We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical christmas stay”
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A magical christmas stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

How do I begin but to say this was the perfect choice to spend a family Christmas. We arrived mob handed with grandparents, brother, sister and my 3 children. The hotel's festive ambience, with roaring log fires, great service, great food and lots of amazing activities for the children made Christmas special. It is now our fourth visit to the hotel but our first experience during Christmas and we were very impressed. I keep saying this but the hotel has the correct balance, providing great children activities and support (making it so much more relaxing for parents/grandparents) combined with luxury, great service and food for the adults. You truly can relax whilst the children sleep (great baby/child monitoring system) or older children play/watch films and meet friends. During the festive period they had a visit from Santa Claus, a farm with reindeer and so much more. Christmas Day started with a champagne breakfast in the room, opening presents then getting ready for a leisurely and excellent Christmas lunch in the restaurants. It finished with a very tasty buffet in the evening. It all worked perfectly. Even the sun shined (despite UKs storms) on boxing day morning as we were given a walking tour around Fowey. If you have never been to Fowey its a must visit. It is so beautiful and some are the best views of the Estuary are from the hotel overlooking the Estuary. A big thankyou to Martin and Cherish managing the restaurant and all our culinary needs, to Emma and all the team in the Creche and of course Chris, Mel and Ben in the hotel management who organised our trip to perfection. We have already booked our summer holidays in August and really looking forward to it. The Ps

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the Estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear 'TheP's'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed another break with us over the Christmas period - it is always a pleasure to look after you and your family.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in August

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    131
    36
    17
    5
See reviews for
292
231
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had one night at Fowey Hall and wished it could have been longer. We arrived early - in the morning - and were welcomed by the manager and our room was ready within 5 minutes. The lounges are beautifully presented, warm and comfortable and our room was spacious, clean with a wonderful view. They are extremely family friendly and whilst catering for the needs of a variety of ages it is still a luxury break for couples as well. We ate in the restaurant, by candlelight - food excellent_ and throughout our entire stay we felt as if we were having a really special time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lymelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear 'lymelady'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your short break at Fowey Hall - hopefully you can visit another time for a little longer!

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Fowey Hall for one night between Christmas and New Year. We found it a lovely relaxing hotel. It is clearly designed for families, with good facilities (listening services, games room etc), but we were without children this time and with a couples hat on you wouldn't massively notice.

Dinner was good, with excellent local quality food and an extensive wine list. Local Cornish produce is available across the menu and even stretched to sparkling wine (excellent) and gin (didn't try that one).

The spa was good too, with both of us enjoying a massage before a dip in the outside hot tub overlooking Fowey - probably best experienced in summer rather than late December. Pool also a decent size, but more functional than luxurious.

Rooms (ours was a superior double) were good with an excellent bathroom (bath with separate shower). Large bed was very comfortable. Only downside was that room was a bit hot, which was remedied by opening the outside door in the middle of the night.

Breakfast was also very enjoyable, again with locally sourced produce.

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and next time we might even take the children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear 'jstatham'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and enjoyed sampling our locally sourced food and drinks which we pride ourselves on.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A lovely hotel set on the cliff looking down over Fowey. We upgraded to a bigger room and were in the new arm attached to the main house - the room was huge with a lovely big bathroom and a slight sea view. The hotel doesn't have a traditional bar, instead drinks are brought to you on request by one of the helpful staff - I can thoroughly recommend the hot chocolate on a winters afternoon! The spa facilities were great with a lovely hot tub overlooking the bay. The food was outstanding from both the ' a la carte' and more informal 'Mr Toad's Menu'. There is a great selection of papers, books, DVDs and boardgames to while away the hours as well as wellies and even a dog to borrow for long walks along the cliffs!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_melks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear 'a_melks'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your winter break at Fowey Hall and enjoyed the use of the spa facilities as well as the cosy lounges for that hot chocolate!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

we have just returned from a 4 night Christmas Break and words really cant describe how magical this hotel made our stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at ease and welcomed into this beautiful country style mansion. The first thing that hit me when we walked through the door was the warmth radiating from the log fire......just how you imagine a magical christmas to be.

We were taken straight to our room which was a family suite. The description on the website did not do it justice. It has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and the children were thrilled that they had their own room with tv and dvd!

The staff were brilliant. Although this is a luxury hotel, there is no stuffiness in the hotel at all, and all of the staff were friendly couldnt do enough for us and made a fuss of the children.

We didnt use the Den Childcare, but the hotel felt so safe that we were comfortable letting them play in the dedicated rooms without supervision. Becuase this is such a family orientated hotel they made lots of friends, which meant that on christmas afternoon they spent all day playing in the hotel with their new friends.

I could write a whole essay on how awesome our stay was, and i still wouldnt do it justice.

I cant recommend this hotel highly enough, and would love to know when the group are going to open a hotel in Southern Europe, as this is just the sort of hotel that i have been looking for for holidays abroad.

we will definitely be visiting again, and hope to spend many christmasses there in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear 'flowerbass'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Christmas break at Fowey Hall and found the hotel to be magical - we hope you especially enjoyed the visit from Santa & his reindeers!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again very soon and hopefully again at Christmas!

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed with two friends for two nights in December. What a fantastic stay we had. The hotel is gorgeous, with all the Christmas decorations up and huge log fires in the lounges it was sooooo restful and cosy. The staff were fantastic and what I liked was that they were totally professional but dressed casually, with Christmas Jumpers!! Nothing was too much trouble , anything that you needed was supplied upon request. The rooms were super comfy with the best quality linen and the mattress was so comfy, none of your radios wired into the wall....there was a Roberts DAB in each room.....quality !! My wife had a spa treatment which she said was first class. The pool was good although a little shallow for true swimming. As for the restaurant, well - perfection!! The food was varied and well presented and importantly delicious !!!! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fowey Hall and eagerly look forward to another stay in the not too distant future!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noddy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear 'noddy900'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and enjoyed the Christmas atmosphere and jumpers!!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again very soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

stayed here for 1 night, staff were amazing, i'm just repeating what everyone else has said about them but its a rare find and they really do deserve all this praise and credit. Building itself is beautiful but the attention to detail and the furnishings etc all quality stuff. We took our dog and theyre very family/dog friendly, they even put a bowl in our room with some biscuits in. the room was really big, beds are so comfy and huge, our room was in the stables block but it was lovley didnt miss not being in the main bit of the hotel at all its was really nice and quiet. In the main building there are loads of lounges etc and comfy places to sit and read. They had 2 open fires both going - just lovley you didnt want to move. They have a library and tons of magazines so perfect to just sit and read. Some people came in a had a cream tea which looked lovley, had i not just had one of their scrummy sandwiches I would have definately been tempted. Breakfast was wonderful so much choice , speedy, smiley service. Evening meal was great and really good value for money. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to all families, couples and dog lovers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear 'jack w'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and found the food, service and staff were all fantastic!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again very soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Property: Fowey Hall
Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing