We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to choose from”
Review of Safe Harbour Hotel

Safe Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Twin bar hotel/public house nestled off the main tourist drag.public and lounge bars, lounge bar doubling as restaurant.wide range of locally sourced seafood dishes always available, weather permitting.3 local real ales. Quiz night every Tuesday, live music on Saturdays.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely pub in Fowey and out of the main thoroughfare of the town so you do have to seek it out at the top of Browns Hill. There is always a very warn welcome from Graham and Carol, and the team at the Safe (Susie, Vicky). There are the usual things you would expect on a pub menu, but there are also plenty of daily specials, expecially some great fish choices, which are always worth a try. Cooked to a high standard, piping hot, you will not walk away hungry! Take time to while away an hour or two over a great pint, lovely meal and some banter with the locals as well as anyone holidaying in the area. We used to live in Fowey and this was our venue of choice, we still drop back in as often as we can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found the Safe Harbour while on holiday in Fowey and initially attended an excellent quiz night, then returned for dinner a couple of nights later.
The staff are excellent, warm and charming, and made us and our dogs feel very welcome indeed. Good ales and restaurant dishes executed with great care and skill make this a highly recommended place for all Fowey visitors to come.

Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trextasy, Owner at Safe Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the safe harbour.
Apologies for the lateness in the response, i think I just overlooked this one.
Glad you enjoyed the quiz, at the moment we are averaging about 24 teams a week a hard slog but very rewarding as most of them are fundraisers at the mo.
Thank you also for the very kind words on the food I prepare and serve its nice to know its appreciated.
Hope you may find us again one day.
Kind regards
Graham and Carol (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in September 2 years ago and had a very warm welcome. Not been able to book in since because it is so popular! Been back for food and drinks since and always warm and friendly. Great with dogs too :)

1  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trextasy, Owner at Safe Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

many thanx for your lovely review of the safe harbour.
we are taking bookings now for next year!!
may be advisable to book for the festival week early
regards
Carol and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Both my husband and I have been visiting Fowey for the past 4 years and always use this pub as our local. This little gem could be easily overlooked as it is up the hill from the main village. The landlord Graham and his lady Carol provide a very welcoming and warm atmosphere. It is a great place for a good pint and a chance to meet and chat with local people. The pub has a lovely restaurant with exceptional bar staff, Suzie, Vicky and Kinika. Miss it at your peril. Thank you all for your hospitality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geminirose09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trextasy, Owner at Safe Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Carol and Graham (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

walk up lostwithiel street and you'll see it. cosy lounge bar and small restaurant. public bar with pool table, friendly welcome and dogs allowed.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank 0bsidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trextasy, Owner at Safe Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our premises
Kind regards
Carol and Graham (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safe Harbour Hotel also viewed

 
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Safe Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing