We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room 12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room 12”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Romantic is the best way to describe this waterfront hotel and the spacious Room 12 affords lovely views up and down the Fowey River, well worth the extra cost! Twinkling lights at night and bright sun (for our visit anyway) during the day, reflecting off the water. Suitably white painted, with lots of wicker work, the room was fab and superking bed as comfortable as it gets. Management gave us a warm and friendly welcome.

Breakfast was fine although a fresh fruit salad would have suited this writer, and his companion felt that her eggs benedict had an excess of lemon juice on the smoked salmon. After going out on the first night to the excellent bistro next door, we dined in the hotel on the second night which was good but not memorable.

For walkers, I recommend, on a glorious day, the coastal path to Polkerris, lunch at Sam's on the Beach, returning by the "Saints' Way" to Fowey. Perfect!

Room Tip: See above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    152
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
448
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for a few nights and really enjoyed our stay despite the weather. The hotel is right in the middle of Fowey looking out onto the river. The rooms are smallish, which is what we expected, but they are stylishly decorated. The room comes with two sets of wet weather gear and we needed them! Our only moan about the room was that the TV is very small, too small really. Although it has to fit inside a cabinet it could actually be quite a bit bigger. Also,the DVD play wasn't working, although this got fixed after 24 hours. Given the awfulness of the weather we needed to use these. The breakfast was excellent.

There isn't much in the way of public rooms. The bar area is tiny and would be overcrowded if more then 3 couples arrived at the same time. They mixed good cocktails though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear TravelNuBristol,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us.

I would just like to say you are correct in that we do hat we do have limited public space in the hotel, especially during the winter time when access to our Riverside terrace is not available, However, since your stay we have added a second lounge area down by the terrace windows, The Sea Lounge, where guests can enjoy the beautiful views from a comfy sofa at any time during the day or enjoy drinks from the bar before or after dinner.

We do hope you will visit again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Alison Zutshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent a night at The Old Quay Hotel as a Valentine's getaway and we weren't disappointed. We parked in the nearby private car park whilst we unloaded our bags and from the moment we stepped into the Hotel we were given detailed instructions (and a parking permit) to find the hotel's allocated car park. They took our bag to our room whilst we walked the 5 minutes back to the hotel. We were given a thorough guided tour of the hotel and its amenities before being shown our room. The little touches, such as DVDs to borrow, or fresh milk in the mini fridge in the corridor for those who aren't keen on UHT milk, were really thoughtful.

We were in Room 5, which had a partial view of the estuary and a little terrace (not that it was the weather for sitting out during our stay!) The whole hotel, including our room was immaculate, the paintwork looked fresh and the décor was divine, the website's pictures are true to form. The hotel go to the trouble of providing details of the last time the mattress was professionally cleaned (gold star in my book) the bed was huge and the goose down duvet provided a luxurious night's sleep.

We went out for dinner in Fowey but the restaurant's menu looked very tempting and when we visit again (WE WILL!) we agreed we'll dine in-house. We did have breakfast in the hotel and this was perfect. Buffet style cereals/fruits/yogurts and a great selection of hot cooked breakfasts, all served in the comfortable bar/restaurant with great views of the river. It opens onto a terrace, which must be fabulous in the summer months.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay at The Old Quay Hotel, the owner and staff are the most genuine, helpful people you could wish for. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiR38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent two night at this beautiful, small boutique hotel in Fowey. The location in the very heart of the town is great. We enjoyed sitting on the terasse directly on the waterfront, having coffee or sipping a glass of wine. Cuisine is excellent, staff and owner(?) very friendly and helpful. The Old Quay Hotel already is worth to come back to Fowey.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthewayunterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Arrived after a very wet drive to a lovely welcome - really helpful staff helped with bags, hung up our stuff - couldn't do enough to help. Dinner excellent, staff just so helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast - perfect - again nothing too much trouble. Room was great, nice view - housekeeping staff so efficient we went to breakfast and the room had been tidied by the time we were back. The Quay House is just a lovely place to stay in the centre of Fowey - which is also a lovely little town. The staff here really showed an interest in what you were doing if they could help, gave directions etc. I would definitely stay here again. 10/10.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed at The Old Quay House three times now, and we love it every time. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff are so friendly and helpful without being imposing, the location is just ideal, especially if you like watching the world go by on the river, and we always leave wanting to go straight back again as soon as we can. Our most recent visit was for a two night mini-moon when we treated ourselves to a stay in the Penthouse. It was like home from home, and the complimentary bottle of prosecco was a very welcome and thoughtful gift. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you want a river view, go for rooms 6 or 12 or the Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Arrived on a wet cold dreary Friday afternoon to a wonderful friendly welcome. A lovely comfortable room with a river view. Spotlessly clean throughout. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The waiting staff, Michal and Jana were absolutely wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything was done with a smile. To be honest I cant fault any of the staff they were all friendly and attentive. The evening meals were fabulous. The only tiniest of niggles is that the chairs in the dining room were some sort of wicker and we did think that a cushion would have been a good idea. Other than that faultless. Fowey (pronounced Foy to the unknowing) is a quaint narrow street-ed Cornish coastal village. Full of the friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. And if you fancy cake and tea try the Dwelling House, brilliant place, vibrant and full of laughter, and the cakes are damned nice aswell

Room Tip: We were in room 10, which had a small balcony and a river view. But 11 and in particular 12 would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandymoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing