We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable autumn break in super apartment”
Review of Carnethic House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carnethic House
Ranked #20 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2014

In October 2013, my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Carnethic House. True to its name, the Garden Apartment's lovely veranda overlooks the beautiful landscaped garden, at the end of which you can walk straight out onto the coastal path. The rooms are stylishly decorated, very comfortable, and are very inviting to come back to after a long walk or a day's exploring. There are lots of things to do in the area and, whatever the weather, a trip to the Eden project will always be inspiring. Even the journey was interesting as we decided to take our time and go across Dartmoor, with a few detours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyb775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Carnethic House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Four of us have just enjoyed a super week in the penthouse apartment at Carnethic House. Two large double rooms and a great open plan sitting/dining area. The kitchen was well equipped and had dishwasher and washer/dryer. Great views from all windows, especially of the beautifully maintained garden.

We also had the use of a super swimming pool in the grounds of house, plus sauna, and hot tub now it's been repaired. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time, but I imagine it could get very busy in high summer.

The house itself is on the outskirts of Fowey, but there is a super walk via Readymoney Cove into the town itself. It's also possible to get the Fowey Town bus to the quirky 'pretty bus stop' on the Polvillian Road which is only a few minutes away from the house.

The only thing to mention is that there are 3 flights of stairs to the penthouse, so you need to be fairly mobile to access it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auldreekie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The two bed apartment in Carnethic House is a wonderful, relaxing place for a long weekend or a longer holiday. It is warm, welcoming and perfectly equipped. Both bedrooms are beautifully clean and comfortable with en-suite facilities. The open-plan living area is spacious and has a terrace that overlooks the lovely gardens, indoor pool and sauna. The location was excellent for us as it gave easy access to some wonderful walks, both countryside and beaches. We will certainly go again and would definitely recommend it.

My last visit was a combination of work and pleasure so the fact that the apartment has wifi was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Glen465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Excellent place to stay in a very convenient location. In addition to a high standard of accommodation, which is very clean and comfortable, the additional facilities provided are very good, consisting of a swimming pool, hot tub and sauna, which needless to say were used on several occasions! Under floor heating in the bathrooms was also a nice touch.

The setting is very nice and a pleasant walk away from the centre of Fowey, which is easily accessible either on foot or by car. Having stayed here several times, I would highly recommend it - perfect for a quiet weekend away. A lovely place to stay at any time of year - in summer, it is perfect for enjoying the sun, and in winter, the sauna is excellent for warming up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebVass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This really is a luxury holiday flat. Clean and well equipped in an excellent location. The walks from here are first rate and Fowey is a brilliant place to spend a few days. The swimming pool and sauna are a real bonus. All in all first rate, my friends and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 223Corbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in the Garden Appartment. The house had a historic feel to it with its wide driveway, large porch and grand front door.
The appartment was bright and airy with its large windows letting the scenic views of the gardens. The high ceilings and open plan lounge added to the feeling of grandeur and history.
We found the bedrooms comfortable, clean and relaxing. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The kitchen area was a bit small but well equiped and we were not there for major self-catering so it suited us for breakfasts and evening tea.
The pool, hot tub and sauna were a pleasent addition and we made use of these facilities on a couple of occasions. They were well maintained though it remains to be seen how well these facilities continue to be looked after.
We found the appartment good for exploring the area such as the Fowey, the Cornish coast and the Eden Project.
Our stay in the area was made enjoyable by coming back to the pleasant appartment, with its real fire in the evening. We would certainly head back there again for future stays.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WatookaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Apartment 2 The Garden Carnethic House.

Prior to booking this in October 2011 phone calls and emails were exchanged. In phone call we were told it was Visit England 5 star and had a lovely pool. These two things were enough to make us book. The brochure does not state any star ratings at all just that it is a luxury apartment. Yes it is a beautiful house and the apartment and pool would be too if they were clean.

The pool has a thick layer of black grease and grime all the way around it, and could be scraped off, it was so thick.

In the apartment our arrival was welcomed with a vase of very dead flowers, and some soggy Cornish biscuits. No sign of the champagne as stated in the brochure. The Dust (body talc/ previous guest dead skin) was all over the bathroom, laundry baskets, shower room, bedroom floors, headboard, bed posts, glass topped furniture lamps and main light fitting, even on the tv and radio in the lounge area. Toothbrush containers etc so caked up with very old toothpaste etc. Sanitary bin containing previous guests sanitary waste. Fridge internal freezer door caked with dirt and grease. The sink had lovely black granite worktops complete with large loop of sealant totally black and mouldy, hanging down into the sink, heaven only knows what health hazards it contained. The oven was so dirty we could not use it.

Yes, we thought, it is a lovely apartment but needs a thorough deep clean and maybe a more careful eye kept on it by the owner.

The above comments were sent by email to the owner whilst we were still at the apartment, stating we were disappointed and it was not what we expected of a '5star' property.
All comments written as constructive feedback. We were hoping they would be accepted as such, but she has been unable to accept the comments as we stated,and is now trying the bullying tactics of referring us to her solicitor, in order to keep us quiet we suppose, stating she has taken objection to the printed logo which is on the bottom of all our emails, and has been for the past 10 plus years. Why did it not cause objection on previous mailings to her? No one has taken objection before.

On checking with English tourist board there appears to be some doubt as to whether or not it is an awarded star rated property, like the rest of the apartments in Carnethic House.

Yes I have plenty of photographs if you need to see them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Corra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist's House
Artist's House
#17 of 25 in Fowey
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 25 in Fowey
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#2 of 25 in Fowey
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnethic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnethic House

Address: Carnethick House Polvillion Road, Fowey PL23 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Carnethic House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing