We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views and relaxed surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Quay House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning views and relaxed surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Really comfortable well apportioned rooms. Dinning room extends on to the river, although a bit chilly at the time I visited (late May) it's great for pre-dinner drinks or lunch. Food is very acceptable using mostly local sourced ingredients, I even tried Cornish Gouda and Pastis (not pasties)....only down side is as usual in small village in Cornwall, parking is a walk away but free if you are staying at the hotel. Well worth a visit, staff are charming and helpful

Room Tip: Preferable room over looking the river and not looking at the dead seagull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    142
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
420
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

On a short tour around Cornwall using boutique hotels we had high hopes of this hotel. We only had 1 night and so booked a standard double room, but this was so tiny it was a struggle to get round the bed. The room was so hot that neither of us could sleep. The heat seemed to be coming through the floor. They did have a ceiling fan but it didn't reduce the heat.They provide ear plugs in the bedside drawer to cope with the noisy seagulls (or was it for the building work going on next door?)

On the plus points the decor was okay and the room was clean. The restaurant food was good but overpriced. The breakfast was overlooked. The terrace has lovely views over the river.

We don't mind paying for good quality accommodation, but despite the nice decoration, this failed miserably on the basic point of providing a comfortable nights sleep

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 950Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just back from a relaxing weekend break at The Old Quay House to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in room 10 a superior side estuary room.The room and bathroom had everything we needed and the excellent linen and bathrobes deserve a mention, but the best detail was being able to lie in bed and enjoy the view.We ate at the hotel on two evenings and enjoyed the food, my only niggle would be that the menu was small which was fine but was the same the following evening. More choice would have been appreciated but having said that we still enjoyed our meals.Our waitress a lovely Australian girl was great,nothing being too much trouble.On our second evening we were able to sit on the lovely terrace watching the sun go down and ordered a couple of glasses of champagne to celebrate.We were taken aback but delighted when the restaurant manager said they were on the house for our anniversary.Thank you,what a lovely gesture.The next morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast on the sunny terrace (you must try the natural yogurt) and even the seagulls were on their best behaviour.We enjoyed the narrow streets of Fowey especially as we left the car in the car park for our entire stay and used ferries instead.
Excellent service, good food, wonderful views and comfort abounds at The Old Quay House.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Old Quay House. The staff, breakfast and room were lovely.The hotel is right in the heart of Fowey and the terrace over looking the river is stunning-sit there for hours and watch the day go by! Cars are parked a ten minute walk away. We had one of the cheapest (but at £180 a night still quite a lot!) rooms at the front of the hotel, room no.2. The hotel supplied much needed ear plugs- supposedly for the early morning seagull chorus but actually they were needed more for the late night noise of nearby restaurants and all day noise of people on the street below. It was very noisy and there being no air conditioning and very hot, the windows had to be open.
I would go again but would save up to get a room away from the front-unless the hotel puts much needed air conditioning in.

Room Tip: If you can afford it-I couldn't , go for a room over looking the river. Room 1 and 2 very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

On a short tour of Cornwall I stayed in a variety of boutique hotels. The Old Quay House was the most expensive but the least satisfying. I expected the room to be small but did not expect it to overwhelmed by an incongruous wicker bed head. The room had not been checked and I had to move furniture to connect the TV etc. Dinner was disappointing, by way of example the veloute was a rather heavy oily carrot soup. Breakfast was fine. The saving grace is that the hotel has a river facing terrace which is just an amazing place to sit and watch life go by on the river.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishmanonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

From initial arrival to drinks on the terrace, superb cuisine and then waking up to that stunning estuary view, I will never grow tired of The Old Quay House. Martin and his team make everyone feel like a VIP and at a very reasonable cost too. Well done and see you in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an estuary view if you can but even the rooms without a view are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EtonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Glorious setting overlooking the river. We chose mussels for lunch. Not a generous portion. Not enough bread. Gritty and some with beard still on very disappointed.
Coffee came with hot milk instead of cold requested. Hot water came in cracked jug with milk scum around the inside. This visit was not up to the usual standard.
One other thing I hate is the automatic addition of service to the bill. Pay your staff a healthy wage and leave it to me to decide on the tip please.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodders007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
6.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing