We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hall with a view”
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hall with a view”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed on a midweek autumn special 2 nights bb which included a 1 night candle light dinner. The bedroom and bathroom were lovely large rooms with a fantastic view across Fowey estuary the only downside is the room lacked a coffee table to rest your gin and tonic while admiring the view, staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome.
The hotel is child friendly but going as a couple is equally catered for with separate restaurants so we enjoyed our meals in a lovely oak panelled restaurant. The hotel is in a good situation for walking into Fowey but it is up a steep hill on your return. While we were there the hotel had a problem with the water but they kept customers informed with what was going on until the problem was resolved. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpindlesCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear 'SpindlesCotwolds'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall -we appreciate your feedback & I must apologise again for the lack of water - I was glad to see it didn't have too much of an impact on your stay!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall in the future

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    131
    36
    17
    5
See reviews for
292
231
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bodmin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Mum and are local and have visited fowey many many times over the years , but never visited the fowey hall hotel .
What a wonderful relaxing lunch, the moment we stepped through the door we were greeted by friendly staff this continued throughout our visit.
We had three courses all for less than fifteen pounds per head . The food was excellent from starter to desert with sea glimpses through the trees from the dining room .
If you want old fashioned hospitality excellent food in a relaxed friendly atmosphere not your usual run of the mill Sunday carvery then go.
We enjoyed it so much. Thank you fowey hall for restoring our faith in hotel Sunday lunch
.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traceybodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear 'traceybodmin'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at Fowey Hall and the experience restored your faith in hotel Sunday lunches!

We hope to welcome you back again soon - you may be interested in joining our Friends of Fowey Hall scheme - please contact me for further details.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Occupying a prime position above the Fowey Estuary, this quality hotel now appears to speciailse in 1`st class family holidays. Nevertheless there is an air of peace and calm prevailing, equally reflected in the staff Very well worth the initial reconnaisance

Room Tip: Ask about Sea Viewes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear 'WorcesterJames'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your refreshments at Fowey Hall - the view is certainly superb and we will hopefully have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a wonderful place the manager and staff are very helpful and without being condescending
We had two adjoining rooms Mary Ann and Kimberly I think they were spacious had patio doors out to the garden and what a lovely view of the estuary
We were there with parents (grand parents) and they were on the first floor again a great room with great views
We had dinner in the restaurant which was very relaxing and good food and breakfast was a good experience every thing was constantly being replenished and nothing was any trouble the staff were great
Brambles the dog was a delight and very well behaved and friendly if you like dogs and your dog wants a friend or you fancy walking with a four legged friend then Brambles will oblige
The pool area was lovely and clean had a good swim
We had asked that sandwiches could be available for family as they were having to fly back to London due to family matters at 4.40am just as they were leaving they were presented with their sandwiches and on their return awaiting in their bedroom was two cold platters and desert so thank you
This is a great place for families with young children and babies with plenty of toys and games and the den
There are however a couple of suggestions that would make this even more special
Going around the back way to enable wheelchair access brighten it up and make sure it is clean and presentable I do realise it is the back of the hotel but if disabled people use that way let them feel they are entering a wonderful place as well
You have a fair amount of land how about making use by having day kennels as more and more people are holidaying with their dogs and I know dogs are allowed in the rooms but sometimes guest want to go out where dogs are not allowed and dogs are very much part of the family being such a family orientated hotel sure you could do something
The true disabled need more thought getting in the dinning room the stand with the dinning information should not be in the way the back way should be presentable and the swimming pool should be accessible with hoist and changing room if possible with a swimming chair to get in the pool
Rooms should be plenty big enough to accommodate a wheelchair and hoist if required and a wet room bathroom
Disabled parking slot we have a side lift and found parking by the trees hard to get the lift out to get wheel chair in on a couple of occasions we returned to find some other guest had parked in a way in which two spaces rather than one and parking is a bit limited maybe and idea to keep a watch
I do feel that the disabled are part of the family and should be treated with as much respect
Where young children are concerned you go out of your way which is nice but a bit more attention and thought to the disabled and the kennels would make this one fantastic hotel
The other thing is the elemis items are great and love the way you make sure there is plenty and not the silly little size bottles that you sometimes get at other hotels

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms are great but ground floor seem bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear 'farrington1'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall with your family - I also wanted to thank you for your feedback which we will certainly take on board.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 2 year old have just returned from a 3 night break at the Fowey Hall Hotel. I was prepared to have a great time but it really did exceed all expectations.

The hotel is beautifully laid out; smart and luxurious without being pretentious. Set in a beautiful location with stunning sea views.

Our room (Martha Appleby) was fantastic! A large master bedroom with interconnecting room (equally large) and 2 beautiful bathrooms. Great elemis products too!!

The food was delicious, great brekfasts and dinners. The listening service was brilliant and it was so nice to enjoy some alone time while enjoying good food and wine.

It was our 4th wedding anniversary and we were presented with some complimentary fizzy which we enjoyed on the terrace before dinner. The service was impeccable. Chris and the team are amazing and go out of their way to ensure your stay is special. I was having some wifi problems and Chris helped me sort put the issues. Much appreciated.

Fowey hall offers the perfect balance of adult luxury and fun for the kids. It felt like a break for all of us. We had an amazing time and have booked to go back in December. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear 'lulu1980'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall with your family - it was a pleasure to look after you

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall in December.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived here on 6th Sept after four nights stay at sister hotel Moonfleet Manor in Dorset (see my review). I have stayed in this area in many different hotels between mid 1970's and last year as I had business with the china clay people (now retired). However not stayed here, nor had my wife ever visited Fowey. Its a lovely spot, and the location of this hotel superb. If you get fed up of the steep walk down into town, then the main town car park is nearby with a regular bus service.
Nice welcome and an excellent ground floor room with patio doors onto a grassy area (with goal posts, and swing ball) Staff were polite and attentive.
We did have some food issues, particularly at breakfast. Sunday was abominable - very slow, the fried egg solid (this happened on three of four days) , awful sausage full of gristle, and cold mushrooms. We would liked a bit more choice at dinner also, though the food served here was generally good.
There was plenty of provision for those with children.
Staff were generally polite and helpful, though sometimes with a slight condescending air

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear 'fsharpminor'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall however it seems there were a few issues which I firstly must apologise for and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you.

I would be grateful if you can contact me at the hotel at your convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you soon & hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at Fowey Hall between 5th and 8th September, in the William Hanson suite which has a duplex setup.

Fowey Hall set on hill in large well kept grounds with great views, above Fowey town.

Reception staff are very helpful, we where shown all facilities on arrival.

We used the Baby/Toddler listening service. Our little boy was able to sleep upstairs in the cot provided, while we we able to enjoy the excellent food and wine in the restaurant.

Breakfast was good, all very low key and staff again very helpful.

The rooms are clean and tidy, when booking we did ask for a fridge to be put in room, which was done without question.

There are toys for the little ones in all of the large snug rooms and also newspapers for the adults to read while the kids play.

There's also plenty of outdoor toys too.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimesMangosBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear 'LimesMangosBarbados'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall with your family and felt the staff to be helpful and low key .

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Property: Fowey Hall
Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing