We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Badgers Hollow

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge view sun terrace view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
lounge view
sun terrace view
bedroom wake up view
dining by candlelight
breakfast inside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ellen P
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Retreat”
Reviewed 19 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Such a perfect holiday destination. Amazing accommodation enjoying stunning views. Local highlights pointed out by Colin which was really useful. We enjoyed our stay so much we’ve already booked to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galey2006
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Idyllic location, with fantastic walks nearby. About 20 minute walk into Fowey. Colin the owner was there on hand if anything was needed but was also left alone to enjoy our holiday. Perfect place for relaxing. The kitchen was very well equipped and also had a stock of tea, coffee and spices. Milk, fresh fruit and scones with jam and clotted cream were waiting for us on our arrival.The Jacuzzi bath was very welcoming after long walks. Cant wait to return at Christmas! and a big thank you to Colin, our stay was most enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury hideaway in Fowey”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights and we were absolutely delighted with Badgers Hollow. The fittings are first class, the bed and lounge very comfortable, the spa bath luxurious and the underfloor heating makes the place feel warm and inviting. Best surprise - I travel a lot and this is the first place I've stayed at with a real espresso coffee maker.
The complimentary Cornish tea on arrival was most welcome and host Colin gave us some really useful info on walks and restaurants in the village and surrounds.
We used the cottage as a base for our exploring of Cornwall but we were also quite content to enjoy the view and quietness of the local scenery and village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very peaceful location, well presented with great views of the surrounding countryside.
The cottage is furnished to a high standard, you will not be disappointed.
Fowey is about a 30 minute walk away
We will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin T
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second visit to this peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Badger's Hollow and we weren't disappointed. The one thing that stood out this time was just how peaceful it was. Due to the beautiful weather, we were able to eat breakfast outside each morning, with the only sounds being the from birds and the horses in the field next door. The barn was just as comfortable as last year and the owner had fitted a new large screen digital TV fitted in the lounge,

Most days we spent some time in Fowey, even if it was just on route across the estuary on the ferry to Polruan or the ferry to Mevagissey. There was always something to see with such a busy river. There are plenty of walks along the nearby coastal paths and woodland walks. In our week we walked to Lantic Bay, Polkerris and Golant.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin T
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Fowey Retreat”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Badgers Hollow just outside Fowey for a week in May. We were met by Colin, the owner, who kindly explained all about this beautiful barn conversion, the many features of the extremely well appointed interior and the local area. To supplement this, Colin has also assembled a useful collection of maps and books about the local area.

The accommodation is of an extremely high standard as are the many fixtures and fittings. The kitchen has every appliance you could possibly need on a holiday, and some. The bathroom is very luxurious and the open plan living area has a very spacious feeling. If the weather had been unkind, we would have been very happy just chilling in the barn.

We certainly didn't see all of the local area, and found some things we would love to see again, so we have the perfect excuse to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon h
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 nights and it is amazing will be returning again . Beautiful place the views are amazing also the owner Colin meets you when you arrive and is lovely so helpful if you need to know anything he would love to help and he leave booklets to tell you where to go in fowey and all the best places to eat can't wait to come back .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing