We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, perfect location!”
Review of Foye Old Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foye Old Exchange
Ranked #3 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, perfect location!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'd thoroughly recommend this place for location (in the heart of town) and the lovely friendly hosts. Huge hearty breakfast was most welcome and set us up for the rest of the day. Only 3 rooms but didn't feel claustrophobic, just homely. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Old Exchange and wanted to say a big thank you to Michael and Celia, your B&B is a delight!

I went with friends who occupied the remaining two rooms and we all came away saying that this would be our first choice for our next visit to Fowey.

It is very clean, centrally located and well appointed. I had the best of the three rooms; the four poster, which was worth the additional cost.

The breakfast was possibly a little too generous - but I ate most of it!

Best regards, Mark & Jacky

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A one off experience not be missed!

Very very friendly hosts - Both Michael and Celia were most welcoming - Michael is a one man Town-tour guide, and will furnish you with huge anounts of information about Fowey and its history - all very fascinating..... If you want to know anything about Fowey or the area, then just ask...!

We stayed in the Green room, which was more than adequate and had everything that we needed!

...and then there was breakfast....its a big breakfast.....if you are a light eater, then be prepared...and if you are a vegetarian, make sure you let Michael know beforehand

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a lovely trip to Fowey and stayed at the Old Exchange with Michael and Celia. Their hospitality was fabulous and Michael cooks an amazing Cornish breakfast. It is described as large and he isn't kidding...it kept us going all day. He is an amazing character with plenty of local information and stories to tell... as he is the Fowey town crier.
We stayed in the Blue room which is a lovely room and which has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is however very close to the church and the bells do ring every 15 minutes day and night, so this room is not for light sleepers.... However if you can sleep through the church bells you would be hard pressed to find nicer people, nicer accommodation and a bigger welcome... or breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night in July. Everything was brilliant - I don't really have anything more to add than those comments in the past reveiews:

Four poster room - lovely and large
Michael & Mrs - Characterful, helpful, cheery, loud (Michael), good story teller and cooks a mean breakfast (I at it all...kind of)
Location - brilliant

Just a great plave to stay in a beautiful town.

Room Tip: Four poster is HUGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the beautiful 4-poster room for a couple of nights in August. The room is very spacious with a large bed and comfortable sitting area (sofa, chairs, etc) and an en suite dressing/bathroom - all very tasteful and comfortable. It's brilliantly located near all the little shops and restaurants of Fowey which is a charming village. The owners gave us a very warm welcome, showed us their fantastic collection of vintage phones, and provided a delicious breakfast - lots of wonderful fresh fruit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at Foye Old exchange for 3 nights and what a lovely welcome we had. We stayed in the large four poster bedroom what a grat place to stay. The breakfast is excellent and I dare anyone to finish it. Micheal even gave us a quiz on local history after breakfast and this makes a nice change. I would not hesitate to stay in this b & b and the location is fab smack in the middle of town and free parking at the top of town. Looking forwad to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#2 of 25 in Fowey
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foye Old Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foye Old Exchange

Property: Foye Old Exchange
Address: 12 Lostwithiel Street, Fowey PL23 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B in the centre of picturesque Fowey. Our house is over 400 years old and was the telephone exchange for 40 years.Hence the numerous telephone memorabilia.All rooms en-suite; largest has four-poster bed. Famous for our breakfast, minutes from harbour river trips, beaches, castle. Nearby Eden Project, Lost Gardens Heligan, Charlestown, Lanhydrock only twenty minutes away, delightful walks or we are also on the Saints Way & South West Coast path. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Foye Old Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foye Old Exchange Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing