We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A special hotel in an excellent location in Fowey very attractive decor kept spotlessly clean. The staff are all extremely helpful and the food was superb. The outside seating area overlooking the river is a lovely place to unwind with a book and a drink. Lots of nice touches, such as brollies and rain jackets to borrow , make it that little bit extra special. Only the noisy seagulls prevents a top mark for sleep quality - something you have to accept when staying by the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We saved up to stay at this wonderfully positioned hotel on the Fowey Estuary for a special occasion. Unfortunately, we were one of only two rooms in the hotel and neither the restaurant, bar nor terrace were open on a Sunday evening in March. Such a disappointment as this severely effected the atmosphere, which was more like a guest house than a buzzing hotel. Putting that aside, our room (6) was overlooking the estuary - we paid extra for this and it did not disappoint. The furnishings, comfort and lay-out of the room were lovely, top class. The restaurant opened on the second night of our stay and we had a very pleasant meal. Alison was the on-duty manager and she was very caring and helpful. The restaurant manager was also a good laugh and full of stories! I have to say though, that it agree with another reviewer that the prices here are out of kilter with the experience, which was good but not exceptional - perhaps if that waterside terrace had been open it might have made the difference!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location, wonderful food, excellent service ..... and very comfortable room. What else could you want. A surprise treat from my lovely lady ... And what a lovely treat. Fowey has always been a special place for us ...... And this Hotel will hopefully feature as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wintersunlover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A lovely holiday retreat by the banks of the river fowye estuary. really friendly service and helpful staff. the restaurant serves excellent food and wines. the sitting area by the river is divine. we stayed in the penthouse with lovely views of the river and the boats coming and going. go for the hall walk starting in polruoy and ending in boddinick. all in al, fowye is a beautiful town with lots of great little restaurants. thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: go for the penthouse if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely friendly hotel on the river. Very smiley reception staff always giving a warm welcome every time we entered the building.

Comfortable room, more luxurious bathroom.

Very nice dinner, good breakfast.

All in all no complaints and would definitely visit again if in the area.

Really the only 'boutique' hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Room 10 - nice enough, with side view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a fabulous boutique hotel. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. All staff were really friendly, but not intrusive. We enjoyed a lovely meal on the Sunday evening and glorious breakfast the following morning. We usually retreat to Bath or St Ives, but will differently return to the Old Quay House for a little retreat. We only 45mins down the road, but love to enjoy the lovely hotels we have in Cornwall. Perfect birthday treat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a lovely little hotel, albeit pricey, but we booked it through a Travelzoo dinner bed and breakfast deal. We stayed in Room 2 which was quite small but perfectly adequate. The room was furnished with lovely little touches such as raincoats in the wardrobe should you need them and an umbrella. There was a fridge in the hall with fresh milk in if you didn't wish to have UHT milk in your coffee or tea. Bathrobes were provided as well as White Company products. All very nice and the food wasn't bad either.

However, (and this is why I have marked the hotel as only average) sleep was unfortunately difficult due to the fact the room was directly above the hotel entrance. We were woken at 2 (after a late night anyway) by 2 guys talking and laughing right outside and then from 0630 a truck started to unload or load up just up the road and went on for ages. Then there seemed to be frequent movements on the street outside. Owners why on earth haven't you installed secondary double glazing. We have returned home today absolutely shattered after what should have been a restful romantic break.

Tips for the owners:- Lower your prices. Fowey was very busy with tourists but I believe only 3 rooms out of 20 were occupied at the hotel, and install secondary double glazing.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not at the front of the hotel unless you do not wish to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tillyfloss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldquayhouse, General Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Tillyfloss_9,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review referring to your recent "Travelzoo" stay at our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed the overall experience, if not the night's sleep.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size of room 2 - it is actually the largest of our classic rooms and at approximately 20 foot square with a 6 ft bed is probably larger than many people’s bedrooms at home.

I do understand that the Classic rooms are street facing and can be a little noisy. But we are clear in our description on both our web site and in our promotional literature that we are located in the centre of a busy town with very narrow streets, consequently care and vans have to stop wherever they can.

Sadly we can’t be in control of noise from neighbours, delivery vehicles or seagulls. In fact as its seagull season we are just in the process of providing ear plugs for guests who are particularly sensitive to their noise. Thanks for your suggestion about double glazing but as it is a listed building the council won’t let us install secondary double glazing. Perhaps you should have accepted our offer to upgrade to a sea view room for only £20 pp more per night.

I should also add that we are actually only an 11 bedroom hotel, not 20 as per your review.

The Travelzoo deal enabled you to have a one night stay for £159 including dinner. Normally this would have cost you £255, which is still less than some of our competitors in Cornwall. So we think your offer was exceptional value for money and we limited it to just three rooms per night. This deal has been very popular and irrespective of price, most Cornish hotels are not fully occupied in April apart from Easter.

We do hope we can welcome you again sometime in the future.

Best regards
Alison Zutshi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
703 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
902 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
18.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: £137 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing