We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our first stay at the Fowey Hotel. We read reviews that suggested you ask about any special offers when booking. We were offered to add dinner to our B&B rate for a small amount, this turned out to be an excellent decision. The food is wonderful. On our final day the breakfast menu changed with some lovely ideas - local thick natural yoghurt with fresh sauces - mango/strawberry/honey.
We stayed in a lower ground floor and enjoyed the view through the patio doors. Unfortunately the cement outside the doors was broken but apparently the woodden verandah already outside some doors is to be extended soon.
The staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always there with a smile and willing to help. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for river view. If you are going to Fowey you want to look at that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear forgedweller,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

It's fantastic to read you had such a lovely stay and to be one of the first to experience our new offerings over breakfast. It is a new group wide innovation we felt we had to achieve in order to further enhance the experience. We aim to offer good value as well as an emphasis on local product ranges. Our customers love good food, so our aim is always to surpass what we can do. New ideas are always on the horizon for us and any further feedback is always welcomed.

Apologies for the debris outside of your room during your stay. I will be sure to pass this on to both the maintenance and housekeeping team.

I will be sure to pass on all of your lovely feedback to the team for them all to gloat.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance with a future visit to Fowey.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    348
    89
    28
    21
See reviews for
150
973
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at the Fowey Hotel on numerous occasions at this is our first visit since it has undergone refurbishment and what appears the be several staff changes.

Although the hotel is much brighter in terms of it's décor; it almost seems to have lost a little of it's charm.

The service was good - if not excellent - we had a bottle of wine in our room on our first evening at the wine cooler was left in the room full of melted ice until we left. The food was good - again if not excellent - I had pork for dinner one evening which was over done.

This really is a great Hotel with views to equal literally anywhere in the world and with a little extra focus could, once again, be truly outstanding.

Room Tip: The bedrooms on the lower ground floor have access to a balcony with their own chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear matthewbeard,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

Please allow me this opportunity to apologise for the minor issues you experienced during your stay at hotel. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of the hotel, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Whilst we have made changes to personnel and the décor, we are always aiming to put our best foot forward for all of our customers. The décor changes, we feel, were a must. The spectacular views we have on offer were slightly dampened by the dark, prominent colour scheme throughout the lounges and restaurant. Whilst everyone's tastes remain individual, we chose neutral colour schemes so as to try and please all of our loyal and new customers alike. On the whole the feedback has been excellent.

I would be more than happy for you to contact me directly for any further feedback regarding your stay, I would appreciate the opportunity to get it just so for you on your next visit. My telephone number is 01726 832551 alternatively my email address is gm.fowey@richardsonhotels.co.uk.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance with a future visit to Fowey.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We love Fowey and decided to book two nights at the Fowey Hotel as part of a week's holiday in Cornwall. The location is amazing with wonderful views across the river and the room was large and comfortable. Hotel service was exceptional and the people very friendly. It was clear they aim to deliver great service. Breakfast was excellent with a fine choice of ingredients to start the day. We spent an entire afternoon in one of the beautiful drawing rooms enjoying a lovely lunch and taking in the views across the Fowey estuary largely because we really didn't want to move! If we hadn't already booked somewhere else for the following day, we would have extended our stay. We loved it!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the river if you can. The views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Syd Y,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

Its lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay, you seem to have got the best out of the hotel and what we have to offer. The team is dedicated to making sure each and every customer receives balanced and thoughtful service.

Your feedback is truly flattering, I will be sure to pass on all of your kind comments to the team.

Please do feel free to get in touch with me if I can be of any assistance with a future visit to Fowey.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Mid May. Family reunion; we came from Vancouver. Assorted ages and assorted preferences and likes and dislikes. We had a great 3 day stay. Hotel is very well situated, slightly away from the crowds and near to some good walks. It had everything we needed. Staff are friendly, accommodating and unfailingly helpful. Food was good and dining room view perfect. Relaxed atmosphere where we all felt very comfortable being ourselves (cannot stand stuffy hotels). If you want to relax, this is the place to go. Kay and Tim

Room Tip: there are great views available. It's not a noisy place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay123472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Kay & Tim,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

Your review is very flattering indeed, so lovely to read that you were able to here and just relax, which is what a break should be all about.

I will be sure to pass on your great feedback to the team.

Please do let me know if you would any assistance with a future visit to Fowey.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our third visit to this wonderful hotel and we will certainly be visiting again.
If you are looking for excellent all-round service, wonderful food from a talented Chef ( yes the supplements for some dishes can be annoying ) plus unrivalled views this is the Hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear marcon30,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

Thank you for visiting the hotel again, its great to read that you have returned to us so often.
We would love to have you again, I'd be more than happy to assist you with any future visits.

I do appreciate where you are coming from regarding the supplements. As a hotel we absorb as many costs as we possibly can. The chef, as you say is very talented, he is given freedom to source all of his produce, unfortunately the quality that comes into does carry further costs. We work hard with all of our suppliers to make sure all of our customers receive the best value we can possibly give.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We returned to the Fowey Hotel after our Ruby wedding to celebrate our Golden wedding, but this time hosting a private dinner. As always the staff and the service were absolutely first class.
The ambience for our special evening in the drawing room on the front of the hotel, was wonderful. The food was enjoyed by everyone and the service was discreetly efficient.

As for the Hotel itself ; its position overlooking the river is outstanding and the river view rooms are the best ,but if you can't get one, the lounge, bar and restraurant all have the same view.
One very small criticism, the drive and car park could do with re surfacing

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - the extra cost is worth it. Book a parking space to save having to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Ian D,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

It was a pleasure to host your golden wedding anniversary, thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to make your special celebration a success.

I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to the team.

Please do let me know if we can be of any assistance with a future visit to Fowey.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had a rather disappointing stay here. Had booked the Premier Plus room for our Silver wedding anniversary which the blurb states is their "honeymoon suite" but we were allocated another room which was in need of refurbishment but advised this was still a Premier plus room. For example the vinyl flooring around the pedestal of the toilet had all peeled away and the arms of the chairs in the room were threadbare and disguised with arm covers. Stayed on a Dinner B&B basis. We were annoyed with all the extra supplements on the dinner menu, which is most of it basically, and the drinks are more expensive than other comparable hotels. The service from the staff was variable, some were good, others could do with some extra training. One particular waiter acted in an over the top manner which was amusing but obviously wasn't meant to be. On the plus side our room had the most stunning view of Fowey.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank angela186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear angela186370,

Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel.

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you may have read from our other reviews this is not our normal standard at The Fowey Hotel. Please do accept my sincere apologies.

I can assure you that we are working hard on the standard of our rooms year round, we always endeavour to make sure all rooms are of the expected standard for all of our guests.

I am concerned with your comments regarding our menu in the restaurant. We offer a Table d'hôte menu as well as an A la Carte menu. We make sure that each dish is marked clearly for all guests to be able to identify the difference between each dish. As a standard we offer three choices on each course that do not carry a supplement, this is quite routine for hotels to offer this amount on a Table d'hôte menu. The remaining six dishes per course are part of our A la carte menu for guests wishing to widen their variety of choice. We have worked hard on making sure all of our prices are fair. All of our produce is seasonal as well as local. the reason we have put all dishes on our menu is so that we do not isolate choice but more importantly not overbear you with lots of different menus.

Whilst I feel that are menus are of the right format, I do not feel it is right that you didn't get the room you expected. I would be more than happy to discuss this further with you to see if we could come to a local arrangement as a good will gesture.

My email address is gm.fowey@richardsonhotels.co.uk or my telephone number is 01726 832551. I would be more than happy to discuss any of the above with you.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the shortfall in your customer experience with us.

Please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

I look forward to hearing form you.

Kind regards,

Chris Bailey-Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
641 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
836 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing