We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Wonderful decor, quirky location, superb service. Small but perfectly formed. Heading back for a couple of nights late July

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    152
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
448
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This is a lovely little hotel, comfortable bedroom, great views. The food was excellent. The hotel manager Andrew Chapman was a star and did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyappledore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We visited in early June 2011 for three days.Once getting over the excitement of driving your car through the dinky streets of Fowey,you stop the car,unload and then park the car 800 yds down the road and walk back.The welcome was as expected,warm and cheerful.We were in Rm 10 which was pleasant without being huge but it did lack a comfortable chair and the rates you pay should really justify one.However a small point because dinner/breakfasts were excellent.Young professional staff,good timings between courses and the quality and presentation excellent.We did not feel the need to eat out anywhere else after the first night.My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the local countryside was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Book early and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandavidknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed on top floor in room 10 which was very well maintained and comfortable. Up 2 flights of stairs at the top of the hotel - had a great side view overlooking the estuary. Lovely big bath and shower - could have done with a shelf in bathroom. Bed quite good - maybe needs a slightly thicker mattress. No car parking at the hotel - so bags are dropped at the door and then car park about about 800m flat walk - no problem for us at all and car parking fee is paid by the hotel.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a lovely river view
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is only a review of the restaurant as we didn't stay there.

A lovely, stylish restaurant with glorious views over the Fowey River. Food was delicious and imaginative and staff were friendly but professional. We look forward to returning again when we next holiday in Fowey.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

A fantastic boutique hotel which lived up to expectations. Right in the middle of a quaint, busy fishing village of Fowey, the outside blends well with the other traditional brick buildings and cobbled streets, but inside it is very modern, clean and high standard. Our room (no. 11) was large with clean modern bathroom. Plenty of wardrobe space, huge comfortable bed and a little balcony with a wonderful view of the harbour with all the boats sailing past and the seagulls sitting on the adjacent roof. We stayed two nights and had breakfast both mornings which were very filling, a choice of cold, cereas etc or cooked breakfast menu with plenty to choose from. The staff are all very friendly, smiley and helpful. I definitely recommend it if you want to treat yourself to the best hotel in Fowey!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed at the Old Quay whilst visiting the Eden Project. Fowey looked really pretty and we found this hotel on the trip advisor website. It looked really good and we did expect a luxury boutique hotel in a great location on the main street. We also booked a table for the restaurant in the evening as it also received good reviews and when my fiance spoke to them it seemed a case of whatever you liked could be made!!

On arrival we were told to wait outside with the car where we could drop off our bags and get a parking permit for the car park up the hill. It is a little way away from the hotel but it wasnt a problem and you can understand with these small streets that parking could be restricted, the parking permit was free too. As has been previously mentioned the service is impeccable, we were checked in and shown to our room with efficiency and warmth. We asked for an ice bucket and it was brought up promptly. So the only downfall with this hotel is the room, we paid £170 for a superior room and it was not worth that amount. All the sea view rooms were taken, fair enough, so this was a partial side sea view room with a small corner balcony you could step out to, but our complaint isnt with the partial view, of which what we saw was very pretty, but the standard of the room. For £170 I would expect a luxurious room. It had a nice bed, two more shabby than chic wardrobes, with the smallest tv inside one of them, and no you dont come here to watch tv but decent size flat screen tvs are fairly cheap now! We expected a plush room but it wasnt and didnt look like any of the images of the superior rooms on their website. The bathroom was clean and modern but again nothing special and a light fitting fell off when I touched it!! To summarise the rooms are fine but they are not worth £170, and for that amount I would expect a higher standard. We could also hear practically everything the people in the next room were saying, do appreciate this is an old building but soundproofing wouldnt go amiss. On a romantic getaway weekend with my fiance don't want to hear people in rooms next door!

Where they improved on this higher standard was the service of the hotel manager and the restaurant staff who were very professional and good. The restaurant is a lovely room at the back of the hotel with views over the estuary, and the food was brillant, top marks to the chef. We also had breakfast in the morning which again was very good and excellent service.

In all the hotel wins on service, location and the excellent restaurant but I feel some of the rooms need to be a higher standard or more realistically priced

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelierFowey, Owner at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are sorry that some of the things at the hotel didn’t match your expectations.
We hope however that the following explanation may encourage you to return to stay with us on a future visit to Cornwall.
The first thing to mention is that the TV in your room was only put there as a temporary measure , the flat screen TV - which had been newly purchased along with 6 others in November - was faulty and we were in the process of replacing it . The person who took you to your room must have failed to mention the temporary TV, for this we apologise.
The second thing to note is that all of our rooms in the hotel are decorated differently and so you are quite right when you state that the room you were in is not like the one on the web site. However the accommodation page does describe the rooms as having “a vibrant range of styles”.
We do try and match individual requirements at the time of booking so had you mentioned to us your aversion to shabby chic then we would have tried to find something more appealing.
We can only apologise for noisy neighbours – the level at which people converse is something out of our control. What we can add though is that when the hotel was rebuilt 10 years ago we took great pains to ensure that good soundproofing was one of our top priorities.
With regard to your comments about realistic pricing, that always a tricky one......but all I can say is that the rates are set at a level that allows us to sit well alongside our competitors in Cornwall who operate hotels of a similar high standard.
If you do plan to come back to Fowey and The Old Quay House Hotel then please do take time to make us aware of your preferences and we will do our best to either match or better still exceed your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing