We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November weekend break”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“November weekend break”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed recently for three nights over a weekend,We had excellent views over the estuary and out to sea from our room,Our room was also very nice with a four poster bed and a good en-suite bathroom.We had two dinners at the hotel which were first rate with good quality food and good sized portions,the Cream Brulee with Clotted cream desert was exceptional,The three breakfasts were also very good and cooked freshly and served piping hot.The hotel bar offers good views.We found all staff to be professional,friendly and helpful.
I look forward to a return visit

Room Tip: Get a Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear BrummieGary

Thank you for your review of The Fowey. I am delighted to hear that your three night stay with us met your expectations in every way.

The staff at The Fowey are very appreciative of your comments. To hear that we are delivering great customer service is the aim of the Richardson Group of Hotels.

Thank you again on behalf of myself and the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    348
    88
    28
    21
See reviews for
150
970
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

as i said great views from some of the rooms and all the main rooms bar lounge restaurant great food good service very comfy rooms best to book your car into there car park and leave it there close to town and ferry service lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Karen 668

Thank you for your kind review of The Fowey. You are absolutely correct the views from our Hotel are some of the most beautiful in Cornwall !

If guests book a parking space in our Premier and Premier Plus Sea View Rooms a parking space is guaranteed. It is indeed a very easy walk into the lovely little town of Fowey. The shops at Christmas time are a delight.

On behalf of the staff and myself, thank you again for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here last weekend and the hotel was fabulous, with views to die for over the river Fowey, Staff very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent, the room was lovely. It easy walk to the town centre through the hotel grounds. I would recommend you book your parking with the hotel when booking your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Warren T

Thank you telling us how you enjoyed your weekend. Chef is delighted that you found his menus were delicious. As one of the Country's few Master Chef's, Mark delights in delivering fabulous food which compliments the great service and friendly atmosphere of The Fowey.

On behalf of myself and the staff, thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the very near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was the second time I've stayed here. It is the most fabulous relaxing hotel with views to die for. The staff are happy,friendly and most helpful. I have never encountered any problem there whatsoever. I almost hesitate to rate it so highly as I don't think I want everyone to know it exits but that would be very mean!
The hotel is comfortable and the food excellent.
Would highly recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Jude 036

Thank you so much for your very kind review - we like you would love to keep The Fowey to ourselves, unfortunately the secret is out ! everyone is visiting us and giving glowing reviews for the wonderful Fowey Hotel. Great service and always with a genuine smile. Please do come back and visit us soon.

Thank you again on behalf of the staff and myself for taking the time to review The Fowey Hotel.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had a splendid 2 day break in this comfortable Hotel. Smart casual not too posh. The food is excellent,English with local fish. The staff are all smiling and attentive but not intrusive, perfect. Fantastic views from the sea side rooms and within walking distance of the town center. There is an original lift with sliding doors complete with brass fittings.
Di

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drkjbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Drkbk

You have summed us up in one! Great Sea and Estuary views, considerate customer service, always with a smile.

We are delighted that you took the time to write a review of The Fowey Hotel it is a pleasure to hear from a guest that we are exceeding expectations.

Thank you again from the staff and myself, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerphilly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing break at The Fowey Hotel.We found all the staff very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them.All aspects of the hotel from when we first entered the reception, to our bedroom ,to the dining room were or the highest standerd.The only comment i can make concerning the food is Exellent really top quality food.The only down side of our stay is the enterance by car to the carpark,The road is of a very poor standerd.I feel the hotel sign at the road enterance leading to the hotel reception and carpark needs to be made bigger.Would i return to the FOWEY HOTEL a very big YES.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, the view are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john129caerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear John129

Thank you for your kind review of The Fowey. We are so delighted to you are planning a return visit.

You will be pleased to hear that our car park is in the process of being refurbished. The driveway to the Hotel is also having work to improve the surface dressing. The new directional signs for the Hotel are part of the refurbishment program that we are currently completing. We are sure that the result will make you future visit a perfect experience.

Thank you again from the staff and myself, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in November and were treated in the good old fashioned way - nothing too much trouble, food quality at breakfast was wonderful and the staff were so pleasant it was like going back in time
Great view over the estuary
Would love to stay again
Paul, Wendy, Lucy and Daniel from Nottingham

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paullh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Paul, Wendy, Lucy and Daniel

Thank you all for your kind review of The Fowey. We pride ourselves in our old fashioned charm mixed of course with a spot of modern technology!

I am so glad that you loved our views of the Estuary and the sea beyond. All the staff at The Fowey thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to see us in the near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
639 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing