We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable view to last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We looked for a convenient place so that we could visit the Eden Project for one of their 'music sessions' and so booked a 2 night stay in the Penthouse room in The Old Quay House. Having been to Fowey for our very first holiday together 30 years previous, Mrs M. and I knew what a quant place this little fishing village is.

On finding the hotel the arrival can be a bit hectic; having to pull up in the road outside to drop your bags off. This is a one way street (good job too because there's no way two cars going in opposite directions would pass on the narrow roads within the centre of Fowey), but fear not you are on Cornwall time and so things run a little slower and no one minds a short wait!

That said the receptionist was super efficient (and her first day - so well done) at organising the parking permit that comes with a stay in the hotel and after giving directions I was off with the car whilst Mrs M formally checked in and was shown to the room.

It is a little walk to the car park though fairly level and no hardship (make sure you go in the right car park as there are two close together and you don't want to get a ticket for being in the wrong one!). The stroll back along Fore Street is pleasant enough and offers a chance to check out the range of shops along the way, plus gawp at some of the lovely views and cottages.

On arrival back at the hotel I was then given a short guided tour of where things were and taken up the stairs to the Penthouse (bear in mind there are quite a few flights of stairs to navigate) where I met Mrs M who was thrilled to be in such a lovely place (brownie points to me for booking it :) ).

The room is absolutely wonderful topped only by the view afforded directly over and across the roof to the harbour and the village of Polruan beyond. This is quite a large room with separate shower room, toilet, sitting room and bedroom, which also is home to a nice slipper bath. Being at the top of hotel the ceiling is a bit low particularly in the bedroom and no doubt someone of 6' tall or above will at least once bang their head but believe me when I say it's worth it.

The shower room has twin basin and a choice of rainfall or riser hose shower heads, both with ample water pressure. The sitting room has a nice L-shaped sofa and large flat screen tv, though why on earth you'd be watching it when the view outside is quite simply beautiful. Off of the sitting room was a door leading out onto a small balcony, which was nice to draw breath on the sea air.

Not long after arriving we decided to go downstairs to the bar for a drink and make use of the outside seating right on the waters edge - a place where time just simply slips by as you watch the comings and goings of the harbour (plus keeping a watchful eye on some of the rather cunning seagulls who one would think will be more than happy to drop in and take anything resembling food from you given half a chance!).

We had booked a dinner reservation for 8pm and had a pre-meal drink in the sitting area just near to the restaurant / entrance hall and made our menu choices whilst waiting. The meal and service was spendid, plus the wine choice was good, if not extensive and priced for all to find something to enjoy.

Breakfast was a nice selection from the buffet which included cereals, pastries etc, plus the cooked option was varied enough for all tastes. Presentation and food quality was, as with dinner, very good.

Rather than drive to the Eden Project we decided to catch a taxi which the hotel kindly reserved and given that it was a busy day for cabs had to make several calls as some were unable to offer a return journey for us, nonetheless the firm used (Star Cars) was reliable and not too expensive (£13 for those who were wondering).

Our second night was as restful as the previous, even though the seagulls had other ideas in the early hours (do remember this is a fishing village and seagulls have no watches, so as soon as the sun rises (and sometimes beforehand) they like to go about their noisy business!).

We had a wonderful time in The Old Quay House, reminiscing and re-treading old footsteps, helped along by the beauty of Cornwall and its hospitality. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Couldn't fault the excellent location, staff and food.
Attention to detail was exceptional, waterproof jackets & wet weather gear available, even blankets for the cold evening on the quayside.
Martin and his staff should be commended for providing the right ambience for their guests to enjoy a little bit of luxury!

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and get a room with a view of the river estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vienna1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As part of our honeymoon we stayed for 3 nights at the Old Quay.

We had a great time the hotel was fantastic with a brilliant location overlooking the estuary. Staff were friendly and service was excellent. Good food and a very comfortable room.

We loved it and will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank briggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I popped by here to have an afternoon tea many many years ago, so it seemed like something to do again now I was back in Fowey. It does not realy advertise its afternoon teas, or was not doing so when I went on a Tuesday afternoon, but it is well worth going along for. The terrace has to be one of the best places in Fowey to enjoy a cuppa, if not the Southwest. The cream tea itself was great, the scones being the best I have had for quite a while. The staff were friendly, and the pries were very reasonable. I will certainly be going back again next time I am in Fowey.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Travelling_Fox_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at The Old Quay House numerous times in the last 7 years, we originally went back because we loved the room, the service, the professional touches and the helpful friendly attitude of the staff and during the past years this has continued and we have never been disappointed. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and Martin (hotel manager) Ben (hotel chef) and Gabriel (restaurant manager) really make our stay problem free. All the small extras add up to a stress free break in beautiful Fowey. The additions to our room to cover every eventuality continue to increase and now include ear plugs in case the seagulls are exceptionally noisy, as well as the rain jackets and umbrella. The room is always very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
As a previous review says we do wonder if other guests were in the same hotel! The two meals we had were delicious, sea bass, steak, to die for desserts and attentive service. The terrace off the restaurant is a perfect place for lunch, dinner or a quiet peaceful drink, to soak up the views and watch the beautiful busy river.
Stay here and see for yourself!!

Room Tip: Room 12 is great, double aspect views and Juliet balcony, sit by the open doors and soak in the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KACH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Recently stayed at The Old Quay House for 4 nights. A beautiful hotel in the centre of town with fantastic views over the estuary. Room was excellent and very clean and spacious and beautifully decorated as was the whole hotel. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Lovely breakfast's and had dinner in the Q restaurant twice which was fantastic on both occasions. The hotels terrace faces the river and is great for an afternoon drink or a spot of lunch. Because of its central location there is no on site parking but the hotel provides parking at a local car park a short walk away.

Highly recommend The Old Quay House.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned home following a stay at The Old Quay House. We received a fantastic welcome when we arrived and our stay got even better. I am quite fussy regarding hotel rooms, but we could not fault our room which is cleaned to the highest standard and had everything we needed, even down to shower proof jackets. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the food was first class and cooked perfectly to the highest standard. The breakfast was also wonderful with a great selection of pastries, cereals and yoghurt together with a selection of omelettes, eggs benedict and cooked breakfast etc all cooked to order. We regularly sat on the terrace and shared a bottle of wine just watching the world go by. Thank you to all the staff at The Old Quay House for making our stay truly wonderful. Big thanks to the chef and waiting staff you work so hard to deliver a first class service and you succeed in every way. We can't wait to go back so until we meet again, continue what you are doing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
707 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
6.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: £139 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing