We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Fowey This Way !”
Review of Fowey Town Tours

Fowey Town Tours
Ranked #3 of 9 Tours in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“See Fowey This Way !”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We saw the Fowey Town Tours vehicle one day as we walked to the Quay. It said it went at '3 ish' so we climbed aboard. We not only had an excellent and revealing tour of Fowey but we also had an interesting chat to the driver who, we discovered, originally came from Preston - a town in our part of the world. As someone else has said the tour is a thoroughly friendly and laid back way to see parts of the town you would miss otherwise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestburyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An easy way to explore the town!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We found this trip very useful and informative. we were given a running commentary throughout the half an hour ride regarding the history of the town and places of interest.
At £3.50 per person it was worth it. We explored different parts of the town without the strain of having to walk up and down the steep streets!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyndysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If unfamiliar, the first thing you should do”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Having, personally never visited Fowey, we found the bus tour ready to depart at "11:55 ish" (according to the sign...which immediately set the tone for a friendly, laid back experience). The tour is a sort of "towed train" and travels through the narrow streets of Fowey and ascends the steep inclines around it. In thirty minutes we learned about the background and history of the town, saw some beautiful views across the harbour and were treated to the friendly commentry narrating our journey. It was only £3.50 for each adult and thoroughly worthh doing. I recommend doing this as the first thing to do in Fowey....excellent stuff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value and interesting”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely way to travel round the tight roads of Fowey town on this jeep and trailer tour. Very interesting and was shown places you probably wouldn't of seen if you just walked into the town. Great value for money

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LisasRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Let the train take the strain”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Fowey is full of hills and it is a quirky way to spend 30 minutes running up and down them on a train carriage pulled by a Land Rover. A largely helpful running commentary is provided throughout and some of the history of the town is explained.

Worth doing , and not to be confused with the Town Bus, which ferries folk to and from the top of the town, with intermediate stops to take on people, unlike the Town Train.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fowey Town Tours also viewed

 

Been to Fowey Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing