We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at Lantic in Beautiful Fowey”
Lantic's New Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lantic's New Front
View from loft room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Lantic's New Front
View from loft room
Living Room
Front double bedroom
Loft room
Kitchen
Rear twin bedroom
Lantic bathroom
Front bay window
New Paving for 2011
Re-vamped courtyard
Barbeque Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JuliaW-B
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at Lantic in Beautiful Fowey”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week in this wonderfully furnished, tastefully decorated and generously equipment holiday cottage in Fowey. The location is perfect for quick and easy access to the very attractive town centre and harbour. All the bedrooms felt sumptuous and the views are just what you want from a cottage in little Cornish harbour town. The sun over the estuary in the morning from the top room will never disappoint. The private little garden is a gorgeous sun trap for morning coffee and papers with a comfortable bench and table and chairs, a perfect location to start the day. Alternatively, we enjoyed the sun coming round to the front, sitting outside and watching the people stroll by from the perfectly elevated position of the cottage, giving a wonderful sense of privacy while still feeling in the throng of the town. The cottage has a tasteful nautical theme throughout which naturally lends itself to the ambiance of Fowey itself. The cottage caters equally to families or couples, it seems cleverly equipped to ensure it's family friendly and welcoming yet still very grown up! Lots of restaurants to choose from in Fowey, interesting shops and a choice of beaches, one with delightful rock pools, explored extensively by the children. Easy access for sailing, sailing lessons or boat hire and lots of boat trips and activities in season within the town, including a museum and aquarium. It's easy to buy a swimming pass too at the Spa at Fowey Hall for when the weather is less favourable. We didn't use a car the whole week and we're never at a loss of things to do. Even the unfailing wifi in the cottage was a useful addition for us, keeping our small business on the go while away! There isn't anything not to like here which is why it's worth this mention! We have been here more than once now because it ticks all the boxes in any season!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday cottage in Fowey”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Overall lovely place. Nice wood floors, all the amenities, great hosts, really pleasant in general. A lovely home away from home. You'll need to drop your stuff and park your car up the hill but it's not a big deal. Also you'll need to bring your own towels but that's also fine. In general this place is a lovely 3 bedroom cottage with 1-1/2 baths, well appointed, just a generally nice place to hang out and enjoy your holiday. Hosts were great, really responsive, gave us tips on walks and restaurants etc. All good. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: generally pleasant interior, nice place to hang out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thanks Dave, we hope to see you and Alex again in the future. All the best, Leonie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of house
Liked least: Lack of parking, although really wasn't a problem for us as parking available very close by
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thanks Tim, great to hear you enjoyed another stay at Lantic and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FioLondon
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stayed in August 2013 and booked for 2014 on our return home!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in August 2014

That says it all really! Well placed between the centre of the village and the car park at the top of the hill, it is a 15 minute walk from the lovely Ready Money Beach. Ideal house for families with small children - although you would need to be careful with the stairs depending on the age of the children. Great open plan living/kitchen/dining area and lovely bedrooms upstairs. Well priced for the area and well furnished.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciara T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant, comfortable home with amazing views minutes from town”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a wonderful stay here with our young son in late June, early July. The house is beautifully decorated, immaculate and finished to a high standard. The main bathroom (there are two) is like one from a boutique hotel. The house has lots of details that together create a very relaxing environment (dimmer switches, comfortable beds, black out blinds, ipod dock, dvd player). It has gorgeous views of the harbour, sailboats along the estuary, the town's medieval church, cattle grazing on hills in the distance, etc. It really is breathtaking. It is particularly well set-up for young families as it has a nice travel cot, black out blinds, children's crockery, and a great selection of books and toys. The open concept living-dining area is great for families. Our 11 month old son slept well there and really enjoyed the house, the toys and the town.

The location is excellent as you're five minutes from the town centre and only a bit further to the beach. The bus stop (for buses to Par, St Austell, Heligan) is about two minutes away, in front of the Safe Harbour pub.

Fowey town is beautiful and well-placed for sight-seeing trips to the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, local beaches, Mevagissey, Polruan, etc. The town has an excellent range of food shops given its size. The brilliant butchers doubles as a foodie paradise with its range of local cheeses, produce, etc. There's also a bakery, a fish mongers and specialist wine shop and a very good minimarket.

Our local recommendations are: Old Quay House Hotel for a meal on the terrace (for the view alone), Sam's for great food and casual atmosphere, Sam's Lounge for a late night cocktail and good music, Lost Gardens of Heligan for the gardens but also the amazing cafe, the Fowey Hotel for a cream tea with a view, Lobbs Farm Shop at Heligan for the real farm shop experience.

In an effort to try to balance out this review, here are a few cons: there is a small, paved terrace but no outdoor green space (beloved of parents of toddlers!), no wood burner, and the top (attic) bedroom can be bright from the skylight. But really, a beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: noisy seagulls took some getting used to!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W
Essex
1 review
“A beautiful home from home - a perfect, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I took our 6 month old daughter on her first holiday and we decided on Fowey in Cornwall.
We found Lantic through a search engine and upon enquiring, I received helpful, polite and accurate communication from the owners - To be perfectly honest, they could not have been more helpful - After fully understand our needs with a young daughter in tow, Oliver and Leonie gave some superb recommendations for places to go, local beaches, restaurants, pubs etc and all of which were fantastic and added to the quality of the holiday. The directions accurate, the information on Fowey's limited carparking was particularly helpful, we literally had a step by step guide of where to drive/park/purchase a weekly parking ticket and where to unload the car.

Upon arriving at the property, the key collection was simple and we were not only impressed with the quality of the decor and fittings, but also the fact that there was a note and a bottle of wine waiting for us - much appreciated after a long drive down! We used the BBQ on our first night and found all of the equipment in the house to be of the highest quality and from market leading brands. The decor is tasteful and the quality of the beds/mattress and bedding was of such superior quality that it is the first occasion where we have actually been disappointed to return to our normal bed at home!! The location is perfect for visiting all local amenities (although beware that Fowey has lots of hills!) and armed with the owners' guidance, we found the best restaurants and beaches to enjoy! We instantly relaxed on this trip and cannot wait to go back - we have booked to stay at Lantic again next year and as an experienced traveller, I cannot give Lantic any higher praise. If you are a couple, family or a group of couples/friends, then this property will be everything you are looking for and more! Enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and Fowey itself
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc-Sask...
Schellinkhout, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely cosy home, great location in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spent a week at Lantic with my partner's parents and we had a great time. This was our third visit to Fowey and Lantic was the best house by far. We loved it! The owners are very nice and welcoming. The house is homely, cosy and very comfortable. The views upstairs are just great, but we also liked the view from the bay window in the living room a lot (coloured houses, narrow typical Cornish street and just a glimpse of the water). You are only a short walk from nice little shops, tearooms, pubs, restaurants, the beautiful estuary and coastal walks. Lantic offers anything you might need. The beds are very good and the bedding is beautiful too. The little wash room at the attic is very handy indeed. We would love to come back one day. Maybe at that time the woodburner Oliver and Leonie are planning for will be there! That would really be the icing on the cake on colder days (like we had).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt at home! Nice, cosy and complete.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing