We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”
Review of The Old Ferry Inn

The Old Ferry Inn
Ranked #26 of 41 Restaurants in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, French, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

fantastic location fantastic food lovely room & views nothing to dislike loved ever minute staff helpful host great

:)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeehns58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    12
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Strictly speaking this inn is at Bodinnick which is across the river by ferry from Fowey. We left the car in Caffa Mill car park and went across as foot passengers on the car ferry. This is because it stops running at dusk but you can come back by a small passenger ferry. This is how we did it as the alternative long road trip alternative via Lostwithiel is nowhere as near as interesting as the boat trip.
The restaurant gave us a window table overlooking the mouth of the River Fowey, looking at Fowey, Polruan and a mass of small boats moored in the river. The view is spectacular, even when the sun goes down and the lights come on. I met a visitor there who stays at the Inn every year without fail, he said they never get bored with the view.
Oh yes, and the food is excellent and the service top class. This place has everything going for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perren4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Menu”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Freshly cooked food from a good menu at a reasonable price in a dining room overlooking the estuary.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lignumbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely character pub, friendly with good choice of beer”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We only stopped at the Old Ferry Inn briefly for a beer, whilst out walking. We were impressed, this is a pub with a real old time character feel, and the landlord was very friendly. There was a good selection of Sharps Brewery draft beers on tap,

Whilst not tried, the lunch/dinner menu was extensive, and I have little doubt that the quality and value would be excellent.

We actually used the pub as a refreshment stop on the well known Hall Walk from Polruan, and returned on foot to Polruan; though this time over the hill, rather than on the footpath alongside Pont Pill. If you did not fancy walking back you can of course return via the ferries.

Next time we visit Polruan we shall endeavour to have a proper lunch or dinner at the Old Ferry In.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub B&B”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Old Ferry Inn is an historic pub with a fabulous team led by Pascal. It is definitely worth crossing the river from Fowey to visit it. The rooms are very pleasant if you need somewhere to stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BryherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Ferry Inn also viewed

Fowey, Cornwall
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Ferry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing