We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£150
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£152
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£124
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,962)
Filter reviews
1,963 results
Traveller rating
1,230
495
150
53
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,230
495
150
53
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car parking space complimentary gin and sherry old fashioned lift sea view lovely hotel fowey harbour dining room per night short break superb views cream tea lovely break public areas nothing is too much trouble scones excellent food cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,963 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed here from Xmas eve for 3 nights and what an experience. The room overlooking the sea/estuary was exceptional but the staff made our trip, they were fab!

All our meals were great, my wife is a vegetarian, she felt the same and again the service by the kitchen, service and bar staff was great! If you needed anything they’d do their best and always with a smile!

The Christmas package was expensive, but given how hard the staff work and the quality of everything in the hotel, it was money well spent.

The weather wasn’t the best, but it was still great to head out for a walk, visit the local pubs and then head back to the hotel room to watch the tide crash against the rocks below!

We’d visited the Harbour Hotel Padstow in the summer and were impressed, which is why we decided to try Fowey and wow what a treat.

Thanks everyone at the Harbour Hotel Fowey, we hope to return soon!

Room tip: Book parking as there’s not much available
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank malaki05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear malaki05,

Many thanks for your lovely review, it was great to see how much you both enjoyed your time with us over Christmas. It really is heart-warming to read how well our team looked after you, this is important all the time but especially so at Christmas. I am pleased too that you enjoyed the food, we did have some lovely menus for the festivities and I am glad you both enjoyed what we produced.

Fowey is a delightful town and does look very pretty this time of year, it was good you were able to venture out and explore.

Now you have been to two of our hotels you can continue exploring the others in the group - but do still come back to see us too!

Thank you again.

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

A poorly managed 2 star hotel. Dining room roof in need of repairs. Partly closed off in a hurry. Prebooked window table unavailable. Bar area without furniture. Very dirty carpet in room 109. Smelly rooms and stairs.
Service charges added on everything. Undrinking local
" champaign" presented on New Years Eve. We could not get away quick enough.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Morris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear morrisd297,

Many thanks for your review and I am sorry our New Year's Eve party did not meet your expectations. I have been back to my events team and they do not have a record of you requesting a window table. However the one we did allocate you in the re-organised restaurant was by the window doors so you did have a view of the Polruan lights. I accept this was a round table so two of you did have your back half turned to the view but it is still a great position.

We did have a maintenance issue which meant we were unable to use our function room at very short notice so my team did an amazing job to reconfigure everything. Unfortunately this did mean we lost our bar space for the evening but everyone had a table which they could keep for the evening and we still had a dance floor too. The Camel Valley brut we served as an arrival drink has won many awards over the years and is an exceptionally good fizz. From the wines you ordered with dinner I can see that your expectations may be higher but for an event like this and at this price point we would never be serving a Grand Marque champagne. Like many hotels and restaurants now we do add a discretionary gratuity to our food and beverage items when they are served, this is always discretionary and is distributed fairly across the whole team and separately to the hotel business.

I am sorry about the carpet in your room, we have had this cleaned and have booked a return visit, sadly teas and coffees do make for some tricky marks to remove. If we are not able to clean these then we will of course be replacing the carpet. Sometimes the tides in the estuary play havoc with the local drainage system and do push some unpleasant smells back up through the system, while this is a historical problem for Fowey we do have some new ideas to try which we hope will prevent this in future.

My best wishes for a very happy new year.

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

Fabulous stay .
Friendly staff perfect location amazing views & walks ,dog friendly.
Room superb , big extremely clean and comfy loved the complementary gin .
Breakfast 10/10 gluten free flap jack so yummy .
Evening meal and drinks amazing .
Highly recommend.

Room tip: Walking shoes if you like to adventure out
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Venture07356258300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Marymay,

Many thanks for your fabulous 5 star review following your stay with us for Christmas, it was wonderful to see just how good a time you had with us. I will happily pass on your thanks to the team, both front of house and behind the scenes.

I am glad you appreciated the gluten free flapjack as well as the rest of the menus we prepared, it is important to get this right isn't it. Thank you for such lovely comments on your room too, I am pleased you were comfortable during your stay.

Do please come and see us again when you have the opportunity.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Lovely hotel experience and would recommend to anyone. Christmas week, two of us plus dog with our Son and his Girlfriend....no shopping, cooking or clearing up; great room, fabulous location and delicious food. What's not to like. Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, Management were clearly top notch and everything couldn't have been nicer except the weather! If the hotel had a small lounge/reading room then icing would have been on the cake but couldn't rate this happy experience more highly.

Room tip: Get a nice room
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hayden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Hayden H,

Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review following your stay with us for Christmas, it was lovely to see you all had such a great time here in Fowey, it was a pleasure chatting with you during the break. I will gladly pass on your thanks to everyone.

We do have some plans for improving the lounge space but these are in their early stages so I can't guarantee we'll have this resolved by the next time you come and stay but we will see what we can do about the weather!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you here again when you have the opportunity.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Just back from a great Christmas three day break, totally relaxed and supremely happy with the whole experience. Courtesy call a couple of days before our stay to confirm details, meal bookings, answer any questions, etc. Arrival and check in seamless, smooth and friendly. Room comfortable (actually a really lovely room), clean, well appointed and decorated. Really lovely touch of Christmas card and a Christmas present in the room, oh yeah and a much appreciated generous shot of gin each. Christmas Eve afternoon tea, well organised, great selection of sandwiches, cake etc, everything taken care of by friendly, professional, attentative staff. Evening meal awesome, fresh, well presented (sole and duck). Christmas Day, well organised, plenty of food, tasty and again such great waiting staff. Boxing Day ditto. All the staff, despite being so busy, alot of people all with differing needs, they were friendly, polite, attentative and helpful throughout. Harbour Hotel management, I imagine that you treat your staff well and this certainly shows with the motivatiation displayed. This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and like before, I know I'll be back again.
Massive thanks to all staff who gave up Christmas with their families so we could enjoy ours.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BaldBrother1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Trek57883606293,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review, I was really pleased to see how much you enjoyed your Christmas break, it is great you have been able to return home so refreshed and ready for 2024.

I will happily pass your thanks on to our team, they all did do a great job, as you say from the people who did all the admin before you arrived to the team on the floor, both serving and behind the scenes. All of the different menus we served did look good, I am glad you enjoyed them.

I am pleased you liked your room too and the little gift we put in for you.

Thank you for coming to stay again and we do look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews