We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Nights visit on our way to Sidmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I arrived at the hotel at about lunch time on Thursday 22 May, the reception was small with one person sitting behind a desk, I was so surprised at the speed of which the receptionist handled our registration, the receptionist immediately offered to collect our cases from a car park just around the corner of which we had paid a minimal amount to park whitest finding the hotel. When back In the reception we was offered a free parking ticket of there own preferred car park which was about 5 mins walk up hill which you would expect in Fowey. We parked our car and walked back to the hotel to find that our cases had been put into our rooms of which the receptionist gave us a full comprehensive summery on the rooms facilities. We had a small bite from the menu after which we book for our evening meal. I cannot fault the facilities, the food, friendliness of all the staff and how clean the hotel was. Our panoramic room was one to revisit again Room No 6.

Room Tip: Try room 6 well worth it
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for The Old Quay House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

May 2014. We did push the 'boat' out and stayed for 6 nights after a wedding weekend in Westwood Ho! Friends told us about this tiny but beautiful town called 'Fowey' and we were not disappointed. The Old Quay Hotel location was perfect in the centre of town with a terrace jutting out into the estuary. Our deluxe double room 11 albeit a side balcony was superb and the facilities, décor and even the 'White Room' toiletries gave us the perfect sanctuary after a long day. Television could be a little larger though - when it was on!
I thought I would have a problem as my car was parked 'free' some 800 yards (10 mins.) walk away but surprisingly it did not bother me at all. The restaurants in Fowey provided good quality food - not cheap. The hotel staff were superb, Roy and Martin could not have been more helpful and guided us to some hidden & fabulous places to visit, providing maps and routes making our break even better. After the days out it was nice to sit on the terrace with a Peroni and watch the activity in the estuary even with jumpers on.
If you want to feel special, be pampered, relax, enjoy the food, this is the place, nothing is too much trouble. Thank you Fowey and The Old Quay House, a gem!, without doubt, we shall return. (probably not at the height of season)

Room Tip: My wife and I were in room 11 and enjoyed the experience looking out on the estuary even though we h...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank specialtimes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We popped into The Old Quay House Hotel for coffee with our two spaniels a couple of days ago.
We sat on the beautiful terrace looking out over the water - service was excellent - Monty and Barney were made to feel welcome and were offered a bowl of water.
Beautiful coffee and perfect service - will definately be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyNickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our room, No 12, is a deluxe double with a river view. We only stayed the one night as a special treat for my wife, The only problem could have been the weather but we were extremely fortunate with full sun in the evening and the next morning. We were able to take full advantage of the river view by opening the doors to the Juliet balcony. The room has a comfortable 6ft bed and contains almost everything you need including something we have never seen in a bedroom before, 2 rain coats for your personal use. Almost all the furniture in the Hotel, and in the bedroom is a kind of rattan basketware. This, however, restricts the size of the TV as shown in the photographs. There is a docking station for an iPod or equivalent. Superb en-suite with a roll bath and separate enclosed shower. We both would have loved to use the bath but at our ages, 80 and 77, we could have got in but we would have been unable to get out. The shower was easy to use - just turn the top tap slightly anti-clockwise. Was it worth the extra over the classic room, certainly, in fact worth every penny. A little disappointed with the meal in that I had asked for the sirloin to be cooked medium to well done, but it was still rare in the middle, and I think I should have been offered a steak knife. Just a very small hiccup in an otherwise delightful stay.

Room Tip: Room 12 has the view of the river
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights over Easter in a superior double and must say we were quite disappointed with the room. It was very small and no cupboard, just a decorative rail with hangers for hanging clothes and one of the drawers in the bureau didn't open. There was an almost one inch gap under the bedroom door so not only did it let light in, the noise from early risers carried even more - had to resort to laying our coats down to block out the light on the second night. Not what you would expect from a hotel and over £200 a night however there was a nice side view out to the estuary.
Various cooked options for breakfast and the breakfast cupboard for cereal, very lovely serving staff.
A pleasant stay overall but a few things that could be improved.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lisamarietay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a fantastic time, room was spacious with all the usual amenities including rain macs and brolly as the weather in Fowey can be a bit iffy. Restaurants exceeded expectations, food fresh and tasy and well presented with the waiting staff attentive and courteous but not hovering around. Location on the estuary in beautifull with some lovely sunsets to be seen. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone . Contrary to the comment before about room 2 we found it to be a large spacious room with a super king sized bed and although it faces the street Fowey is rather quiet after hours and doesn't come to life until 8a.m. The guest I undersatnd had the option of an upgrade to the estuary view rooms. Well done Old Quay House we shall be seeing you again.

Room Tip: If you prefer the views go for the estuary view rooms although the street facing rooms are just as c...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekjill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A special hotel in an excellent location in Fowey very attractive decor kept spotlessly clean. The staff are all extremely helpful and the food was superb. The outside seating area overlooking the river is a lovely place to unwind with a book and a drink. Lots of nice touches, such as brollies and rain jackets to borrow , make it that little bit extra special. Only the noisy seagulls prevents a top mark for sleep quality - something you have to accept when staying by the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
682 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
873 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: £136 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing