We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Quay House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fowey Hall(Fowey)
US$267
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Fowey Valley(Lostwithiel)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Inn(Lostwithiel)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
489
180
37
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
180
37
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousecar parkthe riversmall balconylovely boutiqueeggs benedictfresh milksuperior roomboutique hotelnarrow streetsyour luggagesmall hotelno liftestuary viewbeautiful hotellounge areasuperb location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 726 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Had a wonderful one night stay. Great welcome and everything you'd want in the room. Beds everso comfortable and everything immaculate. Stayed in Room 12 with its french doors overlooking river and sat there watching the comings and goings in the harbour.
Breakfast and service were top notch. A real treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie24524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed for two nights in Room 11 (Superior room with balcony and partial esturary view - the cream one with the big mirror on the website) which was delightful. Spotlessly clean, lovely bedlinen, toiletries and ambience. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff who, as previously reviewed, are exceptional. We dined in the restaurant on our first night and, had one of the most memorable meals both my husband and I had ever eaten. We are both discerning diners, travelled extensively and eaten in some of the best restaurants in the country and this meal was quite frankly, one of the top meals I have ever had. Do make a booking to dine there or you will be missing a treat. Slight downside was, as previous reviewers had commented on was the distance to the car park. When you get to Cornwall and especially in a small town like Fowey, you realise these places werent designed with cars in mind and it simply adds to the charm of the place. Its very easy to find and the hotel give you all the necessary permits etc., so really not a big issue. Just be prepared, pack light and enjoy the walk back to the hotel down the winding little streets.
All in all we had an amazing time at the Old Quay House (who have just won Cornish Hotel of the Year 2013) and shall most definitely return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an esturary view room - if a jobs worth doing .....!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucky2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a dinner B & B in september [see our restaurant report] . We wanted to try the accommodation after a good lunch in june. We opted for the penthouse and it was well worth it in our opinion. A suite with nice size ultra modern sitting room with big windows overlooking the estuary [the house binoculars a nice touch!]. Everything was so well appointed, everyone so friendly and the very short drive to free parking amazing & very easy. This adds up to high quality with a warm and cosy atmosphere. In good weather the terrace over the estuary unbeatable. The only niggle were church bells in the am [dont open rear windows in this room?- if you are a light sleeper].

Room Tip: estuary view well worth trying if affordable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I like many other reviewers think this is a wonderful place to stay, it may seem a little bit pricey, but worth every penny.
We stayed in room 5, which had a partial estuary view, not quite as expensive as rooms 6 & 12, but for a special treat maybe we would upgrade next time, though this does not mean that room 5 was in anyway substandard, and would willing stay again In fact we slept with the patio door open letting the cool breeze and sound of the water lull us to sleep, just so relaxing!
The welcome we received on arrival was warm and inviting, and everyone went to great lengths to ensure we had a great stay, Sam even ordered in Sea Bass especially for our evening meal, which was delicious.
Breakfast was yet another success, Eggs Benedict was the best I have ever tasted.
Overall this is a small but perfectly formed hotel, with a high stanadard of service etc, and I can't fault it!
So, many many thanks Anthony, Sam and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable, and fingers crossed, we will be back at the end of the year!
P.S. Ignore the other comments about the picture in the lounge, it is playful and cheeky, just like yourselves!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We booked a nice room onlooking the estuary and were really delighted to be offered an upgrade to the Penthouse suite when we arrived. Stunning room with glorious views. Fantastic service from the staff - nothing too much trouble. Will be coming back again. The walk to/from the car park is not for the faint hearted but there is no choice in Fowey as parking is so limited.

Room Tip: No harm asking for an upgrade out of season
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahoydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews