We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£150
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£152
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£124
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hugh L
Bugle, United Kingdom
Perfect Birthday Lunch
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2024
What a perfect setting for a hotel and bar/restaurant.

The biggest challenge was 'Parking', as anyone who knows Fowey will fully understand! The hotel parking bays were all fully booked with names of guests and as we were only in for lunch, we didn't have a space. The lovely Hannah at reception came to the rescue and put me in a bay where the guests were arriving later that day.

The restaurant has the best views over the river and out to sea.

We both had the lunchtime 2 course menu for £16.95 per head, which I thought was very good value for money.

I had the best mussels ever (cooked in Cornish cider and creme fraishe) followed by the Flat Iron Steak (with a pepper sauce and chips) ... Delicious!

We were looked after by Mandy, who was supper friendly and attentive - Thank you.
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£170
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £297
  • Expedia.com
    £297
  • Priceline
    £170
0.1 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£188
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £188
0.3 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£140
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £140
0.3 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Fowey Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Fowey
Reviews (1,963)
Filter reviews
1,963 results
Traveller rating
1,230
495
150
53
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,230
495
150
53
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car parking space complimentary gin and sherry old fashioned lift sea view lovely hotel fowey harbour dining room per night short break superb views cream tea lovely break public areas nothing is too much trouble scones excellent food cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,963 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Booked the afternoon tea offer of £40 for our Valentine’s Day…
I’ll start with the positives…
Really friendly staff,
Piping hot coffee, and treats for our dog who we took with us

We left feeling like it wasn’t that special a treat we had been expecting unfortunately…

We were sat at a reserved table by the window in the bar area as we had our dog with us..
We were shown to this by the lady on reception
As we had then been sat 10 minutes I thought I’d best let the waitress know as I don’t think she realised we had arrived..
was offered a comfier chair swap as my husband has a bad back right now which we decided against but was appreciated…
I sat next to the old door as a draft doesn’t bother me but may bother others…
The view was through lots of scaffolding, again didn’t bother us but if you’re there for a long stay might not be so great…
The actual afternoon tea looked a lot less ‘dainty’ than in the photo on the website..

There’s something quite cute about finger sandwiches, never do this at home but came in chunky triangles with crust which I would do at home…
Was looking forward to the little macarons and mini pots of dessert too as it showed, but we didn’t get these..
There was lemon drizzle and carrot cake which were nice but I think it was a brownie which wasn’t great, all a bit heavy and like biting into play dough…my friend went the next day and had light eclairs in her selection…

Offered more coffee which was a lovely touch, great hot coffee by the way with hot milk!
We ordered two gin and tonics afterwards, then realised the table was actually quite crowded..
With our empty cups and saucers, empty tonic bottles and an empty afternoon tea stand, so I did have to ask for the table to be cleared at this point.
The bit I was embarrassed about was when the bill came,
We had been over charged £10 for the afternoon tea! Which then increased the service charge!
I checked their website before questioning this and had to go to the till point and mention. The server apologised and sent a reprint.. which thankfully lowered the service charge…
The bit that made my mind up not to try this hotel again was when a male server brought the reprinted bill and said…
‘Sorry again about the small cockup there’
1) an over charge of £10 is not small
2) don’t appreciate the word ‘cockup’ doesn’t seem very appropriate

So a long winded review, some great, some good and some not so good…
We paid the service charge as the staff were really friendly, but service really needs looking at in certain areas

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DBR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear DBR66,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review following your visit for Afternoon tea on Valentines Day, I am so sorry we did not deliver the proper service and experience you were expecting.

We do use the tables in the bar for our guests who are bringing their dogs and as you saw we do our best to look after these visitors too. The scaffolding is very temporary and should be removed by the end of the month, if not early March.

Our pictures on the website are an example of the differing types of tea we offer during the year, unfortunately we are not able to change these pictures easily, the one on the page with the sample menus is more akin to our current offering. We do tweak the content from time to time which is why your friend had the eclairs later in the week.

My apologies for the error with the billing, there are some learning points here for us on not expecting people to say they have booked on the two for £40 offer for us to apply this. We are now making this available to everyone who books for afternoon tea while the offer is available.

I have spoken with the team about the language they use and the person concerned has asked me to send their apologies, he recognises that he misjudged his response and will be more mindful.

Do please come and try us again, I am sure you will see how we have developed and improved.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

Can’t fault this place. Fabulous location, lovely room with a sea view. Great service and food. Breakfast options were great and the gin in the room was a nice touch. They even deliver fresh milk to your room for tea making. Bed super comfortable. Looking forward to when we can’t visit again.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Dear Jane P,

Many thanks for your kind review, it was lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay in Fowey. I was really pleased the service lived up to your expectations and that everyone went out of their way to look after you. Thank you too for the positive comments on the breakfast and dinner.

We do look forward to seeing you again when you can next escape.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager
01726832551, fowey@harbourhotels.co.uk harbourhotels.co.uk/fowey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Positives are many. Arrived and checkin was quick. The room was excellent beautiful river view from dual aspect windows. Bed and room large and very comfortable with modern decor and comfy pillows and egyptian cotton bedding. Breakfast very good cooked to guests specifications. Few observations now regarding other things:- although the complimentary gin was very good have to comment on the price of other things as being very expensive I.e. glass of red wine £10 inc vat. Mini bar small items like nuts,crisps, chocolate costly average £3.50/2.50 so be aware it can inflate the cost of your stay as can paying to reserve a car parking space £12.50 and the £30 card charge taking on arrival for any extras you incur. So finally lovely place beautiful views great staff great sleep but watch out for extra costs especially alcoholic drinks.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear SuelQ9681UI,

Many thanks for your kind and helpful review and I was pleased to read how good a stay you had with us and really enjoyed the design and feel of the hotel as well as the breakfast. I am sorry you found other items a little more expensive than you were expecting, we do buy our wines carefully to get the best value we can, the large glass you had was a 250ml measure so it is priced proportionately to the bottle cost. Mini bar prices are always more than normal as we have to rely on the guests honesty for declaring they have used the items. The parking is a little more than the Town Car Park but the extra most people feel is worth the convenience, there is very little free on street parking in town. Just to clarify the £30 on arrival was purely an authorisation so we could give you credit during your stay, this would have been reversed once you had checked out.

Thank you again for your comments and we do look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2024

The hotel has a fantastic outlook and we were lucky enough to get a view over the river to Polruan and out to sea. Condition wise there is external maintenance works being done and hopefully this continues as the building looks tired externally. Luckily guests are looking out and within pleasant surroundings.

Worthy of note are the excellent staff; all were friendly, helpful, professional and rather than sit back and let the location do the talking, were engaged and made a good break into great break. Particular mention to the general manager,,Andrew and the new restaurant manager (sorry as did not catch his name).

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear Michael E,

Many thanks for your very kind review, I was really pleased to see you had such a good stay with us. The views are fabulous aren't they! The work you saw is phase one with more planned for later in the year as well as many other smaller projects to smarten up the outside as the weather permits. The balcony ironwork is looking amazing where we have had it stripped.

We do encourage the team to chat where they can and to do this naturally while still maintaining an appropriate level of professionalism, I was really pleased to see this show through across the team on your visit. I will pass on your thanks to James and his team.

Do please come and see us again when you have the opportunity.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2024

We recently stayed at the Fowey Harbour Hotel over the New Year Break. The service & room facilities were excellent. Expected to be charged for the dog and parking due to the location of Hotel in Fowey. Very surprised that discretionary charges we also applied as we had already generously tipped several members of the waiting team. Did not notice any mention of discretionary service charges in any of the correspondence whilst booking this break. Overall a pleasant stay but disappointed on departure due to the extra charges.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Len G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Jenkins, General Manager at Fowey Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dear leng273,

Many thanks for your kind review after your New Year break. While pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the festivities I am sorry the additional charges detracted from this. While these are not expressly mentioned in our e mails this is on all our menus, including the one we sent out beforehand for your pre-order. As always this is discretionary and my reception team are always happy to remove this on request at departure. Any time you are with us or any other Harbour Hotel please let us know that you prefer not to have the gratuity added.

Do please come and see us again when you are able.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews