We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'Old Lady' of Fowey has a wonderful charm”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The 'Old Lady' of Fowey has a wonderful charm”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We held our small wedding here at The Fowey Hotel and we couldn't have asked for more. The attention to detail and the attentiveness of staff was excellent which ensured we and our guests enjoyed our wonderful day.
A special thank you to Tristan and Jason.

There are not many places left where you experience old fashioned courteousness. They seem to have the level just right there if needed, but not intrusive.

The food is excellent at the hotel and in all the times we have stayed here, we have never been disappointed.
All the public areas have superb views over the Fowey river and the restaurant is a very impressive room with some original features. We have stayed in several of the rooms and all have been clean and traditionally furnished. It is worth paying the extra for a sea view room.
This is not a modern swish boutique hotel, it is a Victorian hotel with verandas and tea gardens which overlook the river and out to sea. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Fowey Hotel as the 'Old Lady' is full of warmth and charm.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cozyblanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    356
    90
    28
    21
See reviews for
151
989
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend away at the Fowey hotel.

The customer service was second to none and the food was on a par with our recent trip to the Chewton Glen hotel in the New Forest.

We would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel and I'm sure will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Enjoyed a 2 night DBB break midweek which was a "special offer" but still felt it was expensive for the standard of the room etc.

Position and views can't be faulted, but £10 car park charge is pricey but essential for us. On arrival our pre booked space was occupied by someone staying nearby!

We stayed in a double room with seaview which had a dated appearance throughout. It was clean and tidy and did feature a spar type bath and overbath shower with great water pressure. The TV had freeview but was an old cheap dated model. Boasting 4 stars, surely a modern widescreen TV would be more appropriate.

Bed was small and not especially comfortable. No sign of Egyptian cotton sheets/mattress topper etc which is expected at this price.

The dinning room was a bit formal for our tastes, but the food was good and well presented.

The Hotel was ok, but I felt that it fell short of expectations based on price and 4*aspirations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biggeordie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our double aspect room was delightful with beautiful views of the river. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were charming and very welcoming. The food was excellent. Being able to park the car just outside was a bonus. Fowey is an interesting place with good shops and restaurants. The walk to Ready Money beach is a must.

Room Tip: A river view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a lovely old hotel this is. We had rooms on the second floor overlooking the harbour one of our rooms had a 4 poster bed. The hotel is old but full of character and I think this has to be taken into consideration when staying there. The staff were all friendly and although we didn't eat there in the evenings the breaksfasts were great. There is parking outside the hotel if reserved when booking and the town is easily reached on foot. Excellent stay and the whole of Fowey and surrounds is extremely relaxing. Views from the hotel are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricialel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Fowey Hotel is in the most beautiful position with breathtaking views from the seafront facing rooms and the bar, restaurant and reception rooms. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, both at reception and in the dining room at breakfast. The decor of the room was fresh. In addition to the usual teas, there was a small cafeteriere and fresh coffee available. The bathroom in our room - 106 - had been re-modelled and was modern with an excellent shower. Unfortunately the bed, pillows and bedcovers (with some stains) were very tired. One would expect a 4* hotel in the 21st century to have new beds, fresh duvets and pillows and crisp white linens. And yes, though charming, the drawing rooms need re-furbishing. Fowey itself is absolutely delightful and the hotel is in a quiet position just a few minute walk from the centre. We had an enjoyable stay, but considering what the hotel charges, then at the very least, the beds and bedding must be lifted above boarding house standards.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is far too expensive for its tired and shabby offer. Whilst the location is excellent all other aspects of our stay were marked by unprofessionalism and a lack of attention to detail. The shower leaked (and was so small my husband could not bend down to retrieve the dropped soap), the television was not tuned in properly, the wifi doesn't extend to bedrooms, cheap bread at breakfast... I could go on. This is all acceptable in a B&B, we don't expect perfection. But this tiny room was £200 per night. Apart from the price, the Fowey Hotel seems to be unchanged since the 1950's - and I don't think some of the windows have been cleaned since then.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Pamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing