We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa treat.”
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spa treat.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Although not resident in the hotel-I'm fortunate to live locally-I was gifted a spa massage treatment. The facilities were very clean and welcoming, the staff friendly, informative and nothing was too much trouble. After my fantastic massage I was able to enjoy relaxing in the hot tub and a swim in the pool. A light lunch in the hotel's lounge completed a very enjoyable experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear 'CornwallLynn'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your spa treatment with us and made full use of the pool and hot tub area.

We hope you become a frequent visitor!

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    131
    36
    17
    5
See reviews for
292
230
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We spent three fantastic nights here. Finding a place which satisfies a parent's need for style and comfort, while welcoming the chaos caused by a 1 yr old and 3 yr old is tough. But this place gets it just right. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diplomatic_husband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear 'Diplomatic_husband'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with your family at Fowey Hall and found the mix of luxury with family friendly just right!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family and I have just returned from a 2 night stay in Fowey Hall, I have 2 boys age 9 and 6 who've had an amazing time from the zip wire, walking the hotels dog and playing rounders with a young guy (called dean) who works there, everyone was so friendly and helpful, the food was very good when the boys got bored of sitting at the table they would go to the movie room great idea! We could finish our wine and relax, we will be retuning very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe123625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear 'Zoe123625'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and the boys loved playing on the zip wire & outdoor games!

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Decided on a last minute break over the week-end of the 1st June, what with the English Summer eventually making an appearance. Stumbled onto the hotel through the Mr & Mrs Smith website, and where surprised to find how many of the kiddy friendly tick the box criteria we require from a hotel this one had to offer.
The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, but is also run with super efficiency. The staff are well trained, and nothing is too much trouble. The décor, which is nicely appointed, still gives the feeling of lived in comfort, and you don't feel you need to be telling the children off for putting their feet on the sofas - although I probably did just out of routine.
Booked an interconnection room (Rooms - James and Amelia) for our daughters aged 3.5 and 2.5. The rooms are lovely and big, come complete with tea and coffee facitlity - with biscuits, TV & DVD (a selection of which is available through the hotels DVD libaray), and lovely Elemis bath products - we especially liked the body lotion to smooth away sunburnt (sunburnt you say!) and swimming pool dried out skin.
The hotel also offers a creché for the kids (3 sessions a day), free of charge for 1 session a day. The girls at the Four Bears creché are lovely and very welcoming. They are also around during kiddies dining, which is between 5-6pm in the evening. The dining room is set up specifically for kids, with plastic tablecloths, cutlery and drinking glasses. They have an extensive children's menu with everything from sausages and mash to cheese sandwiches. Between 6- 7:30pm you have family dining, and after 7:30 it's ADULTS ONLY DINING time - yippee. A proper grown up meal again. The food in the restaurant is very good, and nicely presented. Opted to go for the DBB meal plan which works out at £30 per head for a three course meal - and well worth it. They also have an extensive wine list which they try to keep a bit more unusual those you see in all good pubs these days. Might also add that the Victoria Sponge cake at High Tea was as light as a feather.
Our two are a little bit too small to make the walk down to the beach from the hotel, so we opted for a 10 mintue drive to Polkerris beach instead. Nice beach, calm waters (although to cold to swim), and good facilities. The kids spent 2 hours building sand castles and we read a couple of chapters of our books. I might also add that having forgotten to pack in the bucket and speade, we were delighted to discover a huge selection of these available at the entrance to the hotel for guests to use.
The hotel also has an indoor heated pool, and an outdoor hot tub for the grownups. We managed an afternoon sunning on the hot tub deck whilst the little ones painted and glued at Four Bears.
All in all we were very happy and relaxed after our 3 days at the hotel - which is a rare thing when it comes to my husband and our children located in a hotel enviroment.
Will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear 'Kerry B'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and liked all the family friendly aspects.

We look forward to seeing you back at Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in interconnecting rooms (Sabina and Martha Applebe). Our 2 children had a large double room with plenty of space for a travel cot. Rails were already added to the bed and a nappy bin, steriliser and bottle warmer were provided. In our room there was also a fridge, so everything you need for a stay with a young baby. The decor wasn't my cup of tea. I prefer more elegant rooms but there certainly wasn't anything wrong with them. Everywhere was very clean. The facilities were excellent a pool, spa (didn't get chance to use it though), trampoline, zip line, games room, and crèche. My eldest loved the crèche, lots of activities even cooking. The hotel even has a dog you can take for walks.
Breakfast was a continental buffet and you can order a full English, porridge etc. The kids could have high tea between 5 and 6pm and there was lots of choice. After the first evening we realised the portions were large and our kids then shared a meal. We made use of the baby listening service one evening and enjoyed a kid free meal in the restaurant. The food was nice but the menu was pretty safe.
We'll be returning at some point.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor in the newer part of the main hotel have huge patio windows which give nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate5491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear 'kate5491'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with your family at Fowey Hall. Perhaps on your return visit you could stay in a room in the main house which might be more suited to your style and taste?

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great two days spent at Fowey Hall Hotel. The staff are brilliant, they really try to cater for you and your child's every need. To top off this family hotel has stunning views across the estuary and out to sea. A trek up the hill from the town - you need to be fit(ish)! You park up your car and don't need to get back in it until the day you leave. Food was great although expensive. We had a couple of niggles with our meal, child's crudities arrived late and child's pudding was served cold. When you have a pudding expert with you - the chef could not escape this fundamental error. The steak was amazing!

Room Tip: We had an apartment which was fab. Lots of space in the main building with two ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear 'VF'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Fowey Hall and found the staff to be friendly that's what we pride ourselves on! It was a shame you had a few niggles with the food but thank you for feeding this back. Without constructive feedback we cannot improve our offering.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
241 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Supposedly the inspiration for Graham's Toad Hall in the Wind in the Willows, Fowey Hall has rooms named for the Graham characters (we stayed in the Mr. Toad suite in the converted carriage house ... very nice contemporary rooms with thoughtfully-chosen original art), and makes discreet reference to this literary connection. In spite of its grand old world character, it is at pains to be kid- and family-friendly. Guests can wander throughout the grounds and many common rooms. We were there at peak camellia and rhododendron time, and it was knock-out. We arrived as drop-in guests without a reservation and found prices to be much more reasonable than we expected. Fowey Hall is a short walk up the hill from the also-charming town of Fowey.

Room Tip: Front of this former manor house faces the estuary, but all the rooms look out onto pleasant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoArtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear 'EcoArtTraveler'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and enjoyed the flowers in bloom in the garden.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Property: Fowey Hall
Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing