We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fowey Hall
Nearby Hotels
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Inn(Lostwithiel)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Polperro)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
505
161
48
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
161
48
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip wirefamily hotelhot tubkids clubthe baby listening servicespa treatmentsthe main hotelcinema roomoutdoor jacuzziluxury hotelbuckets and spadesafternoon teagrown upsyoung familiesschool holidaysthree childrenfamily break
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My family had a marvellous time here at Fowey Hall, food was excellent, with plenty of choice to cater for most palettes including fussy children. Rooms were spacious and had their own characters, soulless, mundane these are not. On the service side, nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff, from manager to reception, restaurant and even the cleaners, all offered to help carry bags or just interact and make the day brighter! This is a hotel for everyone, plenty of space for those that wish to avoid children, along with spa facilities and a pool complex which is well maintained. For children, even when the weather will probably keep you inside, there's an abundance of spaces to play and roam, and giant beanbags for watching a film when a less frenetic pace is required. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyp444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear 'mikeyp444'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your short break at Fowey Hall - and found all the staff to be friendly and 'nothing too much trouble'!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Lovely two night stay at the Fowey Hall.

It is nice to stay in a hotel with its own personality and charm rather than a soulless chain. It had a homely feel whilst still retaining an element of grandeur. The lounge areas were comfortable and cosy but there was sufficient space for guests to lounge without the feeling that one had to make polite conversation with complete strangers.

We actually rather liked the fact that there was no bar and that you could order a drink from any member of staff who happened to be around (and there was always someone on hand to take your order) and enjoy it in which ever room or lounge you fancied.
All staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and clearly worked as a team.

The bedroom was large enough to accommodate us with two children and was nicely furnished with an eclectic mix of old and contemporary furniture, fixtures and fittings.

I can't believe someone complained that you use refillable dispensers in the bathrooms - The products were lovely and it makes no earthly sense to provide pointless individual mini bottles of shampoo etc - Unless you are catering for the kind of sad individuals who like to collect them as souvenirs!

The highlight for us was the food served in the evenings. Superb quality and good choice. Our compliments to the chef who clearly has imagination and high standards.

Good facilities for children and Brambles the dog was a real hit with our boys.

There was some confusion with the bill concerning the number of courses we were charged for but this was quickly remedied - The hotel does not have an entirely electronic system it seems and this can cause confusion. It didn't help that our party of 10 were split across 4 rooms and the staff were often unsure which room to charge drinks/meals etc to. Any issues in this regard were dealt with reasonably and without fuss by the receptionist when we checked out.

We feel we got good value for money on the Winter Getaway deal and would certainly stay again.

Ps Sorry we took the key home - It is now in the post!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear 'HectorBart'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you and your party enjoyed your short break at Fowey Hall and in particular the evening dinners - I will be sure to tell the chef!
Apologies for the confusion on departure with the bill we are getting our electronic system in April so should make things a lot easier! The key has now been safely received thanks for returning this to us so quickly!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent our weekend here. There isn't a lot surrounding the hotel apart from the small town of shops. The hotel is stunning from the inside and outside. Our room was in an outside building from the main hotel. We did not mind this as it was nice and quiet although we would have preferred to have been in the main part of the hotel so we did not get soaked walking to and from the room to dinner and breakfast. The meals were fantastic even though we had the wrong drinks brought to us (which we did not send back as they were very busy). Log fires in the lounges were lovely. But we were so disappointed with the spa/pool area. We were both looking forward to a relaxing afternoon here but after taking one look at it we thought it was barely worth it, the jacuzzi wasn't working/ or on which was a great shame. The pool was full of very noisy children jumping in and the beanbags at the side of the pool to relax on were not very comfortable, most of them soaking wet anyway. So our relaxing afternoon wasn't very relaxing. We understand that children are allowed in the pool during the time we went but without access to the outdoor jacuzzi it really limited what we could do as a couple. Lastly when we checked out other items had been added to our bill such as prosecco and other drinks which we were not very happy about (when we hadn't had them). This could be a fantastic hotel and we could see it catering for both families and couples, but perhaps more needs to be available for couples too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear 'Daniella R'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor, I am disappointed to read that you experienced some issues during your stay with us, please accept my apologies for this. We do welcome children here with open arms but we do also try to ensure we have the right balance for parents wanting to enjoy some 'me time' or for adults travelling without children. Thank you for your comments which we will certainly take on board .

I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you in person regarding your experience -please give me a call at the hotel at your convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to talking with you.

With kind regards
Chris Williams (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent two nights on a special deal here at the end of January.We had a superior room overlooking the estuary.The room was spacious and the bathroom modern. The evening meal was excellent,the breakfast was very good.One small problem was the lack of good light for shaving in the bathroom and in the bedroom.However,apart from this minor problem,the hotel
was first class,and with our special deal package was excellent.The bed was superb.

Room Tip: The newer bedrooms are first class.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear 'DennisCardiff'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your short break at Fowey Hall - thank you for letting us know about the lighting issue -we will do our best to resolve this matter for other guests coming to stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Fowey Hall is terrific and just what we needed. We booked at the last minute and thoughtfully the team reserved two interconnecting rooms overlooking the estuary for us and our twin boys, and we were welcomed warmly, each member of staff introduced themselves and our bags were carried to the rooms after a tour.

The team and atmosphere are very professional and there's something for everyone here. Then we met the final team member - Bramble. She's a 'Sprocker', a cross between a cocker and springer spaniel, and even though my wife and I are not particular fans of dogs, she is a very friendly and much loved hound that our boys loved. Guests can borrow her and she knows her way around Fowey, so there's little need for a map!

Even though we encountered rain, fog, 'mizzle' - fog and drizzle, brief sunshine and finally a howling wind, the building is really wonderful with cosy sofas, log fires, attentive staff, newspapers (and plenty of them) and a relaxing place to be. The food is fabulous and offers many a locally inspired dish and the wine list I loved.

If we hadn't gone, the alternative would have been watching the children re-arrange our home, so it was a perfect out of season choice that ticked all the boxes.

Thank you to the team for making us so welcome, and we will hopefully return in April.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms named Broad and Welsh in the top of the building - great views and cosy!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear 'Jonathan M'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your January break in the rain at Fowey Hall and glad you still managed to have fun despite the weather's best attempt to dampen your spirits!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again in April

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews