a wonderful view out to sea. Check out was relaxed around 11 am. An all round top experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenJLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear 'StevenJLamb

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family. It's great to know you loved Fowey Hall as much as we do.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    129
    34
    17
    5
See reviews for
288
219
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Having just spend two lovely nights here I have come away relaxed and refreshed. My daughter (5) didn't want to leave and even though she didn't indulge in the breakfast club - a sneaky sunday lie in was hoped for - she wanted to know at least when she could go back! I went here last year and u can feel the atmosphere has changed the staff feel confident and almost cared for...dare say that's post the awful Von Essen stewardship....a truly special place and even better now the season has shifted, will start saving the pennies now but worth all of them!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennimurfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear 'mombasa33'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and find Fowey Hall as special as we do.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & the Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

After 3 nights at the Waterhate Bay hotel we checked into the Fowey Hall hotel on a last minute basis as we wanted to stay in the area. We were shown to a room which was very disappointing but we had no choice but to stay as was the only free accomodation in the area. We decided to go for a swim before dinner and instantly regretted this! The pool area was filthy! The changing rooms smelt, the towels were old and thread bare and there was a nasty sludge around the edge of the pool which had clearly be there some time. On returning to the room, it became clear just how dirty it was. Hairs in the bathroom which didn't belong to us, the cups and spoons on the hospitality tray were dirty and the pillows were stained. I called reception to complain and they moved us to a new room. Again the pillows were stained (they did replace them but not sure why they didn't use clean ones in the first place!), there was cobwebs in the shower and a bottle lid was under the bed..., clearly they don't clean properly. To be fair the lady who moved us was very helpful and brought us a glass of champagne but we shouldn't of had to complain in the first place. It should be clean!! Food was good although portion sizes were a little small. Breakfast was tasty. Overall, this place could be lovely if they cleaned it properly! Location and views were amazing. Shame that this place ruined the last night of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knighton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear 'Knighton1'

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on trip advisor as well as completing one of our feedback forms following your recent stay with us. Once again please accept my apologies for the cleanliness of your room and Spa when you stayed with us last weekend.

I am glad that I have had an opportunity to discuss this with you in person and I hope you will take me up on my offer to come and stay with us again.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall.


Warm regards


Chris Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Having had a great one night stay at Ickworth our expectations of Fowey Hall were already high. Thankfully our expectations were met...and then some. Breathtaking views, great location and staff that bent over backwards to ensure our needs were met.We originally were housed in the seperate building away from the main hotel, this left us a little concerned when leaving our ickle one, no worries...we were then moved the next night to a lovely larger suite at no extra cost. Throughout the break the staff were friendly, helpful and the overall feeling was relaxed yet professional. The hotel has an usual feel, modern yet olde world and all of the different rooms have a completely different feel to them. The pool was clean, the hot tub had an amazing view and the break was amazing. My only (slight) criticism was the food was just above average, it was ok included in the price but we felt it would have been overpriced at £42.50 per head which is reasonably high, not in any way bad but I think there could be improvements. However, all in all 100% recommended and if you can get a deal then its a steal! p.s the piano needs to be closed down to prevent annoying kids plimky plonking at annoying times!

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel were much quieter than the rooms in the converted building. We could hear a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear 'Michael3140'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team helpful as they did their best to accommodate you within the main house to make you feel more at ease when leaving your little one in the room whilst the baby listening service was on. I have also taken note of you food comments - we are currently reviewing all menu offerings and will certainly consider your thoughts whilst doing so.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & the Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Glorious service and staff, just right. Outstanding food. Two fabulous nights in spacious wing of main house. Maintenance and upkeep perhaps slightly behind the curve but I can see that they are catching up after recent change of ownership. Built around the kids, handy for those parents that need a bit of breathing space. Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for delux interconnecting rooms attached to main house, far superior to courtyard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear 'Andy S'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us with your family. Luxury Family Hotels have certainly been busy since they took over the hotel in December last year - having already refurbished the courtyard rooms, installed a new heating system and decorated all the public areas throughout but there is still more to come with more plans due to start early next year to see the whole hotel fully refurbished and revitalised to its former glory.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & the Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Mawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked with 2 girlfriends for treatments in the Spa. Very efficient service and extremely relaxing. Well worth the money. Would highly recommend. Nice and clean.

We were going to go into the Hotel for lunch. Sat outside at a table. Waited for a while, nobody came along so one of us went in to ask if we could have lunch. It was 12.30pm on a Thursday during Fowey Week - mid August. The member of staff said that she "would have to see if the kitchen could accommodate us". My friend not very pleased. One other table sitting outside so they were not busy but I suppose could have had a large party booked in. Some menus then arrived pretty quickly but decided that we would go back to our house in the centre of Fowey and have something down there.

Had a soft drink each £7.50 for 2 x 1/2's of diet coke and a small glass of sparkling water. Pretty expensive. Went to pay and again service poor. Nobody seems to be around? Would do the Spa again but not too keen to try the food/drink/service. Shame really as lovely setting and great views. Done ratings on the massage not the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrowsemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear ‘Burrowsemma’

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your spa experience ast Fowey Hall but disappointed that the service was not up to our usual standards.

I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you in person in order that I can make amends for the poor experience that you had. Please give me a call at the hotel at your convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to talking with you.

With kind regards

Chris Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

After staying for a few nights at the wonderful Watergate Bay Hotel, our two nights at Fowey Hall were a big disappointment. The hotel staff, facilities and breakfast were poor for the price paid. Understaffed and under invested was the feeling. Free wifi was either non-existent or so patchy it was not worth the hassle. My sense is that standards overall must have slipped significantly over several years. I suggest the management stay at Watergate for a night to get a sense of customer expectations for these rates and for the quality they claim from Fowey Hall. Either that or reduce prices and promises. PS (to the hotel management) suggest you respond first to hand written and verbal feedback (complained twice about the lack of internet) before responding to TripAdvisor comments - we left comments and an email address.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank squorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear 'Squorkit'

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on trip advisor as well as completing one of our feedback forms following your recent stay with us. Once again please accept my apologies for the areas of the hotel and service that did not come up to standard.

I am glad that I have had an opportunity to discuss this with you in person and I hope you will take me up on my offer to come and stay with us again.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Fowey Hall.

Warm regards

Chris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
22.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Property: Fowey Hall
Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing