We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£137
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£157
Fully refundable before Sun, 25 Feb
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£157
Fully refundable before Sun, 25 Feb
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
914
341
79
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
914
341
79
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park the river lovely boutique deluxe room boutique hotel small hotel narrow streets ten minute walk no lift your luggage eggs benedict beautiful hotel estuary view little touches beautiful fowey dinner menu dining room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023

My husband arranged for us to stay at this hotel for a special birthday.
He could not have chosen a better location or hotel. Being out of season helped - as it was so peaceful & quiet in the town.
The staff were excellent and the views from our bedroom and the patio overlooking the estuary were very relaxing and calming.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alamAldershotHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Bonds, Other at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi alamAldershotHants,

We are all so glad that we The Old Quay House could make your birthday extra special.

We hope to welcome you again the future.

Kind Regards

Emily Bonds
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2023

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. The ambience was very classy, the staff excellent. Food was superb and we had a de lux room which was fantastic. We have never stayed in such a lovely place oh and I forgot the view which was special.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Bonds, Other at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi alana770,

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind Regards

Emily Bonds
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

A very well pointed hotel in the middle of the quaint town of Fowey. We arrived and stopped outside the Hotel (which you are able to do to unload) we was greeted by a lovely receptionist, and dropped our bags to enable us to go and park our car. The hotel had already sent us a pre-arrival email, which has loads of useful information which allowed us to feel relaxed knowing we knew exactly what to do when we arrived.

We were checked into our room after a short walk back from the car park (which was all on the flat, which was a surprise to us, as Cornwall is renown for hills) it was beautiful and everything we needed.

That night we went down to their restaurant and was met by a member of staff, who was super efficient and friendly. The meals we were served were absolutely delicious, well presented and full of flavour. One of the best meals we have had the chance to enjoy in a very long time.

After a 2 night stay, we were saddened to have to leave. However, we know where to return, as the whole experience made us feel so relaxed and recharged, ready to go back to our normal busy lives.

We wish to thank everyone at The Old Quay House Hotel, it was great!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Bonds, Other at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi M7205FTjamesw,

We are so glad to read your wonderful review on The Old Quay House.

I have passed the comments onto the team who I'm sure will be very happy to hear about!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Emily Bonds
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

I’ve been to a lot of Hotel throughout my life, but I have never been to one as amazing as The old quay house. Every aspect of our stay was truly an amazing experience. I will be recommending this place to all our friends and family. The service was brilliant, the staff were attentive but not invasive. I cannot fault the food, they have amazing chefs who produce the most beautiful decadent dishes. The room was spotless and the small touches were appreciated. We cannot fault the hotel in any way. We will be back very soon I hope!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Numeric123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Bonds, Other at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi Numeric123,

I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We really do pride ourselves on the food and staff that we have in the hotel so thank you for seeing this too.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Emily Bonds
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023

We did not stay but went for Sunday lunch. On arrival we used the toilets only to find there was nothing to dry our hands on. The waitress said they were waiting for a delivery of paper and towels. No temporary measure, like a box of tissues or hand towel, was provided. We dried hands by waving them around.
The waitress’s attitude was arrogant and condescending throughout our time there. At the end of each of the two courses, we were asked “Are you done?” Not the terminology one would expect from an establishment that calls itself a ‘Boutique Hotel and Restaurant’.
There were no condiments on the table and none were provided when the meal was served. We had to ask for salt and pepper for example.
The table of four next to us had roast beef. Again nothing was provided for them in the way of condiments. They asked for horse radish sauce to go with their beef and were told by the waitress that the hotel had none.
We too had the roast beef and I have to say that other than the beef the rest of the meal was ordinary and the dessert, sticky toffee pudding, was dry with little toffee sauce.
Altogether, a disappointing meal and experience for £100 plus. I have had better meals for half the price.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Bonds, Other at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi 752glynp,

I'm terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your Sunday Lunch with us.

Our reviews on our food are normally very good so this is a shock to read and will pass the comments onto our kitchen team.

The waitress that served you was moving out of county the next day so may have been a little stressed (although this is no excuses and we apologise if found her behaviour to be arrogant and condescending).

We hope you give us another try in the future.

Kind Regards
Emily Bonds
operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews